Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,079 Members 54,443 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is it possible to Sim unlock with Cyanogenmod installed?

Tip us?
 
eyesofnova
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default [Q] Is it possible to Sim unlock with Cyanogenmod installed?

My girlfriend is selling her old Tmobile Samsung Galaxy S2 sgh-t989 that had Android 4.02 on it asked me to clean it up so she could sell it because it ran very slow so I installed Cyanogenmod because its lightweight and also assuming it would unlock it for the carriers. After a bit of reading, on this forum I discovered my assumptions we're wrong. Now my question is this, the person who she sold it to is on AT&T. With Cyanogenmod on it, if she calls up AT&T will they still be able to unlock it or should I flash it with a stock rom?
 
eyesofnova
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2014
bump
 
doctor_droid
Old
#3  
doctor_droid's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,758
Posts: 4,053
Join Date: Oct 2012
Better flash stock rom...
I really dont know about carrier locked phones (no such trend in india) but still it would be better or else one may say that the phone has been tempered(correct word??) wid
Nokia 1100 > Nokia 6600 > Nokia N72 > Nokia n95 > Nokia N86 > Htc Touch > Xperia U > Galaxy S2Plus > Galaxy S2 > Galaxy Grand Duos > NEXUS 5

Feel FREE to pm me in case u need technical support (not developer level ) or want any suggestion.
 
X8invisible
Old
#4  
X8invisible's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 474
Posts: 2,669
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Internal Storage
You can not unlock it on custom ROMs with apps, only from pc at a service store(perhaps), on stock 4.1.2 it is possible with various apps like GalaxSim( I recommend it, altho it's paid nowadays) and Chainfire's app(I don't think it works anymore though)
Phone: Galaxy S3| Tab: Galaxy Tab 2 7"
Past phone: Galaxy S2 / Xperia™ X8-greatest device ever|
Click here for free apps
 
Stevo001457
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 17
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sydney
It's possible, I used the old version of galaxsim to unlock my Telstra locked i9100t and it worked like a charm. I'm pretty sure you can get it free as an apk.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes