Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,915 Members 43,475 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[CONFIRMED] AT&T 4G LTE launching soon? and with the Galaxy S II?

Tip us?
 
designgears
Old
(Last edited by designgears; 10th July 2011 at 01:32 PM.)
#1  
designgears's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 8670
Posts: 4,875
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: SLC

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [CONFIRMED] AT&T 4G LTE launching soon? and with the Galaxy S II?

While digging thru KG1 I found some cool images...

Seems to me like AT&T is holding onto the SGS2 for their 4G LTE launch!

stat_sys_data_lte_att_0.png
stat_sys_data_lte_att_1.png
stat_sys_data_lte_att_2.png
stat_sys_data_lte_att_3.png



There is also a set without "LTE" on them for their current 4G.

xml that controls those:
stat_sys_data_lte_att.xml
Code:
Select Code
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<animation-list android:oneshot="false"
  xmlns:android="http://schemas.android.com/apk/res/android">
    <item android:duration="1000" android:drawable="@drawable/stat_sys_data_lte_att_0" />
    <item android:duration="1000" android:drawable="@drawable/stat_sys_data_lte_att_1" />
    <item android:duration="1000" android:drawable="@drawable/stat_sys_data_lte_att_2" />
    <item android:duration="1000" android:drawable="@drawable/stat_sys_data_lte_att_3" />
</animation-list>
Here are the new APN's:

Code:
Select Code
  <apn carrier="Cingular 380 ATT"
      mcc="310"
      mnc="380"
      apn="proxy"
      mmsc="http://mmsc.cingular.com/"
      mmsproxy="wireless.cingular.com"
      type="default,supl,mms"
  />

  <apn carrier="ATT PHONE"
      mcc="310"
      mnc="410"
      apn="phone"
      type="default"
  />
  
  <apn carrier="ATT WAP"
      mcc="310"
      mnc="410"
      apn="wap.cingular"
      mmsc="http://mmsc.cingular.com/"
      mmsproxy="wireless.cingular.com"
      mmsport="80"
      type="supl,mms"
  />

  <apn carrier="BROADBAND"
      mcc="310"
      mnc="150"
      apn="broadband"
      type="dun"
  />

  <apn carrier="BROADBAND"
      mcc="310"
      mnc="170"
      apn="broadband"
      type="dun"
  />

  <apn carrier="BROADBAND"
      mcc="310"
      mnc="410"
      apn="broadband"
      type="dun"
  />

  <apn carrier="BROADBAND"
      mcc="310"
      mnc="980"
      apn="broadband"
      type="dun"
  />

  <apn carrier="BROADBAND"
      mcc="311"
      mnc="180"
      apn="broadband"
      type="dun"
  />
"haters can make like bees with no stingers, and drop dead" -Eminem

Follow me on Twitter!
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to designgears For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BarryH_GEG
Old
#2  
BarryH_GEG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4127
Posts: 8,631
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spokane, Washington
That would make so much sense. Their LTE network is supposed to launch this Summer in Dallas, Houston, San Antonio, Atlanta and Chicago, and they have no phone for it. Adding a device like the SGS2 as another fake-4G phone doesn't make sense. People will be falling all over themselves to get a LTE SGS2. They're only going to add 10 more cities this year so by the time their coverage gets meaningful I hope the SGS3 will be out and have native LTE support.
 
ddominator
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 148
Join Date: Apr 2010
Is the Galaxy SII even capable of LTE?
 
BarryH_GEG
Old
#4  
BarryH_GEG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4127
Posts: 8,631
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spokane, Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddominator View Post
Is the Galaxy SII even capable of LTE?
Ours, no. AT&T's, yes.
 
ddominator
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 148
Join Date: Apr 2010
I'm on AT&T so will they launch an LTE Galaxy S 2 or an old fashioned GSM 3G version?

I know there hasn't been an announcement so what is the most likely one.
 
BarryH_GEG
Old
#6  
BarryH_GEG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4127
Posts: 8,631
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spokane, Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddominator View Post
I'm on AT&T so will they launch an LTE Galaxy S 2 or an old fashioned GSM 3G version?

I know there hasn't been an announcement so what is the most likely one.
Based on the fact that the latest firmware has PNG images of AT&T's 4G logo, I'd say them getting an LTE SGS2 is almost 100% certain. I wouldn't feel bad though. It's going to take them a year to get any meaningful coverage. By then there will be new toys for all of us to play with.

I'm kind of confused about how LTE works from carrier to carrier. For example, is VZW's LTE the same as AT&T's? Do they all use the same hardware radios? Can you roam across LTE networks? I thinks it's still too new to understand all the details.
 
atsim
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: belleville
Your right I'm not gonna run out and buy the us galaxy s2 no point for me,unless LTE is in new jersey

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA Premium App
 
ddominator
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 148
Join Date: Apr 2010
Well I live in Chicago so I hope their LTE coverage would be better than their 3G coverage.

I do not want to shell out $200 for a freaking AT&T microcell.
 
BarryH_GEG
Old
#9  
BarryH_GEG's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4127
Posts: 8,631
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Spokane, Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by atsim View Post
Your right I'm not gonna run out and buy the us galaxy s2 no point for me,unless LTE is in new jersey

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA Premium App
There's a huge downside to LTE. It destroys battery life based on what's posted by people using VZW. On a phone that's already battery-challenged that can't be a good thing.
 
atsim
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: belleville
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryH_GEG View Post
There's a huge downside to LTE. It destroys battery life based on what's posted by people using VZW. On a phone that's already battery-challenged that can't be a good thing.
Yeah my father just bought a Samsung charge,its fast but just eats through the battery

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA Premium App

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes