Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Australian AU Galaxy S II (help/rooting/updates,etc)

OP roosta

11th May 2012, 04:23 AM   |  #2641  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,210
 
7,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Get the PC version of Checkfus (search on here/Google). Use it to download the latest stock firmware for your phone model/country/carrier (Vodafone). Flash the firmware package you download following the instructions here.

This will put you back on a clean install of stock & you then have another go at custom kernels/roms from there.

You can probably muck around with other methods, but given you say you're 'out of your depth', going back to square one (stock) & proceeding from there would be easiest/least time consuming for you.

Actually, scrub what I said about CM9. Well, kinda. You're using an old build of CM9. Before you do the stock thing as above, download the latest CM9 nightly & flash that in CWM. See if that resolves things before you go back to stock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerardiebla

Hi Everyone,

Last week I tried to root my Galaxy SII and I stuffed it up a little. Currently I'm running Cyanogen 9 ICS with a CF-Root kernel. It works except that I have no data connectivity or support for the built in SD card. From what I can gather this is a problem with the kernel that I used. In light of this I want to flash back to the stock kernel that came with my phone, but I don't know what it is or how to find out.

So anyway I'm way out of my depth here and would appreciate a little help. Thanks in advanced!

This is the information I have on my "about phone" page:

Model number: GT-I9100
Android Version: 4.0.4
Baseband version: I9100XXLPQ
Kernel Version: 3.0.28-CM-g41e6bf7 codeworkx@cyanogenmod #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Apr 20 18:33:23 CEST 2012
CPU: ARMv7 Processor rev 1 (v7I)
Memory: 829MB
CyanogenMod version: 9-20120420-CODEWORKX-galaxys2
Build Date: Fri Apr 20 18:20:53 CEST 2012
Build number: IMM76D

Last edited by MistahBungle; 11th May 2012 at 04:27 AM.
11th May 2012, 05:01 AM   |  #2642  
alc027's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerardiebla

Hi Everyone,

Last week I tried to root my Galaxy SII and I stuffed it up a little. Currently I'm running Cyanogen 9 ICS with a CF-Root kernel. It works except that I have no data connectivity or support for the built in SD card. From what I can gather this is a problem with the kernel that I used. In light of this I want to flash back to the stock kernel that came with my phone, but I don't know what it is or how to find out.

So anyway I'm way out of my depth here and would appreciate a little help. Thanks in advanced!

This is the information I have on my "about phone" page:

Model number: GT-I9100
Android Version: 4.0.4
Baseband version: I9100XXLPQ
Kernel Version: 3.0.28-CM-g41e6bf7 codeworkx@cyanogenmod #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Apr 20 18:33:23 CEST 2012
CPU: ARMv7 Processor rev 1 (v7I)
Memory: 829MB
CyanogenMod version: 9-20120420-CODEWORKX-galaxys2
Build Date: Fri Apr 20 18:20:53 CEST 2012
Build number: IMM76D

It's possible that the data issue is a problem with your baseband (I had signal loss with LPQ on the same I9100T device you have) and the no SD card issue is an idiosyncrasy of CM9 nighties from late April (it had to do with a switch in mountpoint labels). Try basebands DVLP3, DULP4 and XXLPS (are the three I've found work best for our phone). And also get a newer CM9 nightly if you're still set on trying it.
11th May 2012, 06:04 AM   |  #2643  
aceofclubs's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 211
 
930 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
For cm9 try siyah kernel to get you going again.

You can always extract the zimage from the downloaded cm9 version you would have and flash with mobile Odin or Odin.

----------------------
GTI9100 HydrogenICS
11th May 2012, 08:11 AM   |  #2644  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 104
 
600 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
I just got a text from Telstra advising that there is an upgrade available via KIES - as I don't use that crud, and seeing as I haven't seen it mentioned yet - I wait with baited breathe to see what they've come up with Build/Modem-wise!
11th May 2012, 08:41 AM   |  #2645  
Senior Member
Flag Tweed Heads
Thanks Meter: 2
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
so using the Vodafone DUKJ1 modem with the latest light'ning 2.9 release would be fine ?
Anyone using that setup ?
11th May 2012, 08:45 AM   |  #2646  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,210
 
7,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Not using Light'ning, but KJ1 has been the best modem for many (most ?) people using Voda AU on both Gingerbread & ICS. So yeah, you should find it works well with Light'ning.

Quote:
Originally Posted by graham_h

so using the Vodafone DUKJ1 modem with the latest light'ning 2.9 release would be fine ?
Anyone using that setup ?

11th May 2012, 10:36 PM   |  #2647  
Junior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by graham_h

so using the Vodafone DUKJ1 modem with the latest light'ning 2.9 release would be fine ?
Anyone using that setup ?

Iam on liteni'n 2.7 and today will be flashing 2.9 with latest syiah so I can tell U than... :)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA
12th May 2012, 08:20 AM   |  #2648  
hrtrulz's Avatar
Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 3
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Where can get the vodafone DUKJ1 modem. Is flashable via cwm ?

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2
12th May 2012, 08:42 AM   |  #2649  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,210
 
7,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Here. Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrtrulz

Where can get the vodafone DUKJ1 modem. Is flashable via cwm ?

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2

Last edited by MistahBungle; 17th November 2012 at 10:49 AM.
12th May 2012, 09:45 AM   |  #2650  
hrtrulz's Avatar
Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 3
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MistahBungle

Here. Yes.

Thanks before I flash has any one had a problem running this modem with HyDrOG3N-ICS or any other AOPK or ASOP ROM?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes