Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

GT-i9100 ID - 2 Phones, Different Motherboards

OP gordonfink

13th January 2014, 03:42 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
I have two gt-i9100's. The stickers in the battery bay both match the IMEI on the phone.

Phone A is having issues connecting to data and phone networks, so I checked the ROM on Phone B (which works great), downloaded it, and flashed Phone A to that ROM. It still doesn't work.

I was going to swap the motherboards (Phone A body is mint, Phone B has a few nicks), so I could sell the mint one fully working, and the nicked one as not working with software issues.

When I opened them up, I found that Phone A has a stacked sim/sd card reader, while phone B has two separate reader slots. Of course, the motherboards couldn't be swapped because of that.

Both stickers say i9100GSMH, and the IMEI's match the stickers.

So, are these different versions of the same phone? Is phone A (with stacked card reader/sim slot) some other variant, that requires a different ROM?

Also, in looking at Phone B's motherboard, I-9100 is clearly stamped on one of the heat shields in the working phone. The non-working Phone A doesn't even have the same heat shields on the motherboard.

So, what is Phone A (double stacked sim/sd, no stamps, won't connect to networks).

The ROM for both is stock XWLSW, with XXMS2 baseband.

In the pics below, Phone A (suspect) is on the left, and B is on the right. The close up is of Phone A.

Thanks much.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	315
Size:	266.8 KB
ID:	2511985   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	282
Size:	254.9 KB
ID:	2511987  
Last edited by gordonfink; 13th January 2014 at 03:51 AM.
14th January 2014, 05:08 PM   |  #2  
wulsic's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nijmegen
Thanks Meter: 1,218
 
1,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Edit:

Can you watch or it is i9100g motherboard on internet cause my phone is now1%
I saw my friends phone and i believe he had i9100g.
If it isnt that then search for different variants.
I believed there was i9100/p/g
And some other galaxy s2 but other codenames and some with touchbuttons.

I saw some clones which could actually use odin and were really almost the same.
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
Last edited by wulsic; 14th January 2014 at 07:09 PM.
14th January 2014, 05:39 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Thanks for the reply. I'm wondering about it. Phone A's micro sd slot is stacked under the sim slot as opposed to being a separate reader.

The memory reports the same, but I haven't looked at the processor. I'll try to look at it.

Someone suggested that I might need a i9100T modem for Phone A, but I haven't seen any 9100T boards to see if it might be that model or not.

Thanks much.


Quote:
Originally Posted by wulsic

Looks to me like a clone if you watch that the camera modules are different and phone A is missing microsd slot on the left side from the sim slot. so phone B looks to me original but phone A i dont really know
Can you watch on phone A the processor speed and memory?


Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

14th January 2014, 05:47 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
363 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gordonfink

Thanks for the reply. I'm wondering about it. Phone A's micro sd slot is stacked under the sim slot as opposed to being a separate reader.

The memory reports the same, but I haven't looked at the processor. I'll try to look at it.

Someone suggested that I might need a i9100T modem for Phone A, but I haven't seen any 9100T boards to see if it might be that model or not.

Thanks much.

Obviously its a different model not a clone as u won't be able to flash samsung rom on clones. Thats the problem with Samsung they make so many models look similar but yet different.
14th January 2014, 07:57 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
So, everything but the modem works. It shows bars, like it sees the network, which makes me think it's not the antenna.

So should I just try flashing different modems until I find one that works? Everything else from the stock ROM seems to work just fine.

Thanks
14th January 2014, 09:44 PM   |  #6  
wulsic's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nijmegen
Thanks Meter: 1,218
 
1,277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Gordonfink so can you check also in about or info model number?
If it matches then it should be right.
If so then were you live? I made a xwms1 odexed rom for recovery if you flash once philz kernel then flash the odexed rom and then you should have moden, recovery and system all to default without using odin.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
Last edited by wulsic; 14th January 2014 at 10:41 PM.
14th January 2014, 11:08 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wulsic

Gordonfink so can you check also in about or info model number?
If it matches then it should be right.
If so then were you live? I made a xwms1 odexed rom for recovery if you flash once philz kernel then flash the odexed rom and then you should have moden, recovery and system all to default without using odin.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

HI - I'm in the US.

It says i9100 in the settings --> about if that's what you mean.

Thanks
14th January 2014, 11:10 PM   |  #8  
Fevves's Avatar
Senior Member
Behind your screen...
Thanks Meter: 92
 
224 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Based on what is available on google, it seem like SGS2 Korean or Japanese version, see here without getting a clear conclusion (IMO): https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2514765/all

Look closelly at the pics posted there and see what fits the back of your version A (two posts shows similar if not same as yours).

So, the question is: from where did you get both of these (no hustle for the international SGS2 - your indicated as B) and if you're able to trace down the origin as bench tests and/or abouthone would show an OK results for both of them. What's the CSC version on each? It can give you a hint on the origin if you haven't flashed everything via Odin or CWM.

All the same, you might have modem/ril issues with A model if you flashed the wrong modem, or if you're out of modem/RIL parameters cause your SIM might not be properly supported by the phone re basebands (if it's indeed KOR or JAP version)...
The Following User Says Thank You to Fevves For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th January 2014, 12:41 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fevves

Based on what is available on google, it seem like SGS2 Korean or Japanese version, see here without getting a clear conclusion (IMO): https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2514765/all

Look closelly at the pics posted there and see what fits the back of your version A (two posts shows similar if not same as yours).

So, the question is: from where did you get both of these (no hustle for the international SGS2 - your indicated as B) and if you're able to trace down the origin as bench tests and/or abouthone would show an OK results for both of them. What's the CSC version on each? It can give you a hint on the origin if you haven't flashed everything via Odin or CWM.

All the same, you might have modem/ril issues with A model if you flashed the wrong modem, or if you're out of modem/RIL parameters cause your SIM might not be properly supported by the phone re basebands (if it's indeed KOR or JAP version)...

Thank you very much.

The Japanese and/or Korean versions look very much like my Phone A. I bought them both from the same wholesaler. I sold Phone A to a customer, and they returned it because it wouldn't connect to the network. They flashed two different custom ROMs prior to the return, so I have no idea what was on it originally.

The ROM seems to work OK. I will try to flash a Korean and/or Japanese modem to see if that helps.

I actually discovered it because I was going to just swap the boards, because A is in mint condition, and B is a little beat up, but the boards were different.

Thanks for helping to sleuth this out. I figured if I could identify it, I could get the proper ROM/modem on it, and maybe restore it.

Thanks again. I'll try a few things and report back.
24th January 2014, 03:17 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Well, I could not get this phone to work with AT&T, so I sold it for parts.

The buyer informed me that she put her TMobile sim card in, and it worked perfectly.

Thanks for everyone's input.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes