Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Odin Stuck at NAND Write Start

OP silv3rfox

9th February 2013, 01:25 AM   |  #21  
silv3rfox's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Orsay
Thanks Meter: 34
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:

I flashed this: http://www.hotfile.com/dl/190226031/...3_FOP.zip.html
In Odin the only thing selected was auto reboot. All other things were unselected(unthicked).
This is the Odin that i used: Odin3_v1.3.rar
Sry for my english.

Yeah it's the latest JB Stock Rom, tried it, still no pulse

Quote:

try all odins you can get your hands on

Tried Odin 1.7 and the 3.04, still no luck..

I'm not gonna flash a pit file, call me chicken but at least for now it can still reach download mode, maybe it'll make it easier for the guys at customer service to repair it.
I'm not sure if it's hardware or software, but so far after all this flashing this afternoon, I had enough, it's so frustrating that it's not getting past NAND Write Start! I'll try tomorrow morning before going out.

Quote:

OK, one thing is sure. Odin 1.3 does NOT work. It stucks earlier than other version of odin. Not even get to NAND write step

Tell me your updates my friend, I'm thinking of getting a used HTC One X after this, it'll cost me around 230 euros for a used one.
9th February 2013, 01:44 AM   |  #22  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Trying siyah 415 now with odin 1.85. Still no result.
Tried taking off the SD card, some fellows in other forum said it could interfere with the process, no luck.
Tried taking off SIM card, no luck.
What's the risk of using .PIT file?
With the cost of repairing here in Australia, I think I rather take a risk. It is so expensive I think I rather buy another phone if it failed
9th February 2013, 02:15 AM   |  #23  
gastonw's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,773
 
5,269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Okay then, here's the thing:

You are about to flash a pit file, this means that you're gonna flash a re-partition, hence you'll be dancing with your internal SD card as well.

You have to flash it via Odin, now, are you guys sure Odin really works or it's just a matter of something (usb, drivers, whatever) corrupted? That's a hell of a question you guys got there, what if Odin fails while flashing a pit file? You can start waving your device bah bye.

Read this, this, that and this before pit ball begins.

Here you got some stock ROMs.

Re-read this thread again.

My advice, at least, give it a final shot at flashing via Windoze (suggested by bungle) or check out this last thread(OP was able to get to recovery mode after a lot of flashing).
The Following User Says Thank You to gastonw For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th February 2013, 04:28 AM   |  #24  
Junior Member
Flag İstanbul
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
I have that problem too. But, only a few stock roms. I was able to flash Siyah Kernel 5.0.1 with Odin 1.85. On recovery mode (CWM), I had flashed custom rom (CM10.1) Then, I had installed Mobile Odin and mobile odin kernel. After installed, I had flashed Nordic 4.1.2 stock rom from ext sd card (.md5 files) with Odin Mobile. Now, my phone is working very well. But, I don't know about fixed or not fixed my Odin problem. Maybe my Odin problem still have.

Maybe, that problem due from selecting wrong section (PDA, BOOTLOADER, CSC...)
If there is only one rom file, you select only section of PDA. And re-partiton must unselected.
9th February 2013, 07:16 AM   |  #25  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
I just took it to local repair centre today. The guy tried to flash it but as I expected, no luck. I have tried another computer, another USB cable as well, so this confirms that mine is not USB, driver, or anything corrupted.

I am reading the threads you mentioned above and it looks like this is going to be complicated. If I understand this correctly, I'm going to need to use ADB tool to access the partition of my mobile. And I'm not sure whether this is possible since it is bricked and can't enter recovery mode.

Please guide me further on this
9th February 2013, 07:36 AM   |  #26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,210
 
7,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Honestly, sounds like the NAND is stuffed. MB replacement is the usual fix. Given you can still get into DL mode, this may help/you may be able to get it working on your phone. Don't ask me how to use it as I don't know because I've never needed to use it. Everything you need to know is in the thread (ask the creator of the tool if you have questions ?). It may enable you to identify bad blocks & you may be able to work around them/get the phone working. But understand this is indeed a long shot. Chances are you'll still need a new MB.
9th February 2013, 07:41 AM   |  #27  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MistahBungle

Honestly, sounds like the NAND is stuffed. MB replacement is the usual fix. Given you can still get into DL mode, this may help/you may be able to get it working on your phone. Don't ask me how to use it as I don't know because I've never needed to use it. Everything you need to know is in the thread (ask the creator of the tool if you have questions ?). It may enable you to identify bad blocks & you may be able to work around them/get the phone working. But understand this is indeed a long shot. Chances are you'll still need a new MB.

This scanner needs recovery mode. I only can get into download mode
9th February 2013, 07:51 AM   |  #28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,210
 
7,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
In that case you're borked. Service centre or get a MB from a phone with a broken screen/similar & either replace it yourself or pay a local mobile repair shop to do it.
9th February 2013, 08:08 AM   |  #29  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MistahBungle

In that case you're borked. Service centre or get a MB from a phone with a broken screen/similar & either replace it yourself or pay a local mobile repair shop to do it.

Went to local repair centre mate. They dont have a MB and told me to send to Samsung directly. I'm still trying to understand this PIT method, seemd there is a hope if I can do repartition
9th February 2013, 03:45 PM   |  #30  
silv3rfox's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Orsay
Thanks Meter: 34
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:

This scanner needs recovery mode. I only can get into download mode

Check this post
The OP said if you don't know which part of your SD card is screwed you have to try most of the pit files, starting from the lowest.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to silv3rfox For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes