Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Image stuck on screen

OP heetesh22@gmail.com

12th March 2014, 11:29 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hi. I have the top part of my screen stuck. In fact, in the top part of watsapp(header with name) is stuck on the screen and appears beneath every other application opened that has a light background. I even formatted the phone, re installed android but its still there. How do I fix that?
12th March 2014, 11:35 AM   |  #2  
bhavstech's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 291
 
920 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by heetesh22@gmail.com

Hi. I have the top part of my screen stuck. In fact, in the top part of watsapp(header with name) is stuck on the screen and appears beneath every other application opened that has a light background. I even formatted the phone, re installed android but its still there. How do I fix that?

stramge does it even show when you boot in boot animation?
13th March 2014, 05:47 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhavstech

stramge does it even show when you boot in boot animation?

No. As I said it only appears on a pale background but not on darker colours. Any pale coloured app that opens on top of it, that area can be seen underneath the opened app. An app with a dark colour will cover the area and it is not visible. It's as if that part of the screen is frozen.
13th March 2014, 06:19 PM   |  #4  
bhavstech's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 291
 
920 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
maybe hardware issue show in service centre
14th March 2014, 12:34 PM   |  #5  
TheImpossibleEnemy's Avatar
Senior Member
Local Bubble
Thanks Meter: 129
 
323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
It sounds to me like it's that infamous oled burn-in case.If you leave a static image on screen for a long time,say,2/3 hours,it'll burn in and stay there as a faint ghost image and you can do nothing about it.Only screen replacement.
Just my 2 cents...
14th March 2014, 04:06 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheImpossibleEnemy

It sounds to me like it's that infamous oled burn-in case.If you leave a static image on screen for a long time,say,2/3 hours,it'll burn in and stay there as a faint ghost image and you can do nothing about it.Only screen replacement.
Just my 2 cents...

I think you best described what happened. And what exactly should me replaced, the digitizer? Is it worth replacing and about how much will it cost?
14th March 2014, 08:26 PM   |  #7  
TheImpossibleEnemy's Avatar
Senior Member
Local Bubble
Thanks Meter: 129
 
323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by heetesh22@gmail.com

I think you best described what happened. And what exactly should me replaced, the digitizer? Is it worth replacing and about how much will it cost?

LCD+ digitizer.
If you have a warranty - go for it,otherwise it'll cost you alot.
For me it cost 120$.
14th March 2014, 10:22 PM   |  #8  
FPSUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 293
 
1,660 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheImpossibleEnemy

It sounds to me like it's that infamous oled burn-in case.If you leave a static image on screen for a long time,say,2/3 hours,it'll burn in and stay there as a faint ghost image and you can do nothing about it.Only screen replacement.
Just my 2 cents...

seriously?
If I put an image staying for hours it can burn into my screen?
That sounds really weird..

Just looked it on the internet, now I'm afraid turning on my phone XD
Last edited by FPSUsername; 14th March 2014 at 10:25 PM.
14th March 2014, 11:16 PM   |  #9  
TheImpossibleEnemy's Avatar
Senior Member
Local Bubble
Thanks Meter: 129
 
323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreekBlood

seriously?
If I put an image staying for hours it can burn into my screen?
That sounds really weird..

Just looked it on the internet, now I'm afraid turning on my phone XD

yep,although i love this deep blacks and rich colors it delivers,this will be my last phone with amoled until these problems will be solved.
14th March 2014, 11:19 PM   |  #10  
FPSUsername's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 293
 
1,660 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheImpossibleEnemy

yep,although i love this deep blacks and rich colors it delivers,this will be my last phone with amoled until these problems will be solved.

I have a samsung wave with amoled, I think that one is a bit better (better dpi), but also better brightness & colors. I love amoled, it makes colors more alive.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes