Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Frequent loss of signal - CLOSED!!

OP banjara

2nd June 2014, 04:03 AM   |  #11  
banjara's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 115
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Thanks a lot. I really appreciate it.
This whole fiasco was a great learning for me. Lost imei and baseband on my way and recovered them too. And looks like it will end in me performing a DIY on my phone.
For now the signals are stable for more than 12 hours which is like the most I have seen since 3 days. I will see if I can utilize your guide this weekend.
Thanks again for your help and time.

Can loosing imei/baseband be the cause of loosing connectivity?

EDIT 1: And my troubles are far from over. It still needs to be switched to aeroplane mode and switch it off to get the connectivity back or a reboot is required. The worst problem is that now the signal shows full in the status bar but with "No connectivity" or "Emergency calls only" which is even worse to handle.
Looks like it can connect to the network provider normally but cant hold the connection for long and requires a reset. Will changing USB port help in this kind of case?

EDIT 2: After a whole day of being on stock and switching the phone into aeroplane mode again and again, I thought of giving custom roms another try. On a KK ROM and on another JB ROM (4.1.2) it was a total struggle to even connect to a network. Tried various modes - wcdma, gsm, auto but nothing worked. Tried different modems too but it just ended up in making the phone really hot. Experimented so much that even when the sim was in, i got the message - "insert sim card to access network". Back to stock rom now.
Last edited by banjara; 2nd June 2014 at 09:33 PM.
2nd June 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #12  
keithross39's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxford
Thanks Meter: 1,210
 
1,997 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
I don't know whether there is any circuitry inside the speaker / antenna module that will cause issues with signal.....the fact that some people say that modifying the USB board affects signal leads me to think that there probably isn't and that it's all housed on the USB board........
And I'd advise that you back up your IMEI and EFS folder while it is intact.....before you attempt to flash anything else.....
A good app for this is ktool on the play store.......
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...droiddev.ktool

My wife says I'm a phone geek....She's probably right
The Following User Says Thank You to keithross39 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd June 2014, 05:15 AM   |  #13  
banjara's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 115
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Backed up everything a long time back itself when I saw myself become flash maniac. thanks for the advice though.
I checked up USB port on eBay and it is not available in my country. From US shipping and all makes it unaffordable . Will be visiting a service center today or tomorrow.
4th June 2014, 10:21 AM   |  #14  
banjara's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 115
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Eventually Waterboarding was the culprit. Got a call from service center today that they found waterlogging on mainboard. Getting it replaced now.
Heavy on pockets but still cheaper than an equally capable new phone.

Thanks keithross39 for all the help. Appreciate it.
The Following User Says Thank You to banjara For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th June 2014, 10:32 AM   |  #15  
keithross39's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxford
Thanks Meter: 1,210
 
1,997 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
No problem fella......just be prepared for other issues too (might never happen.....but......)
If the water damaged the main board, other boards might have been affected too......

My wife says I'm a phone geek....She's probably right
4th June 2014, 11:02 AM   |  #16  
banjara's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 115
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
I was starting to feel relieved after knowing mainboard issue, but here you are, scaring me more :P
Alright, I will keep an eye on the day to day activities of my phone for few days once its back. I just hope it comes out alive.
4th June 2014, 11:33 AM   |  #17  
keithross39's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxford
Thanks Meter: 1,210
 
1,997 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Lol...just mentioning the "worst case scenario*......but on the bright side, every other board in the phone costs pocket change.......

My wife says I'm a phone geek....She's probably right
The Following User Says Thank You to keithross39 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th June 2014, 09:47 AM   |  #18  
banjara's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 115
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Asked the service center guys and they say everything is fine with other components. Looks like they are not interested in my pocket change

One last question, does changing the mainboard changes your imei number?
The Following User Says Thank You to banjara For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th June 2014, 10:27 AM   |  #19  
keithross39's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxford
Thanks Meter: 1,210
 
1,997 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
An authorised service centre should be able to re write your IMEI....but under normal circumstances it will change.....

My wife says I'm a phone geek....She's probably right

The Following User Says Thank You to keithross39 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes