5,604,292 Members 49,097 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Bell's Galaxy S2 I9100 Bootloader

Tip us?
 
Tri3Dent
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 313
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Bell's Galaxy S2 I9100 Bootloader

Hey there,

I got a Bell Galaxy S2 I9100. In Canada, it's I9100M. I have the CWM Backup, the factory firmware and kernel .tar files for ODIN.

Recently, I upgraded my firmware to the new XXKI4 which installed the new bootloader. Now when I get to the Downloading screen, it will show that the product is I9100 and not I9100M which it showed before the upgrade. As well, the bootup screen will say I9100 instead of I9100M.

I tried to do a restore with the CWM backup as well as a firmware flash to the original factory firmware however, the Downloading screen and the bootup screen still shows I9100. From this, I assume that this is because the bootloader was updated to the I9100.

Is there a way for me to restore my bootloader, thus restoring what it was before? The reason I ask is because I bought this phone at Futureshop with a 3 year warranty and I want to restore the phone back to stock as possible.

I do have some friends with the same phone. Is there a way for me to get the bootloader off their phones and restore it to mine?

Thanks in advance!
 
veyka
Old
#2  
veyka's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 2675
Posts: 5,600
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norfolk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri3Dent View Post
Hey there,

I got a Bell Galaxy S2 I9100. In Canada, it's I9100M. I have the CWM Backup, the factory firmware and kernel .tar files for ODIN.

Recently, I upgraded my firmware to the new XXKI4 which installed the new bootloader. Now when I get to the Downloading screen, it will show that the product is I9100 and not I9100M which it showed before the upgrade. As well, the bootup screen will say I9100 instead of I9100M.

I tried to do a restore with the CWM backup as well as a firmware flash to the original factory firmware however, the Downloading screen and the bootup screen still shows I9100. From this, I assume that this is because the bootloader was updated to the I9100.

Is there a way for me to restore my bootloader, thus restoring what it was before? The reason I ask is because I bought this phone at Futureshop with a 3 year warranty and I want to restore the phone back to stock as possible.

I do have some friends with the same phone. Is there a way for me to get the bootloader off their phones and restore it to mine?

Thanks in advance!
I am pretty sure its the rom and not the bootloaders that set the model number, did you make sure you flashed your carrier branded one rather than the generic one?


Nexus 4
SGS2 Apps safe to remove
Need hosting for your development work? Contact me, maybe I can help.
mudferret Old
(Last edited by mudferret; 14th January 2012 at 02:27 AM.)
#3  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
If you really want your boot logo to say GT-I9100M you'll have to get the stock param.lfs file. You can use Hellcat's KTool to replace your existing one with the "stock" one.

I'd extract mine for you, but it's long since gone.

Edit: even if you flash your phone back to the stock firmware I don't believe your param.lfs will be restored.
 
Tri3Dent
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 313
Join Date: Dec 2008
Well the reason why I think it's the bootloader is because the new firmware that I flashed, had the older bootloader replaced because I think intratech changed it so that we can reset the counter.

Also, because the "Download" screen is different. When I had the stock Bell firmware, when getting into the Download screen, it just goes directly to it. Now, when I go to it, it gives me a warning page and that I have to hit the Volume Up to continue or Volume Down to cancel.

Yes, it is the Bell UGKG2 firmware so I know it's the stock firmware and kernel. But still shows the "new" download screen with the warning.

Would replacing the param.lfs file give me back stock Download screen (without warning) and all that?
mudferret Old
#5  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
The param.lfs is just the boot logo. I haven't been on the stock firmware for quite a while so I can't even picture what it looks like now. Intratech may have access to the original Bell BL (?).
 
veyka
Old
#6  
veyka's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 2675
Posts: 5,600
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norfolk
As far as I know there has only been two sets of GB bootloaders, the old ones that let you reset with the jig, and the new ones that dont.

Your best bet is to post in this thread and ask about the bell bootloaders, and if they exist.


Nexus 4
SGS2 Apps safe to remove
Need hosting for your development work? Contact me, maybe I can help.
 
Bujiraso
Old
(Last edited by Bujiraso; 28th September 2013 at 07:19 PM.) Reason: removed unnecessary facts
#7  
Bujiraso's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2013
Hi there,
I had a similar problem to OP where my bootloader would not allow a jig to reset my custom binary counter
So I flashed the old bootloader which was not specific to the "M" variant of the i9100.
Now I'm stuck at the flashing S logo and the stock ROM won't load.

I'm trying to follow the instructions found here (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1457458) to reset my i9100m to stock and am having little luck.

I have another SGS2 which is working well, is there a way to take the bootloader from that and move it on to mine?
I can't seem to find out how people are backing up bootloaders.
I've tried checking "update bootloader" when I flash according to the instructions above and no results.

Any thoughts? Let me know if there's something I can clarify.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes