Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,137 Members 49,476 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] APN Backup/Restore on ICS

Tip us?
 
Slayer__4
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default [Q] APN Backup/Restore on ICS

Why does every new android release have to take away freedom and feel less and less 'open'?

In any case, I just flashed the experimental CM9 and I was greeted with an inability to restore my APNs from my usual app (APN Backup & Restore from Ritesh Sahu) because apps are no longer allowed to modify APN files on 4.0.

I would like to know what the simplest way to backup and restore my APNs is in this situation. Is there some simple way to create a flashable ZIP or something similar to restore them with?
 
digi_fort
Old
#2  
digi_fort's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 219
Posts: 503
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Delhi

 
DONATE TO ME
I usually don't backup and restore my APNs just hit reset to default and they are restored ....... i believe you've tried that if not give it a shot
 
Slayer__4
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2011
Yeah I've tried that, I need to backup and restore because I'm on a relatively small Canadian carrier (sasktel).

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA App
 
AaronDC19
Old
#4  
AaronDC19's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 133
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Trenton, ON

 
DONATE TO ME
If you have a Nandroid backup you could restore that, then write down your APN and save it some where.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
Devices:
HTC Touch Stock Broke
HTC Hero Rooted Gave Away
HTC Desire Z Rooted S-Off Sold
Samsung Galaxy Nexus Rooted Sold
LG Nexus 4 Rooted
Asus Nexus 7 Rooted
The Following User Says Thank You to AaronDC19 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
MistahBungle
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3,206
Posts: 7,088
Join Date: Nov 2011
Exactly Aaron. Why people don't write these things down before they go messing around with things is beyond me


Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronDC19 View Post
If you have a Nandroid backup you could restore that, then write down your APN and save it some where.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
If it's important enough to cause you grief if it's lost, back it up. No excuses
Trolling for thanks is lame
Does Samsung's auto-brightness implementation crap drive you to self-harm ? A solution !
Failure to search is the leading cause of male impotence on XDA
If you don't know how to recover if things go wrong, what are you doing flashing custom roms ?
 
Slayer__4
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2011
Well I have only one APN in the settings and I did copy it, works fine and gets data. But when I back up using that app it says it backs up 2000 something APNs and my carrier on my phone actually shows up upon restore, unlike now when it's just 6 digits.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA App
 
wolvereene
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2010
I would also like to restore my APN's instead of always typing them in when changing Roms.
How can I create a script, overwrite a sys-file or elselike to prevent me from reytyping apn's, when they aren't implemtented in let's say a custom rom ?
 
zmalach
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 213
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
me too any ideas please
 
JJEgan
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4,420
Posts: 23,043
Join Date: Oct 2010
Correct CSC for your network is all that should be required .

Copy and paste to new custom roms .

jje
 
zmalach
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 213
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manchester

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJEgan View Post
Correct CSC for your network is all that should be required .

Copy and paste to new custom roms .

jje

How? I am already using the ROM

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes