Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Galaxy s2 - not recognizing sim card

OP sahra22

31st May 2012, 02:17 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Hi,

My samsung galaxy s2 (Android 4.0.3) is not recognizing any sim card but they are working fine in other phones. In my mobile, some times getting pop up "Refreshing sim data" and NO service (selected network not available).

I tried doing factory reset, still I have the same problem.

Manually I tried to select the network, but I got "Unable to connect, try later".

I don't think its hard ware problem, because its showing the mobile number in status.

Settings -> About phone -> Status -> My phone number

other details :

Settings -> About phone -> Status -> Network -> Unknown

Settings -> About phone -> Status -> service state -> out of service

Settings -> About phone -> Status -> mobile network state -> disconnected


If I root my mobile, Is there any chance of recognizing the sim card ?

Please help me.
31st May 2012, 04:35 AM   |  #2  
kjplasma's Avatar
Member
Perth
Thanks Meter: 12
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Is your phone sim locked to any carrier?
31st May 2012, 04:46 AM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Porto
Thanks Meter: 6
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
If you root your s2 and flash with the new rom, maybe it will work, or can be a hardware problem!
31st May 2012, 12:15 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjplasma

Is your phone sim locked to any carrier?

Its second hand mobile with unlocked. I used it for 3 months, now I got this problem.
Last edited by sahra22; 31st May 2012 at 03:53 PM.
31st May 2012, 01:18 PM   |  #5  
jorrddan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sofia
Thanks Meter: 20
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Hi, tipe code *#06# in dialer and check IMEI, if you don't have try to restor backup of efs folder if you have.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
31st May 2012, 03:11 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorrddan

Hi, tipe code *#06# in dialer and check IMEI, if you don't have try to restor backup of efs folder if you have.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk


I have IMEI and serial number
31st May 2012, 03:28 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,210
 
7,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
OK. So that sim card works in other phones. Logically, the test should therefore be try another sim in the SGS2 (go buy a $2 starter sim from another carrier if you need to).

If that doesn't work either, then refer it to your carrier if you bought the phone from them. Frankly, if you haven't rooted your phone/flashed non-stock firmware to it/messed with it, I wouldn't do same in an effort to try and fix this problem. Chances are it won't, and you'll have voided your warranty trying to fix it.
31st May 2012, 03:41 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
This happened to me to last week, it turned out to be that my phone was blacklisted. Take it back to were you bought it from, the shop where I bought it from exchanged mine and handed the blacklisted one to police, I've got called for witness statement even tho there's not much I can tell them

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
28th November 2012, 05:09 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I'm also getting the error "No SIM card" in my Galaxy S2. 8 months left on contract.

Vodafone refused to repair, due to moisture on the main board, though I'm not convinced this is what has caused the fault. I've been reading this has been a bit of an issue with GS2, for one reason or another. (That and they sent me a quote for a HTC when I have a GS2)

It was my first trip to Bangkok, I took my phone out of flight mode, received a text from vodafone, advising I could use roaming, I took no action, then put it back in flight mode.

That was the last time my SIM worked. Had a new SIM put in when I arrived back in Sydney Australia, but same issue, SIM works in another phone.

I've checked that my IMEI isn't blacklisted, that it matches the sticker inside the phone (*#06#), I have the original stock, un-rooted, vodafone bloatware ROM currently on there.

Anyone have any idea's, other than this one from the app store (GSII_Repair) (n00bs can't post links)
28th November 2012, 06:40 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by markhardy1974

I'm also getting the error "No SIM card" in my Galaxy S2. 8 months left on contract.

Vodafone refused to repair, due to moisture on the main board, though I'm not convinced this is what has caused the fault. I've been reading this has been a bit of an issue with GS2, for one reason or another. (That and they sent me a quote for a HTC when I have a GS2)

It was my first trip to Bangkok, I took my phone out of flight mode, received a text from vodafone, advising I could use roaming, I took no action, then put it back in flight mode.

That was the last time my SIM worked. Had a new SIM put in when I arrived back in Sydney Australia, but same issue, SIM works in another phone.

I've checked that my IMEI isn't blacklisted, that it matches the sticker inside the phone (*#06#), I have the original stock, un-rooted, vodafone bloatware ROM currently on there.

Anyone have any idea's, other than this one from the app store (GSII_Repair) (n00bs can't post links)


I had similar kind of problem. I tried different ways to resolve the problem, but couldn't do that. At last, I went to Samsung service centre, they said, it was hardware problem and they fixed the problem .

Just simply go to any Samsung service centre near to you, they will surely fix it. Mostly they will do it for free, if the mobile has warranty.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes