Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,615 Members 46,381 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] can't flash stock roms with odin i9100 [Resolved]

Tip us?
 
ArcturusD
Old
(Last edited by ArcturusD; 1st November 2011 at 09:19 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2011
Question [Q] can't flash stock roms with odin i9100 [Resolved]

I'm currently unable to flash firmwares; whenever I try with ODIN it fails (does not progress) at boot.bin.

I'm on VillianROM 3 and I want to move to XXKI4.

I have tried using a series of separate files for XWKDF and the single .tar.md5 files. I've also tried using different USB ports, cables and wiping all data before flashing.
I have never selected .pit or repartition during a flash

I have killed all of the KIES processes using task manager.

I have access to download and CM recovery (restoring old backups does work but I still can't flash on top of them)

Any suggestions?
 
gee2012
Old
(Last edited by gee2012; 31st October 2011 at 07:23 PM.)
#2  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2805
Posts: 7,722
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Heerlen
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArcturusD View Post
I'm currently unable to flash firmwares; whenever I try with ODIN it fails (does not progress) at boot.bin.

I'm on VillianROM 3 and I want to move to XXKI4.

I have tried using a series of separate files for XWKDF and the single .tar.md5 files. I've also tried using different USB ports, cables and wiping all data before flashing.
I have never selected .pit or repartition during a flash

I have killed all of the KIES processes using task manager.

I have access to download and CM recovery (restoring old backups does work but I still can't flash on top of them)

Any suggestions?
Go into recovery mode, wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache , wipe dalvik cache, go to mount and storage and format system, cache and data. Go over to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1113928 , find your country`s rom. Put the phone in downloadmode and flash it with odin. Be sure you have usb debugging enabled. After reboot go to settings, privacy and reset factory settings, reboot and you`re done
 
ArcturusD
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012 View Post
Go into recovery mode, wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache , wipe dalvik cache, go to mount and storage and format system, cache and data. Go over to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1113928 , find your country`s rom. Put the phone in downloadmode and flash it with odin. Be sure you have usb debugging enabled. After reboot go to settings, privacy and reset factory settings, reboot and you`re done
Thanks for the suggestion but it hasn't worked It is still stalling at boot.bin when flashing via odin
 
jhernand1102
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 173
Posts: 1,819
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArcturusD View Post
Thanks for the suggestion but it hasn't worked It is still stalling at boot.bin when flashing via odin
What version of Odin are you using? I use V1.85 and everything works fine for me on Window 7 Pro...
T-Mobile
HTC One M8
 
ArcturusD
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2011
I'm also using win 7 with odin 1.85. It's weird, I was previously able to use odin to flash stock roms but now it has stopped working (I've tried redownloading odin to make sure the files are okay but same result)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
 
nicholaschum
Old
#6  
nicholaschum's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 913
Posts: 1,336
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hong Kong (Toronto, ON)

 
DONATE TO ME
Use another computer
Problem with ROMs? Try this. Still no? Ask me on Google+!
Root/TWRP/Kernel/ROM/Downgradable and KNOX 0x0 on N900W8? My guide.

Phone: Note 3 - Rogers SM-N900W8
tba, tba, TWRP 2.7.1, NA2 BL, NB7 Modem, KNOX 0x0

Tablet: Nexus 7 (2012)
PA 4.2 Beta 2, TWRP 2.7, Multiboot - UbTouch, Ub13.10, PA, CM11

Note 3 ◆ Xperia Tab P ◆ Nexus 7 ◆ Note II LTE ◆ S III LTE ◆ One X ◆ Note I ◆ Galaxy Nexus ◆ S II LTE ◆ S II


The Following User Says Thank You to nicholaschum For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Intratech
Old
#7  
Intratech's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4505
Posts: 4,992
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London

 
DONATE TO ME
Is the phone in download mode?
Need official GT-I9100 firmwares? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1075278
Need official GT-I9300 firmwares? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1671969

I don't want to help and provide tech support by PM. Please post on the forum so everyone can learn from each other


[/CENTER]
 
ArcturusD
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2011
I've put the phone I'm to download mode using vol down + home + power and from the cwm app. The result is the same: fails at boot.bin

I'll see if I can try from another computer this evening

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
 
ArcturusD
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2011
Ok the suggestion to use a different computer has worked.

I've now also managed to re-root from the win 7 machine by setting up a new user account and running odin from there. I'll update the thread title to resolved

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
 
Wonderb0y
Old
#10  
Wonderb0y's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 49
Join Date: Oct 2011
having the same problem using win7 ultimate, odin doesn't like win7 or what?

what if I dont have access to another computer?

Tags
galaxys2, odin
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes