5,595,000 Members 39,414 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Lost contacts in factory reset

Tip us?
 
Ashher Khan
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Nagpur
Phone Lost contacts in factory reset

I did a factory reset to my Samsung Galaxy S II (GT-I1900) as I was facing some performance issues. Unfortunately, did not take a backup & lost all my contacts (almost 1100). Now the issue is that I'm left without any contacts in my phone. Can someone please help me recovering lost contacts?

Few details -

The device is rooted & running on Cynogenmod 10.1.3
Tried almost every data recovery software available on the internet
Have an idea of querying the android contacts database using adb, but require some help with this.

Any assistance would help a lot.

Thanks!
 
Christian Nothing
Old
#2  
Christian Nothing's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5237
Posts: 5,063
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ⒸⓁⒶⓈⓈⒾⒻⒾⒺⒹ

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashher Khan View Post
I did a factory reset to my Samsung Galaxy S II (GT-I1900) as I was facing some performance issues. Unfortunately, did not take a backup & lost all my contacts (almost 1100). Now the issue is that I'm left without any contacts in my phone. Can someone please help me recovering lost contacts?

Few details -

The device is rooted & running on Cynogenmod 10.1.3
Tried almost every data recovery software available on the internet
Have an idea of querying the android contacts database using adb, but require some help with this.

Any assistance would help a lot.

Thanks!
you've introduced an google account at the first boot of the rom ?
if so retype that account and you'll have back your contacts as cm roms get all the contacts from your google account data base
 
Ashher Khan
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Nagpur
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian Nothing View Post
you've introduced an google account at the first boot of the rom ?
if so retype that account and you'll have back your contacts as cm roms get all the contacts from your google account data base
Thanks for your response. I tried syncing back from Google but it synced only those contacts (only email addresses) of people whom I've communicated over Gmail. No relevant contacts were recovered.
 
Christian Nothing
Old
#4  
Christian Nothing's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5237
Posts: 5,063
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ⒸⓁⒶⓈⓈⒾⒻⒾⒺⒹ

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashher Khan View Post
Thanks for your response. I tried syncing back from Google but it synced only those contacts (only email addresses) of people whom I've communicated over Gmail. No relevant contacts were recovered.
go to settings , accounts , press on your gaccount and in the sync area where is written contacts check that and it will resync all your contacts
 
Ashher Khan
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Nagpur
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian Nothing View Post
go to settings , accounts , press on your gaccount and in the sync area where is written contacts check that and it will resync all your contacts
The option is already "checked", but it doesn't seem to sync.
 
Christian Nothing
Old
#6  
Christian Nothing's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5237
Posts: 5,063
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ⒸⓁⒶⓈⓈⒾⒻⒾⒺⒹ

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashher Khan View Post
The option is already "checked", but it doesn't seem to sync.
try with this app
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ontactsSyncFix
 
Ashher Khan
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Nagpur
Thanks for the app mate, but it says "no broken contacts found". Nothing seems to be working in my case.
 
KingOfDope
Old
#8  
KingOfDope's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 276
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashher Khan View Post
Thanks for the app mate, but it says "no broken contacts found". Nothing seems to be working in my case.
Go to your contacts
- Click the menu button
- Click on import/export contacts
- import from sim (or other, your choice)


Here are some picture:



Hope it helped
-- I AM A FLASHOHOLIC --
 
Ashher Khan
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Nagpur
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingOfDope View Post
Go to your contacts
- Click the menu button
- Click on import/export contacts
- import from sim (or other, your choice)


Here are some picture:



Hope it helped
This could work only if I had a backup. As I said in the first post, I missed taking a backup. Thanks.
 
KingOfDope
Old
#10  
KingOfDope's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 276
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashher Khan View Post
This could work only if I had a backup. As I said in the first post, I missed taking a backup. Thanks.
okey, sorry man
-- I AM A FLASHOHOLIC --

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more