Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,680 Members 45,324 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Charging paused. Voltage too high

Tip us?
 
Roman5
Old
#1  
Roman5's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 397
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London UK
Default Charging paused. Voltage too high

This never happened on my phone before ICS. Any fix for it? This message came up as I was charging in-car. Someone told me he gets the same on VK rom.

edit: sorry, just noticed there's a long thread about it. Scratch this then.


Samsung Galaxy SII on T-Mobile Tariff Flex 35
Android 4.1.2 Jellybean. Build JZ054K.19100XWLSW
Apex Launcher
 
Sindre.B
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Nov 2010
Hi, i just posted a post in a different thread about this problem
 
themadba
Old
#3  
themadba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 286
Posts: 672
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Belfast, United Kingdom
Have a look here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1520528
Try cleaning the USB port on the phone with a tiny brush or something, make sure there is no dirt, and also make sure the pin is aligned correctly in the USB port, mine went like this and I fixed it by tweaking with the USB port. But also have a look at the thread.

Chris.
Current Device's: Samsung Galaxy S IV, Asus Nexus 7, iPad 3
Retired Devices: Samsung Galaxy S2

If I answered your question or helped in any way, please click the Thanks" button. It only takes a second!

My threads:
Guide to rooting the SGS2
Saga of a CM Exynos4 Device Maintainer

"Knowledge speaks, but wisdom listens." - Jimi Hendrix

 
BLuff.Master
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 15
Join Date: Sep 2010
Thumbs up solution idk if its temporary or no..

I dont know if its temporary or what are the other effects...
I figured out
On a dialpad type
##data#

Click edit
Enter your msl code
Click usb charging and disable it....

Thats it !!!!







Quote:
Originally Posted by Roman5 View Post
This never happened on my phone before ICS. Any fix for it? This message came up as I was charging in-car. Someone told me he gets the same on VK rom.

edit: sorry, just noticed there's a long thread about it. Scratch this then.


 
chocklet
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: TORONTO
Thumbs up Charging paused. Voltage too high

Started happening to me too!

Get a flashing battery icon continuously too.
In no connect USB cable, it show the battery icon like cable already connected! (lightning pic in the battery)

When I search in Google, I got forum.xda-developers.com

I understand the idea of problem, of my Hardware fault finding experience

I clean the USB port in (The Samsung galaxy 2) PDA phone
gently and I am connecting to charge or computer cable,
Straight,slow, careful, every time

Last 7 days no error popup coming !!!!

Thanks to all

choc

What is the manufacturer Answer


chocklet@gmail.com
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Charging paused. Voltage too high POP.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	6.5 KB
ID:	1132249  
 
AndroidFreud
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 58
Join Date: Jan 2011
This has been happening quite a lot to many of the S2s all around the world from the looks of it. I think Samsung is using some cheap faulty material in their USB ports which is causing them to corrode/fail easily. I've changed mine completely once and had to pay for it since they conveniently categorized it under 'water contact with the phone' which they couldn't cover under warranty and I paid for a complete replacement. 5 months later and its happened again. Absolutely unacceptable. Please write in to Samsung and complain about this.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes