Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,741 Members 47,154 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Need help in Flashing New Rom.

Tip us?
 
rixon.d9
Old
(Last edited by rixon.d9; 1st March 2014 at 02:01 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2013
Smile [Q] Need help in Flashing New Rom.

I want to use Kitkat ROM on my galaxy S2 GT i9100. Tried Supernexus and other Rom's but all failed to Install aborting Installation. Looked out for few sites still couldnt find genuine files.
Can someone please provide link to supernexus rom 4.4 and Gapps got GALAXY S2 GT i9100. current software NEAT ROM
Thanks
 
Vivek_Neel
Old
#2  
Vivek_Neel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 18,920
Posts: 7,309
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: chennai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rixon.d9 View Post
I want to use Kitkat ROM on my galaxy S2 GT i9100. Tried Supernexus and other Rom's but all failed to Install aborting Installation. Looked out for few sites still couldnt find genuine files.
Can someone please provide link to supernexus rom 4.4 and Gapps got GALAXY S2 GT i9100. current software NEAT ROM
Thanks
Search before posting mate

You have to use kk compatible kernel before flashing any kk rom.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Vivek_Neel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rixon.d9
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivek_Neel View Post
Search before posting mate

You have to use kk compatible kernel before flashing any kk rom.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
Thanks for the tip mate I did some reading and found that I need to Flash CWM 6.0.4.5 or so. But somewhere I read about kernels. Can someone tell me the sequnce in which I should flash CWM, Kernel and ROM . Probably going for CWM 6.0.4.5 , Gustavo's kernel ( just because read somewhere its good ) and POUND ROM. Do I need to do all at once ?
Do I need a PC to flash these stuff ? I have a PC without admin priviliges so I can just download the files and copy to my SD card.
I know no one wants to feed spoon , I have done my homework need someone to show me the way to do it without me having to go through entire XDA pages.
Please help.
 
Vivek_Neel
Old
#4  
Vivek_Neel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 18,920
Posts: 7,309
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: chennai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rixon.d9 View Post
Thanks for the tip mate I did some reading and found that I need to Flash CWM 6.0.4.5 or so. But somewhere I read about kernels. Can someone tell me the sequnce in which I should flash CWM, Kernel and ROM . Probably going for CWM 6.0.4.5 , Gustavo's kernel ( just because read somewhere its good ) and POUND ROM. Do I need to do all at once ?
Do I need a PC to flash these stuff ? I have a PC without admin priviliges so I can just download the files and copy to my SD card.
I know no one wants to feed spoon , I have done my homework need someone to show me the way to do it without me having to go through entire XDA pages.
Please help.
Ok.

Boot into recovery
Do a nandroid
Go to this thread and read the op 2nd post
Follow exactly the steps


Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
 
rixon.d9
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivek_Neel View Post
Ok.

Boot into recovery
Do a nandroid
Go to this thread and read the op 2nd post
Follow exactly the steps


Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
I believe that thread is about flashing NEAT ROM. I want to Change from NEAT ROM to POUND ROM 4.4. I guess it should be similar for any ROM. How Do I Change my kernel ?
 
Vivek_Neel
Old
#6  
Vivek_Neel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 18,920
Posts: 7,309
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: chennai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rixon.d9 View Post
I believe that thread is about flashing NEAT ROM. I want to Change from NEAT ROM to POUND ROM 4.4. I guess it should be similar for any ROM. How Do I Change my kernel ?
neat aosp is also a kk one.

If u want to flash pound rom.

Then u just need to Flash pound rom instead of neat by following the steps

Steps are almost same

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
 
rixon.d9
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2013
Thanks guyz, Flashed POUND ROM. Just what to know why people speak about dorimax or Gustavo's kernel. Can I flash a kernel without using PC ? Also one more thing since now I have CWM 6.0.4.5 Can I flash any Kitkat ROM ?
 
Vivek_Neel
Old
#8  
Vivek_Neel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 18,920
Posts: 7,309
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: chennai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rixon.d9 View Post
Thanks guyz, Flashed POUND ROM. Just what to know why people speak about dorimax or Gustavo's kernel. Can I flash a kernel without using PC ? Also one more thing since now I have CWM 6.0.4.5 Can I flash any Kitkat ROM ?
Yes if its zip then u don't need a pc.

Just flash it without wipe

Dorimax is used for Dualbooting so people prefer that

Gustavo's kernel is one of the best known kernel for kk right now

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
 
rixon.d9
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Oct 2013
Thanks for helping me out, Well the main reason for me to flash a Kitkat Rom was because I was not able to login into my skype account using the android app. It says " Incorrect username/Password" . Well I re-installed skype serveral times but same error. The login details are absolutely correct because I can login using PC App and browser. My friend tried his ID and still problem seems to be with my app as I too can login on other phones. Thats when I started thinking maybe this is because of my ROM. Unfortunately after following this thread to flash POUND rom it still seems cant get skype working as same error appears .

Can someone help, Skype is very important app for me.

Do I need to open a new thread related to this for related responses?
 
la_malacoda
Old
#10  
la_malacoda's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,393
Posts: 804
Join Date: Jul 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rixon.d9 View Post
Thanks for helping me out, Well the main reason for me to flash a Kitkat Rom was because I was not able to login into my skype account using the android app. It says " Incorrect username/Password" . Well I re-installed skype serveral times but same error. The login details are absolutely correct because I can login using PC App and browser. My friend tried his ID and still problem seems to be with my app as I too can login on other phones. Thats when I started thinking maybe this is because of my ROM. Unfortunately after following this thread to flash POUND rom it still seems cant get skype working as same error appears .

Can someone help, Skype is very important app for me.

Do I need to open a new thread related to this for related responses?
Maybe there are some problems with older datas. You could try formatting internal sd with a PC :thumbup:

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes