FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more

Cyngn Explained: Who’s Cyanogen, What’s Cyanogen OS?

While Cyanogen, Inc has been the source of many headlines lately, there … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Australian AU Galaxy S II (help/rooting/updates,etc)

11th May 2012, 04:01 AM |#2641  
alc027's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerardiebla

Hi Everyone,

Last week I tried to root my Galaxy SII and I stuffed it up a little. Currently I'm running Cyanogen 9 ICS with a CF-Root kernel. It works except that I have no data connectivity or support for the built in SD card. From what I can gather this is a problem with the kernel that I used. In light of this I want to flash back to the stock kernel that came with my phone, but I don't know what it is or how to find out.

So anyway I'm way out of my depth here and would appreciate a little help. Thanks in advanced!

This is the information I have on my "about phone" page:

Model number: GT-I9100
Android Version: 4.0.4
Baseband version: I9100XXLPQ
Kernel Version: 3.0.28-CM-g41e6bf7 codeworkx@cyanogenmod #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Apr 20 18:33:23 CEST 2012
CPU: ARMv7 Processor rev 1 (v7I)
Memory: 829MB
CyanogenMod version: 9-20120420-CODEWORKX-galaxys2
Build Date: Fri Apr 20 18:20:53 CEST 2012
Build number: IMM76D

It's possible that the data issue is a problem with your baseband (I had signal loss with LPQ on the same I9100T device you have) and the no SD card issue is an idiosyncrasy of CM9 nighties from late April (it had to do with a switch in mountpoint labels). Try basebands DVLP3, DULP4 and XXLPS (are the three I've found work best for our phone). And also get a newer CM9 nightly if you're still set on trying it.
 
 
11th May 2012, 05:04 AM |#2642  
aceofclubs's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 211
 
More
For cm9 try siyah kernel to get you going again.

You can always extract the zimage from the downloaded cm9 version you would have and flash with mobile Odin or Odin.

----------------------
GTI9100 HydrogenICS
11th May 2012, 07:11 AM |#2643  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
More
I just got a text from Telstra advising that there is an upgrade available via KIES - as I don't use that crud, and seeing as I haven't seen it mentioned yet - I wait with baited breathe to see what they've come up with Build/Modem-wise!
11th May 2012, 07:41 AM |#2644  
Senior Member
Flag Tweed Heads
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
so using the Vodafone DUKJ1 modem with the latest light'ning 2.9 release would be fine ?
Anyone using that setup ?
11th May 2012, 07:45 AM |#2645  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,216
 
More
Not using Light'ning, but KJ1 has been the best modem for many (most ?) people using Voda AU on both Gingerbread & ICS. So yeah, you should find it works well with Light'ning.

Quote:
Originally Posted by graham_h

so using the Vodafone DUKJ1 modem with the latest light'ning 2.9 release would be fine ?
Anyone using that setup ?

11th May 2012, 09:36 PM |#2646  
Junior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by graham_h

so using the Vodafone DUKJ1 modem with the latest light'ning 2.9 release would be fine ?
Anyone using that setup ?

Iam on liteni'n 2.7 and today will be flashing 2.9 with latest syiah so I can tell U than... :)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA
12th May 2012, 07:20 AM |#2647  
hrtrulz's Avatar
Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Where can get the vodafone DUKJ1 modem. Is flashable via cwm ?

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2
12th May 2012, 07:42 AM |#2648  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,216
 
More
Here. Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrtrulz

Where can get the vodafone DUKJ1 modem. Is flashable via cwm ?

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2

Last edited by MistahBungle; 17th November 2012 at 09:49 AM.
12th May 2012, 08:45 AM |#2649  
hrtrulz's Avatar
Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MistahBungle

Here. Yes.

Thanks before I flash has any one had a problem running this modem with HyDrOG3N-ICS or any other AOPK or ASOP ROM?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
12th May 2012, 08:55 AM |#2650  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,216
 
More
No. Been running it with CM9 for ~2 mths.

Edit to add - I've also tested all the "LP" modems & KJ1 craps on them all with call quality/connectivity/data speeds. The only two LP modems which came close to KJ1 (and I tested all of them somewhat thoroughly; across different locations/different times of day with calls, SMS/MMS and data) were LP6 & the LP4 modem Voda included in their recent ICS stock update. If you find KJ1 isn't great for you, the standard thing applies so far as modems go I.E flash as many as you need to until you find one that works well for you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrtrulz

Thanks before I flash has any one had a problem running this modem with HyDrOG3N-ICS or any other AOPK or ASOP ROM?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Last edited by MistahBungle; 12th May 2012 at 09:11 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes