5,604,859 Members 33,469 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to flash the SiyahKernel

Tip us?
 
jorricks
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 83
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default [Q] How to flash the SiyahKernel

Hello
I'm new into the world of flashing and rooting.
So I want to make my phone last longer and have it rooted.
I actually laid my eye's on the Siyahkernel and it looks really good.
So my question.
How to flash the Siyahkernel into my stock android version?
(Android-version 4.0.3 Baseband-version: i9100BULP6)
Could you recommend me a good tutorial?

And would you recommend the program [root]Triangle away?

Thx for reading
 
ZACQ8
Old
(Last edited by ZACQ8; 23rd April 2012 at 02:34 PM.)
#2  
ZACQ8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 538
Posts: 1,172
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kuwait

 
DONATE TO ME
Siyah kernel is really appreciated and accepted by the people, but it is recently reported some problem with ICS Siyah kernel which is in Beta stage now,

so it is recommended to use CF-root for rooting your device first, then you can later on flash your favourite kernels.

Checkout CF-root thread link in my signature.

also refere Guide for ODIN flash,

Feel free to ask if you are not clear

You have to match the version code with your current kernel version, not the Baseband vesrion, to select the appropreate CF-root
LOVE FOR ALL HATRED FOR NONE

Mine : Ph: SGS4 (OLD BL); ROM: latest SHOStock 4.4.2 + Jeboo's Z-pached Kernel

Wife's : Ph: SXZ1 (6903) Locked BL ROM : NUT's 14.2.A.1.136 [Root & XZDR][LB/UB]
The Following User Says Thank You to ZACQ8 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jorricks
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 83
Join Date: Mar 2012
Thanks for your help and your signature rocks ^^ keep it this way please
So I have to ask.
How big is the change that (when I use my PC normally and I do what the tutorial says) I brick my device? XD
 
rocky23
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 130
Posts: 823
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: hyderabad
yup many ppl ,i read thier prblm is some were related to kernel ,and the recent siyah kernels r not stable...so try neak or older versionss of siyah..
GALAXY S, GALAXY S2,STOCK 2.3.5 GB
520 APPS.. TARGET IS 555 APPS(PASSD IT)
NO OV,OC,TWEAKS..
MOTOROLA MILESTONE,APPLE 4S,APPLE IPAD,AND IT GOES ON

RECENT PHONE------GALAXY NOTE 2
4.1.2 JELLY BEAN , ROOTED"AUTO ROOT"

TECK ALWAYS GETS ME HIGH
 
jorricks
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 83
Join Date: Mar 2012
alright I'm going to flash the CF-Root kernel:
CF-Root-SGS2_BU_VOD_LPC-v5.4-CWM5.zip

Thx for your reply's
 
jashy67
Old
#6  
jashy67's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 201
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Strasbourg
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocky23 View Post
yup many ppl ,i read thier prblm is some were related to kernel ,and the recent siyah kernels r not stable...so try neak or older versionss of siyah..
Follow the Siyah's kernel thread, you would know that only one version (the rc6) had some weird "phone brick" issues which, we now know the reasons and the problem is fixed. The last 3.1 version is stable and works perfectly on my device , same thing for almost all users. Just wanted to moderate abit your comment .
The Following User Says Thank You to jashy67 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jorricks
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 83
Join Date: Mar 2012
well thanks for all your reply's
I installed the CF-root kernel and it workes
I will install the Siyahkernel when it gets a new feauture I need ;D
 
ZACQ8
Old
(Last edited by ZACQ8; 23rd April 2012 at 05:26 PM.)
#8  
ZACQ8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 538
Posts: 1,172
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kuwait

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorricks View Post
well thanks for all your reply's
I installed the CF-root kernel and it workes
I will install the Siyahkernel when it gets a new feauture I need ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorricks View Post
Thanks for your help and your signature rocks ^^ keep it this way please
So I have to ask.
How big is the change that (when I use my PC normally and I do what the tutorial says) I brick my device? XD
You are Welocme,
you told my signature rocks, but you forgot to write a thing on that
LOVE FOR ALL HATRED FOR NONE

Mine : Ph: SGS4 (OLD BL); ROM: latest SHOStock 4.4.2 + Jeboo's Z-pached Kernel

Wife's : Ph: SXZ1 (6903) Locked BL ROM : NUT's 14.2.A.1.136 [Root & XZDR][LB/UB]

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Microsoft Finally Brings Remote Desktop to Windows Phone

You may recall that back in October of last year, Microsoft released itsofficial … more

SideControl Gains New Powers through Xposed

You may recall that a little overa month ago, we first talked about SideCutsby XDA Forum … more

Leak Points to Windows Start Menu’s Return as Soon as August

About a month ago at this year’s Build conference, Microsoft … more

Wearables Walkthrough: Tasker on the Samsung Galaxy Gear – XDA Developer TV

The future certainly looks like it is full of wearables. … more