Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,985 Members 53,895 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Flash Old ROM

Tip us?
 
kaka4444
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2014
Prompt Flash Old ROM

Hello all . so i have a s2 i9100 android version 4.1.2 .iwant to flash an old verion of ice cream sandwith 4.0...
the problem is that i tried this before but when i did, the phone will stay at the samsung logo like it is loading but nothing happen
can you help me please
Thank you
 
MistahBungle
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3205
Posts: 7,088
Join Date: Nov 2011
Personally, I would stay away from Android 4.0x, if you flash, root your phone & do a factory reset, the brickbug comes into play (4.0.4). There has also been one or two people who didn't even root their phones (allegedly) who bricked them doing a factory reset on 4.0.4.

If you must flash 4.0x, use 4.0.2/4.0.3 (I still wouldn't even do that). If you have problems with the flash, for example, bootloop - boot into recovery & do a factory reset. If that doesn't fix it, find Hopper8's 'Odin troubleshooting' thread stickied in General, download the 3 part firmware linked in the thread, and flash that with Odin (this will wipe your phone).

If you still can't get a successful flash, it might be something else fairly simple as is often the case with these, try everything in Hopper's thread. I'd be surprised if you can get a successful flash with the info in his thread, it's 'the Bible' for these things.
If it's important enough to cause you grief if it's lost, back it up. No excuses
Trolling for thanks is lame
Does Samsung's auto-brightness implementation crap drive you to self-harm ? A solution !
Failure to search is the leading cause of male impotence on XDA
If you don't know how to recover if things go wrong, what are you doing flashing custom roms ?
The Following User Says Thank You to MistahBungle For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Gokulbalram
Old
#3  
Gokulbalram's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 377
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pune
I'm sorry, but did you flash it via Recovery or via Odin? If you did it via Recovery, you'll have to flash back to the official Samsung firmware (The ICS one obviously).
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S i9000 || Samsung Galaxy S3 i9300
ROM: Paranoid Android 4.5 A1 || Omni 4.4.4
Kernel: Stock PA || Boeffla 2.2
Processor: 100-1200 MHZ || 100-1400 MHZ
Governor: OnDemand || SmartAssV2
The Following User Says Thank You to Gokulbalram For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kaka4444
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Apr 2014
thank you . i flash it using Odin .i want a old version because of the GPS .
my gps can't find a good signal i tried every fix possible but nothing works .
i get a smaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaall signal and i don't know how to fix this GPS.
 
Gokulbalram
Old
#5  
Gokulbalram's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 377
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pune
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaka4444 View Post
thank you . i flash it using Odin .i want a old version because of the GPS .
my gps can't find a good signal i tried every fix possible but nothing works .
i get a smaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaall signal and i don't know how to fix this GPS.
Try going to Settings>Loctaion>Mode and set it to High Accuracy
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S i9000 || Samsung Galaxy S3 i9300
ROM: Paranoid Android 4.5 A1 || Omni 4.4.4
Kernel: Stock PA || Boeffla 2.2
Processor: 100-1200 MHZ || 100-1400 MHZ
Governor: OnDemand || SmartAssV2
The Following User Says Thank You to Gokulbalram For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes