Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,395 Members 48,351 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] KH3 Modem On Custom OS Galaxy S2

Tip us?
 
abhijitcools2
Old
(Last edited by abhijitcools2; 20th June 2014 at 03:52 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default [Q] KH3 Modem On Custom OS Galaxy S2

I was using the S2 with Jelly Bean. I found the phone to heat up very quickly around the camera lens and top of the phone rather than when running on Ginger Bread. I then installed the Resurrection Remix Custom ROM v5.1.3 with KitKat 4.4.2.

But the heating problem is still there. Checking online I found out that the modem was the problem.I found the KH3 modem was the best for the Galaxy S2. I was wondering if installing the KH3 modem was appropriate on Custom ROM or can modems be installed only on Custom ROM???
If it can be installed can anyone guide me how ... BTW I am using the phone in India ...


Please reply the overheating problem is driving me nuts.

Attatched is a screenshot showing my phone information.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-19-22-05-24.jpeg
Views:	27
Size:	129.0 KB
ID:	2808432  
 
MistahBungle
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3205
Posts: 7,088
Join Date: Nov 2011
You question is a bit confused (because you haven't taken the time to learn 'the basics' like 95% of people who come here), but the answer is yes. Modems are interchangeable between Android versions on the S2 & not dependent on same; I.E you can flash a modem that was bundled with stock rom that was a different Android version to the one you're currently running (whether stock or custom, makes no difference).

As to how to flash a modem....C'mon....

This is absolute basics, you should know this stuff back to front inside out if you're flashing custom roms.

In other words, search.
If it's important enough to cause you grief if it's lost, back it up. No excuses
Trolling for thanks is lame
Does Samsung's auto-brightness implementation crap drive you to self-harm ? A solution !
Failure to search is the leading cause of male impotence on XDA
If you don't know how to recover if things go wrong, what are you doing flashing custom roms ?
 
abhijitcools2
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by MistahBungle View Post
You question is a bit confused (because you haven't taken the time to learn 'the basics' like 95% of people who come here), but the answer is yes. Modems are interchangeable between Android versions on the S2 & not dependent on same; I.E you can flash a modem that was bundled with stock rom that was a different Android version to the one you're currently running (whether stock or custom, makes no difference).

As to how to flash a modem....C'mon....

This is absolute basics, you should know this stuff back to front inside out if you're flashing custom roms.

In other words, search.
I know how to flash the modem using Odin ... I was just wondering if I can flash it on any Android version or any Custom or Stock ROM... and just to be sure the modem zipped file is about 4.5mb right?? Coz I found a KH3 modem file on one blog which was about 200MB in size ...
 
banjara
Old
#4  
banjara's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 380
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhijitcools2 View Post
I know how to flash the modem using Odin ... I was just wondering if I can flash it on any Android version or any Custom or Stock ROM... and just to be sure the modem zipped file is about 4.5mb right?? Coz I found a KH3 modem file on one blog which was about 200MB in size ...
Usually a modem file size should not exceed 10 MB. You can even flash the modem via cwm. On xda you can find links for such files.
Galaxy S2
ROM: SlimSaber 4.3.1
 
abhijitcools2
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by banjara View Post
Usually a modem file size should not exceed 10 MB. You can even flash the modem via cwm. On xda you can find links for such files.
Should I do a NANDroid Backup before flashing the modem ??
 
banjara
Old
#6  
banjara's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 380
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhijitcools2 View Post
Should I do a NANDroid Backup before flashing the modem ??
That's not required. Just keep a flashable file of your current modem, just in case you want to revert. I mean, download it and keep it on your phone.
For India, ddls9 also works quite well. I have seen good results on xxls8 too.
Galaxy S2
ROM: SlimSaber 4.3.1
 
abhijitcools2
Old
(Last edited by abhijitcools2; 21st June 2014 at 06:24 AM.)
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by banjara View Post
That's not required. Just keep a flashable file of your current modem, just in case you want to revert. I mean, download it and keep it on your phone.
For India, ddls9 also works quite well. I have seen good results on xxls8 too.
If something happens and I restore the phone from a backup of the phone , will the firmware baseband be restored or thats something else??
Firmwares are included in the backup or not??
 
banjara
Old
#8  
banjara's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 380
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhijitcools2 View Post
If something happens and I restore the phone from a backup of the phone , will the firmware baseband be restored or thats something else??
Firmwares are included in the backup or not??
I am not very sure about that. My guess is that it doesn't backup your modem with the rom backup.
Galaxy S2
ROM: SlimSaber 4.3.1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes