Post Reply

[Q] Failed attempt to repair S2

OP anubius

30th August 2014, 09:14 AM   |  #1  
anubius's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lviv
Thanks Meter: 35
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
I thought that I am really smart and can easily repair S2. I ended up with two broken S2s and I thought I can make from them one working unit. One had a fried motherboard and another one had a broken screen. So what I did is flipped the motherboard to the device with intact screen. The device that I obtained works, however it lost IMEA. I tried almost everything like flashing kernels Roms and some methods to restore IMEA. Still it says Baseband unknown and no IMEA. Did I do something wrong? Is there still hope? Or I will have Galaxy player only. Any thoughts are appreciated.
30th August 2014, 02:39 PM   |  #2  
-Marco's Avatar
Member
Flag Bari, Puglia, IT
Thanks Meter: 70
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anubius

I thought that I am really smart and can easily repair S2. I ended up with two broken S2s and I thought I can make from them one working unit. One had a fried motherboard and another one had a broken screen. So what I did is flipped the motherboard to the device with intact screen. The device that I obtained works, however it lost IMEA. I tried almost everything like flashing kernels Roms and some methods to restore IMEA. Still it says Baseband unknown and no IMEA. Did I do something wrong? Is there still hope? Or I will have Galaxy player only. Any thoughts are appreciated.

What you thinking? The IMEI is reset every time you remove the battery to buffer and removed the motherboard, for obvious safety reasons.
I do not think there are solutions, but now forgotten official assistance
1st September 2014, 08:22 AM   |  #3  
anubius's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Lviv
Thanks Meter: 35
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Marco

What you thinking? The IMEI is reset every time you remove the battery to buffer and removed the motherboard, for obvious safety reasons.
I do not think there are solutions, but now forgotten official assistance

So its unrepairable?
1st September 2014, 05:30 PM   |  #4  
-Marco's Avatar
Member
Flag Bari, Puglia, IT
Thanks Meter: 70
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anubius

So its unrepairable?

No, but it's very hard beacuse you've to repair ALL MOTHERBOARD and change the battery-in-motherboard (it's near of camera chip).
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes