Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to delete OJSC Mobile Telesystems?

OP SwannyBhoy

24th March 2012, 02:15 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I installed a lovely new rom (AGABEY) and went onto Play Store and noticed there was an app called MTC by OJSC Mobile Telesystems.

I understand it may be down to either Samsung or the Developer of the rom to query this but I searched and had no joy.

Has any one came across this and managed to remove it?
24th March 2012, 02:33 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwannyBhoy

I installed a lovely new rom (AGABEY) and went onto Play Store and noticed there was an app called MTC by OJSC Mobile Telesystems.

I understand it may be down to either Samsung or the Developer of the rom to query this but I searched and had no joy.

Has any one came across this and managed to remove it?

if you're rooted, you can freeze or uninstall it via titanium backup
24th March 2012, 02:50 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,425
 
23,044 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
That would be the app for Russia only would it ???

Been listed since GB 2.3.3 .

http://www.appbrain.com/app/%D0%BC%D...0/com.seven.Z7

jje
Last edited by JJEgan; 24th March 2012 at 08:51 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to JJEgan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th March 2012, 08:45 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Me too.
This came up for me too, last night, but I'm running stock Touchwiz/gingerbread 2.3.3.
I've rooted and unlocked my phone and have Clockworkmod but that's it.

Phone is a gt-i9100m running KG2. Carrier is Virgin Canada.
I'm more concerned about why this is came up. The app of course wants every permission in the book. Has my carrier, or phone, been compromised?
I'm super paranoid about giving Superuser. The only app with an automatic Accept is Terminal Emulator. So it's not some rogue root usage causing this.
25th March 2012, 02:26 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Turns out this is a bug in the market, where carrier-provided apps on your phone will confuse the market into thinking they are a different, existing Market application.
Unsure whether doing this update would replace the carrier-provided app, whichever it is, with this strange Russian one..

Google "Karoges" for more details on a similar issue, where a test app shows up in place of the stock Samsung video player.

Regardless of whether this is harmless or a potential vector for attack, it needs to be resolved on Google Play's end. I submitted a Bug feedback, please do the same if you come across this!
Last edited by scott_karana; 25th March 2012 at 02:47 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to scott_karana For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th March 2012, 12:31 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_karana

Turns out this is a bug in the market, where carrier-provided apps on your phone will confuse the market into thinking they are a different, existing Market application.
Unsure whether doing this update would replace the carrier-provided app, whichever it is, with this strange Russian one..

Google "Karoges" for more details on a similar issue, where a test app shows up in place of the stock Samsung video player.

Regardless of whether this is harmless or a potential vector for attack, it needs to be resolved on Google Play's end. I submitted a Bug feedback, please do the same if you come across this!

I noticed that test app aswell. I tried a few apps with freezing. (Rom Toolbox) but that didn't display it. I will give Titanium a go but I have a feeling it won't display the two apps (Unless you have had success then thank you!).

Only time you really notice it is when your on the new Google Play with the two options in "My Apps". "Installed" and "All".
25th March 2012, 01:01 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,425
 
23,044 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I have not seen it since 2.3.3 but then again i have no stock rom since then .

Is it actually on your phone if so it should be locatable on a rooted phone .

jje
25th March 2012, 06:10 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
I'm experiencing the samr issue... Can't uninstall it even with Titanium Backup, it does not appear in the apps intalled list....

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
26th March 2012, 02:50 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Google Play has opened an incident ID for me. No reply let but I'll let you know of any developments!
The Following User Says Thank You to scott_karana For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2012, 04:08 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
i got the same app in "MyApps" list. What I did I removed the "AP apps" by Samsung from Titanum Backup and the OJSC Mobile TeleMarkting is gone.

The Following User Says Thank You to fer5437 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes