FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Changing IMEI on SGS2 :)

15th August 2011, 07:19 PM |#1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Hi,

is it possible to change the IMEI of the SGS2 ?

Cheers
dodo34
 
 
15th August 2011, 07:23 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Most Easterly Point of England
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Dont think so. Here in the UK it is illegal to change the IMEI.

Normally anyone who wants to change the IMEI is trying to do something undehanded
15th August 2011, 07:25 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 273
 
More
Might not be the best place to talk about it, and you also need special equipment for it. No one was able to change/hack it on the S1.
15th August 2011, 07:42 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 198
 
More
why would you want to change it ?
There maybe other ways of solving your problem.
15th August 2011, 07:53 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Service is determined by your sim. Changing the imei would do nothing other than circumvent a trace from a stolen phone, which is why most providers require it.

Sent from my GT-I9100M using XDA App
15th August 2011, 08:12 PM |#6  
anonymous572's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mstislavl
Thanks Meter: 430
 
More
You can use programmer "RIFF Box JTAG" to change imei. Also you can try to change efc folder.
In my country changing imei is not illegal.
15th August 2011, 08:22 PM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I want to change the IMEI, because when i go to Turkey for holiday, the Turkish operator will block my SGS2 after 2 weeks.

I have to register it, but i get this option only every 2 years.

Last year i registered a phone, and so this year i cannot register it.

But now i want to use the SGS2 a a modem for tethering.

i want to give the IMEI of my old phone to my new SGS2.

Cheers
dodo34
15th August 2011, 08:36 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Germany
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
ofcourse you can use a low cost mobile which can do the trick. Yes you will miss browsing etc etc in SGS2 but changing IMEI is illegal and punishable by law. Guess you are better off with any cheap mobile
16th August 2011, 08:43 AM |#9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
i accept the punishment. i just ask how to change the IMEI
16th August 2011, 09:34 AM |#10  
prodygee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vlaardingen
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
That's not simple. That's some difficult coding ****.
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes