Post Reply

[Q] KH3 Modem On Custom OS Galaxy S2

OP abhijitcools2

20th June 2014, 03:36 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
I was using the S2 with Jelly Bean. I found the phone to heat up very quickly around the camera lens and top of the phone rather than when running on Ginger Bread. I then installed the Resurrection Remix Custom ROM v5.1.3 with KitKat 4.4.2.

But the heating problem is still there. Checking online I found out that the modem was the problem.I found the KH3 modem was the best for the Galaxy S2. I was wondering if installing the KH3 modem was appropriate on Custom ROM or can modems be installed only on Custom ROM???
If it can be installed can anyone guide me how ... BTW I am using the phone in India ...


Please reply the overheating problem is driving me nuts.

Attatched is a screenshot showing my phone information.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-19-22-05-24.jpeg
Views:	30
Size:	129.0 KB
ID:	2808432  
Last edited by abhijitcools2; 20th June 2014 at 03:52 PM.
20th June 2014, 04:33 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,206
 
7,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
You question is a bit confused (because you haven't taken the time to learn 'the basics' like 95% of people who come here), but the answer is yes. Modems are interchangeable between Android versions on the S2 & not dependent on same; I.E you can flash a modem that was bundled with stock rom that was a different Android version to the one you're currently running (whether stock or custom, makes no difference).

As to how to flash a modem....C'mon....

This is absolute basics, you should know this stuff back to front inside out if you're flashing custom roms.

In other words, search.
20th June 2014, 06:14 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by MistahBungle

You question is a bit confused (because you haven't taken the time to learn 'the basics' like 95% of people who come here), but the answer is yes. Modems are interchangeable between Android versions on the S2 & not dependent on same; I.E you can flash a modem that was bundled with stock rom that was a different Android version to the one you're currently running (whether stock or custom, makes no difference).

As to how to flash a modem....C'mon....

This is absolute basics, you should know this stuff back to front inside out if you're flashing custom roms.

In other words, search.

I know how to flash the modem using Odin ... I was just wondering if I can flash it on any Android version or any Custom or Stock ROM... and just to be sure the modem zipped file is about 4.5mb right?? Coz I found a KH3 modem file on one blog which was about 200MB in size ...
20th June 2014, 06:41 PM   |  #4  
banjara's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 113
 
412 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhijitcools2

I know how to flash the modem using Odin ... I was just wondering if I can flash it on any Android version or any Custom or Stock ROM... and just to be sure the modem zipped file is about 4.5mb right?? Coz I found a KH3 modem file on one blog which was about 200MB in size ...

Usually a modem file size should not exceed 10 MB. You can even flash the modem via cwm. On xda you can find links for such files.
20th June 2014, 06:51 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by banjara

Usually a modem file size should not exceed 10 MB. You can even flash the modem via cwm. On xda you can find links for such files.

Should I do a NANDroid Backup before flashing the modem ??
21st June 2014, 04:40 AM   |  #6  
banjara's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 113
 
412 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhijitcools2

Should I do a NANDroid Backup before flashing the modem ??

That's not required. Just keep a flashable file of your current modem, just in case you want to revert. I mean, download it and keep it on your phone.
For India, ddls9 also works quite well. I have seen good results on xxls8 too.
21st June 2014, 06:12 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by banjara

That's not required. Just keep a flashable file of your current modem, just in case you want to revert. I mean, download it and keep it on your phone.
For India, ddls9 also works quite well. I have seen good results on xxls8 too.

If something happens and I restore the phone from a backup of the phone , will the firmware baseband be restored or thats something else??
Firmwares are included in the backup or not??
Last edited by abhijitcools2; 21st June 2014 at 06:24 AM.
21st June 2014, 06:58 AM   |  #8  
banjara's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 113
 
412 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhijitcools2

If something happens and I restore the phone from a backup of the phone , will the firmware baseband be restored or thats something else??
Firmwares are included in the backup or not??

I am not very sure about that. My guess is that it doesn't backup your modem with the rom backup.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes