5,600,292 Members 36,299 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Australian AU Galaxy S II (help/rooting/updates,etc)

Tip us?
 
simonaijiamin
Old
#2641  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jun 2011
Since i upgraded to ICS, the connection problems are gone, not sure if it is the Vodafone network is getting better or the ICS fixes the issues.
 
MistahBungle
Old
(Last edited by MistahBungle; 11th May 2012 at 03:27 AM.)
#2642  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3031
Posts: 6,712
Join Date: Nov 2011
Get the PC version of Checkfus (search on here/Google). Use it to download the latest stock firmware for your phone model/country/carrier (Vodafone). Flash the firmware package you download following the instructions here.

This will put you back on a clean install of stock & you then have another go at custom kernels/roms from there.

You can probably muck around with other methods, but given you say you're 'out of your depth', going back to square one (stock) & proceeding from there would be easiest/least time consuming for you.

Actually, scrub what I said about CM9. Well, kinda. You're using an old build of CM9. Before you do the stock thing as above, download the latest CM9 nightly & flash that in CWM. See if that resolves things before you go back to stock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerardiebla View Post
Hi Everyone,

Last week I tried to root my Galaxy SII and I stuffed it up a little. Currently I'm running Cyanogen 9 ICS with a CF-Root kernel. It works except that I have no data connectivity or support for the built in SD card. From what I can gather this is a problem with the kernel that I used. In light of this I want to flash back to the stock kernel that came with my phone, but I don't know what it is or how to find out.

So anyway I'm way out of my depth here and would appreciate a little help. Thanks in advanced!

This is the information I have on my "about phone" page:

Model number: GT-I9100
Android Version: 4.0.4
Baseband version: I9100XXLPQ
Kernel Version: 3.0.28-CM-g41e6bf7 codeworkx@cyanogenmod #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Apr 20 18:33:23 CEST 2012
CPU: ARMv7 Processor rev 1 (v7I)
Memory: 829MB
CyanogenMod version: 9-20120420-CODEWORKX-galaxys2
Build Date: Fri Apr 20 18:20:53 CEST 2012
Build number: IMM76D
 
alc027
Old
#2643  
alc027's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 216
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerardiebla View Post
Hi Everyone,

Last week I tried to root my Galaxy SII and I stuffed it up a little. Currently I'm running Cyanogen 9 ICS with a CF-Root kernel. It works except that I have no data connectivity or support for the built in SD card. From what I can gather this is a problem with the kernel that I used. In light of this I want to flash back to the stock kernel that came with my phone, but I don't know what it is or how to find out.

So anyway I'm way out of my depth here and would appreciate a little help. Thanks in advanced!

This is the information I have on my "about phone" page:

Model number: GT-I9100
Android Version: 4.0.4
Baseband version: I9100XXLPQ
Kernel Version: 3.0.28-CM-g41e6bf7 codeworkx@cyanogenmod #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Apr 20 18:33:23 CEST 2012
CPU: ARMv7 Processor rev 1 (v7I)
Memory: 829MB
CyanogenMod version: 9-20120420-CODEWORKX-galaxys2
Build Date: Fri Apr 20 18:20:53 CEST 2012
Build number: IMM76D
It's possible that the data issue is a problem with your baseband (I had signal loss with LPQ on the same I9100T device you have) and the no SD card issue is an idiosyncrasy of CM9 nighties from late April (it had to do with a switch in mountpoint labels). Try basebands DVLP3, DULP4 and XXLPS (are the three I've found work best for our phone). And also get a newer CM9 nightly if you're still set on trying it.
 
aceofclubs
Old
#2644  
aceofclubs's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 210
Posts: 936
Join Date: Oct 2011
For cm9 try siyah kernel to get you going again.

You can always extract the zimage from the downloaded cm9 version you would have and flash with mobile Odin or Odin.

----------------------
GTI9100 HydrogenICS
 
elite_gamer04
Old
#2645  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 591
Join Date: Oct 2006
I just got a text from Telstra advising that there is an upgrade available via KIES - as I don't use that crud, and seeing as I haven't seen it mentioned yet - I wait with baited breathe to see what they've come up with Build/Modem-wise!
 
graham_h
Old
#2646  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 120
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Tweed Heads
so using the Vodafone DUKJ1 modem with the latest light'ning 2.9 release would be fine ?
Anyone using that setup ?
 
MistahBungle
Old
#2647  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3031
Posts: 6,712
Join Date: Nov 2011
Not using Light'ning, but KJ1 has been the best modem for many (most ?) people using Voda AU on both Gingerbread & ICS. So yeah, you should find it works well with Light'ning.

Quote:
Originally Posted by graham_h View Post
so using the Vodafone DUKJ1 modem with the latest light'ning 2.9 release would be fine ?
Anyone using that setup ?
 
Bachudo
Old
#2648  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney
Quote:
Originally Posted by graham_h View Post
so using the Vodafone DUKJ1 modem with the latest light'ning 2.9 release would be fine ?
Anyone using that setup ?
Iam on liteni'n 2.7 and today will be flashing 2.9 with latest syiah so I can tell U than... :)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA
 
hrtrulz
Old
#2649  
hrtrulz's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 47
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Brisbane
Where can get the vodafone DUKJ1 modem. Is flashable via cwm ?

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2
 
MistahBungle
Old
(Last edited by MistahBungle; 17th November 2012 at 09:49 AM.)
#2650  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3031
Posts: 6,712
Join Date: Nov 2011
Here. Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrtrulz View Post
Where can get the vodafone DUKJ1 modem. Is flashable via cwm ?

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes