Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Paranoid Android 4.4.2 nav bar

OP remcor2000

25th April 2014, 03:08 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I just flashed my I9100 with the latest beta5 PA4.
As my home button is dying I was wondering if I could install a on screen navbar separately.
Maybe its already integrated in the i9100 rom as its with the original Nexus versions, but couldnt find it. (thats why I am trying here )

Hope anyone can help me out, thanks in advance!!
26th April 2014, 12:56 AM   |  #2  
keithross39's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxford
Thanks Meter: 1,210
 
1,997 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
To the best of my knowledge, a built in nav bar has never been available as standard for the S2. If you flash a custom kernel that is compatible with an app called stweaks, you will find a nav bar option within the app......
As an alternative, you could try this standalone app.....
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...rbimc.udn.lite
All it needs is a rooted phone.
I REALLY would advise you to get that button fixed.....there WILL come a time when you are going to need it.....and at that point an onscreen nav bar is going to be about as much use as a chocolate teapot.....
Eg/ phone is bootlooping, and you need to access recovery or download with the button combo.....ain't gonna happen with a broken home button......

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to keithross39 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2014, 11:55 AM   |  #3  
andrewwright's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag east
Thanks Meter: 3,177
 
5,618 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
At the bottom of build.prop put this..
#softkey mod
qumu.hw.main key=0
Save and reboot.
Not sure about pa roms but this should bring up the stock nexus nar bar. But Keith is right and you should listen because you will need home button one day :thumbup:
Last edited by andrewwright; 26th April 2014 at 12:51 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to andrewwright For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2014, 04:19 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Thank you for your replies, I never thought about the fact going into recovery requires the button as well...
Might just fix it after all
26th April 2014, 05:16 PM   |  #5  
keithross39's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxford
Thanks Meter: 1,210
 
1,997 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Good choice mate, but I hope the phone is under warranty, because here is the kicker.....
The way Samsung designed the phone, to replace the home button, you have to remove the screen, and no two ways about it, removing the screen WILL break it.......

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2
The Following User Says Thank You to keithross39 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes