Post Reply

[Q] Need help in Flashing New Rom.

OP rixon.d9

1st March 2014, 01:56 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
I want to use Kitkat ROM on my galaxy S2 GT i9100. Tried Supernexus and other Rom's but all failed to Install aborting Installation. Looked out for few sites still couldnt find genuine files.
Can someone please provide link to supernexus rom 4.4 and Gapps got GALAXY S2 GT i9100. current software NEAT ROM
Thanks
Last edited by rixon.d9; 1st March 2014 at 02:01 PM.
1st March 2014, 03:58 PM   |  #2  
Vivek_Neel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Flag chennai
Thanks Meter: 19,589
 
7,632 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rixon.d9

I want to use Kitkat ROM on my galaxy S2 GT i9100. Tried Supernexus and other Rom's but all failed to Install aborting Installation. Looked out for few sites still couldnt find genuine files.
Can someone please provide link to supernexus rom 4.4 and Gapps got GALAXY S2 GT i9100. current software NEAT ROM
Thanks

Search before posting mate

You have to use kk compatible kernel before flashing any kk rom.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Vivek_Neel For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st March 2014, 06:09 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivek_Neel

Search before posting mate

You have to use kk compatible kernel before flashing any kk rom.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Thanks for the tip mate I did some reading and found that I need to Flash CWM 6.0.4.5 or so. But somewhere I read about kernels. Can someone tell me the sequnce in which I should flash CWM, Kernel and ROM . Probably going for CWM 6.0.4.5 , Gustavo's kernel ( just because read somewhere its good ) and POUND ROM. Do I need to do all at once ?
Do I need a PC to flash these stuff ? I have a PC without admin priviliges so I can just download the files and copy to my SD card.
I know no one wants to feed spoon , I have done my homework need someone to show me the way to do it without me having to go through entire XDA pages.
Please help.
2nd March 2014, 03:22 AM   |  #4  
Vivek_Neel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Flag chennai
Thanks Meter: 19,589
 
7,632 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rixon.d9

Thanks for the tip mate I did some reading and found that I need to Flash CWM 6.0.4.5 or so. But somewhere I read about kernels. Can someone tell me the sequnce in which I should flash CWM, Kernel and ROM . Probably going for CWM 6.0.4.5 , Gustavo's kernel ( just because read somewhere its good ) and POUND ROM. Do I need to do all at once ?
Do I need a PC to flash these stuff ? I have a PC without admin priviliges so I can just download the files and copy to my SD card.
I know no one wants to feed spoon , I have done my homework need someone to show me the way to do it without me having to go through entire XDA pages.
Please help.

Ok.

Boot into recovery
Do a nandroid
Go to this thread and read the op 2nd post
Follow exactly the steps


Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
2nd March 2014, 06:46 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vivek_Neel

Ok.

Boot into recovery
Do a nandroid
Go to this thread and read the op 2nd post
Follow exactly the steps


Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

I believe that thread is about flashing NEAT ROM. I want to Change from NEAT ROM to POUND ROM 4.4. I guess it should be similar for any ROM. How Do I Change my kernel ?
2nd March 2014, 08:36 AM   |  #6  
Vivek_Neel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Flag chennai
Thanks Meter: 19,589
 
7,632 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rixon.d9

I believe that thread is about flashing NEAT ROM. I want to Change from NEAT ROM to POUND ROM 4.4. I guess it should be similar for any ROM. How Do I Change my kernel ?

neat aosp is also a kk one.

If u want to flash pound rom.

Then u just need to Flash pound rom instead of neat by following the steps

Steps are almost same

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
2nd March 2014, 08:50 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Thanks guyz, Flashed POUND ROM. Just what to know why people speak about dorimax or Gustavo's kernel. Can I flash a kernel without using PC ? Also one more thing since now I have CWM 6.0.4.5 Can I flash any Kitkat ROM ?
2nd March 2014, 08:52 AM   |  #8  
Vivek_Neel's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Flag chennai
Thanks Meter: 19,589
 
7,632 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rixon.d9

Thanks guyz, Flashed POUND ROM. Just what to know why people speak about dorimax or Gustavo's kernel. Can I flash a kernel without using PC ? Also one more thing since now I have CWM 6.0.4.5 Can I flash any Kitkat ROM ?

Yes if its zip then u don't need a pc.

Just flash it without wipe

Dorimax is used for Dualbooting so people prefer that

Gustavo's kernel is one of the best known kernel for kk right now

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
2nd March 2014, 10:29 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Thumbs down
Thanks for helping me out, Well the main reason for me to flash a Kitkat Rom was because I was not able to login into my skype account using the android app. It says " Incorrect username/Password" . Well I re-installed skype serveral times but same error. The login details are absolutely correct because I can login using PC App and browser. My friend tried his ID and still problem seems to be with my app as I too can login on other phones. Thats when I started thinking maybe this is because of my ROM. Unfortunately after following this thread to flash POUND rom it still seems cant get skype working as same error appears .

Can someone help, Skype is very important app for me.

Do I need to open a new thread related to this for related responses?
2nd March 2014, 07:03 PM   |  #10  
la_malacoda's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,482
 
855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rixon.d9

Thanks for helping me out, Well the main reason for me to flash a Kitkat Rom was because I was not able to login into my skype account using the android app. It says " Incorrect username/Password" . Well I re-installed skype serveral times but same error. The login details are absolutely correct because I can login using PC App and browser. My friend tried his ID and still problem seems to be with my app as I too can login on other phones. Thats when I started thinking maybe this is because of my ROM. Unfortunately after following this thread to flash POUND rom it still seems cant get skype working as same error appears .

Can someone help, Skype is very important app for me.

Do I need to open a new thread related to this for related responses?

Maybe there are some problems with older datas. You could try formatting internal sd with a PC :thumbup:

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes