FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] can't flash stock roms with odin i9100 [Resolved]

6 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By ArcturusD, Junior Member on 31st October 2011, 07:15 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I'm currently unable to flash firmwares; whenever I try with ODIN it fails (does not progress) at boot.bin.

I'm on VillianROM 3 and I want to move to XXKI4.

I have tried using a series of separate files for XWKDF and the single .tar.md5 files. I've also tried using different USB ports, cables and wiping all data before flashing.
I have never selected .pit or repartition during a flash

I have killed all of the KIES processes using task manager.

I have access to download and CM recovery (restoring old backups does work but I still can't flash on top of them)

Any suggestions?
Last edited by ArcturusD; 1st November 2011 at 09:19 PM.
 
 
31st October 2011, 07:21 PM |#2  
gee2012's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,786
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArcturusD

I'm currently unable to flash firmwares; whenever I try with ODIN it fails (does not progress) at boot.bin.

I'm on VillianROM 3 and I want to move to XXKI4.

I have tried using a series of separate files for XWKDF and the single .tar.md5 files. I've also tried using different USB ports, cables and wiping all data before flashing.
I have never selected .pit or repartition during a flash

I have killed all of the KIES processes using task manager.

I have access to download and CM recovery (restoring old backups does work but I still can't flash on top of them)

Any suggestions?

Go into recovery mode, wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache , wipe dalvik cache, go to mount and storage and format system, cache and data. Go over to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1113928 , find your country`s rom. Put the phone in downloadmode and flash it with odin. Be sure you have usb debugging enabled. After reboot go to settings, privacy and reset factory settings, reboot and you`re done
Last edited by gee2012; 31st October 2011 at 07:23 PM.
31st October 2011, 10:54 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012

Go into recovery mode, wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache , wipe dalvik cache, go to mount and storage and format system, cache and data. Go over to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1113928 , find your country`s rom. Put the phone in downloadmode and flash it with odin. Be sure you have usb debugging enabled. After reboot go to settings, privacy and reset factory settings, reboot and you`re done

Thanks for the suggestion but it hasn't worked It is still stalling at boot.bin when flashing via odin
31st October 2011, 11:48 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag SF Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 176
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArcturusD

Thanks for the suggestion but it hasn't worked It is still stalling at boot.bin when flashing via odin

What version of Odin are you using? I use V1.85 and everything works fine for me on Window 7 Pro...
1st November 2011, 07:58 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I'm also using win 7 with odin 1.85. It's weird, I was previously able to use odin to flash stock roms but now it has stopped working (I've tried redownloading odin to make sure the files are okay but same result)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
1st November 2011, 01:14 PM |#6  
nicholaschum's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag University of Toronto St. George (Hometown: Hong Kong)
Thanks Meter: 8,608
 
Donate to Me
More
Use another computer
The Following User Says Thank You to nicholaschum For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st November 2011, 01:20 PM |#7  
Intratech's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 4,510
 
Donate to Me
More
Is the phone in download mode?
1st November 2011, 03:20 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I've put the phone I'm to download mode using vol down + home + power and from the cwm app. The result is the same: fails at boot.bin

I'll see if I can try from another computer this evening

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
1st November 2011, 08:37 PM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Ok the suggestion to use a different computer has worked.

I've now also managed to re-root from the win 7 machine by setting up a new user account and running odin from there. I'll update the thread title to resolved

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
7th November 2011, 06:11 AM |#10  
Wonderb0y's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
having the same problem using win7 ultimate, odin doesn't like win7 or what?

what if I dont have access to another computer?
19th November 2011, 04:46 PM |#11  
fernmar's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag St. Catherine
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012

Go into recovery mode, wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache , wipe dalvik cache, go to mount and storage and format system, cache and data. Go over to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1113928 , find your country`s rom. Put the phone in downloadmode and flash it with odin. Be sure you have usb debugging enabled. After reboot go to settings, privacy and reset factory settings, reboot and you`re done

I'm having a similar problem where i'm stuck at SetupConnection.. i've tried your suggestion by clearing everything, but i'm still getting stucked, and now i'm stuck on the boot up screen seeing the yellow triangle. i can still get to download mode but thats it.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
galaxys2, odin
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes