FORUMS

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] APN Backup/Restore on ICS

5th January 2012, 03:47 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Why does every new android release have to take away freedom and feel less and less 'open'?

In any case, I just flashed the experimental CM9 and I was greeted with an inability to restore my APNs from my usual app (APN Backup & Restore from Ritesh Sahu) because apps are no longer allowed to modify APN files on 4.0.

I would like to know what the simplest way to backup and restore my APNs is in this situation. Is there some simple way to create a flashable ZIP or something similar to restore them with?
 
 
5th January 2012, 05:05 AM |#2  
digi_fort's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 219
 
Donate to Me
More
I usually don't backup and restore my APNs just hit reset to default and they are restored ....... i believe you've tried that if not give it a shot
5th January 2012, 05:55 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Yeah I've tried that, I need to backup and restore because I'm on a relatively small Canadian carrier (sasktel).

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA App
5th January 2012, 05:57 AM |#4  
AaronDC19's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Trenton, ON
Thanks Meter: 7
 
Donate to Me
More
If you have a Nandroid backup you could restore that, then write down your APN and save it some where.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to AaronDC19 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th January 2012, 06:05 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,218
 
More
Exactly Aaron. Why people don't write these things down before they go messing around with things is beyond me


Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronDC19

If you have a Nandroid backup you could restore that, then write down your APN and save it some where.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium

5th January 2012, 06:55 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Well I have only one APN in the settings and I did copy it, works fine and gets data. But when I back up using that app it says it backs up 2000 something APNs and my carrier on my phone actually shows up upon restore, unlike now when it's just 6 digits.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA App
3rd February 2012, 11:09 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
I would also like to restore my APN's instead of always typing them in when changing Roms.
How can I create a script, overwrite a sys-file or elselike to prevent me from reytyping apn's, when they aren't implemtented in let's say a custom rom ?
11th February 2012, 02:32 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 23
 
Donate to Me
More
me too any ideas please
11th February 2012, 02:38 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,476
 
More
Correct CSC for your network is all that should be required .

Copy and paste to new custom roms .

jje
11th February 2012, 02:42 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 23
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJEgan

Correct CSC for your network is all that should be required .

Copy and paste to new custom roms .

jje


How? I am already using the ROM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes