Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more
Thread Closed

Changing IMEI on SGS2 :)

OP dodo34

15th August 2011, 07:19 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Hi,

is it possible to change the IMEI of the SGS2 ?

Cheers
dodo34
15th August 2011, 07:23 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Most Easterly Point of England
Thanks Meter: 35
 
171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Dont think so. Here in the UK it is illegal to change the IMEI.

Normally anyone who wants to change the IMEI is trying to do something undehanded
15th August 2011, 07:25 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 272
 
5,710 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Might not be the best place to talk about it, and you also need special equipment for it. No one was able to change/hack it on the S1.
15th August 2011, 07:42 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 198
 
857 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
why would you want to change it ?
There maybe other ways of solving your problem.
15th August 2011, 07:53 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Service is determined by your sim. Changing the imei would do nothing other than circumvent a trace from a stolen phone, which is why most providers require it.

Sent from my GT-I9100M using XDA App
15th August 2011, 08:12 PM   |  #6  
anonymous572's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mstislavl
Thanks Meter: 429
 
889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
You can use programmer "RIFF Box JTAG" to change imei. Also you can try to change efc folder.
In my country changing imei is not illegal.
15th August 2011, 08:22 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
I want to change the IMEI, because when i go to Turkey for holiday, the Turkish operator will block my SGS2 after 2 weeks.

I have to register it, but i get this option only every 2 years.

Last year i registered a phone, and so this year i cannot register it.

But now i want to use the SGS2 a a modem for tethering.

i want to give the IMEI of my old phone to my new SGS2.

Cheers
dodo34
15th August 2011, 08:36 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Germany
Thanks Meter: 27
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
ofcourse you can use a low cost mobile which can do the trick. Yes you will miss browsing etc etc in SGS2 but changing IMEI is illegal and punishable by law. Guess you are better off with any cheap mobile
16th August 2011, 08:43 AM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
i accept the punishment. i just ask how to change the IMEI
16th August 2011, 09:34 AM   |  #10  
prodygee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vlaardingen
Thanks Meter: 61
 
598 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
That's not simple. That's some difficult coding ****.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes