Post Reply

Phone freezing when making calls

3rd June 2012, 10:19 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
857 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
My wife has an S2 with stock ROM. It's unlocked, on a T-Mobile UK SIM. The phone is about 6 months old. There is a problem with the phone screen going blank and not responding to any button or screen presses when dialling a call. After 10-20 secs, sometimes longer, the phone starts responding again.
The problem has been around for a few months, but has got alot more frequent in the last few weeks.
The phone is running XWKI4, Kernel 2.6.35.7.
Does anyone know what might be causing this, and whether there is a fix?
4th June 2012, 03:54 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Karachi
Thanks Meter: 350
 
2,281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Save your data, do a full wipe, flash again using Odin.
4th June 2012, 04:22 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
You did UV?
This issue might be from how you UV. If you set the value to low, ur phone will not have enough power to run the tasks. So set value high on Set voltage tab might solve ur problem.
4th June 2012, 10:50 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
857 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Just to confirm - this phone is completely out-of-the-box. It's not rooted, ROM'd, underclocked/overclocked or anything. I want it to stay that way as it's my wife's phone. I was just wondering if anyone else had these problems with a vanilla S2, and whether it may need to go back for a warranty repair?
4th June 2012, 11:17 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Karachi
Thanks Meter: 350
 
2,281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Answer stays....
But you can try wiping using dial code first.
Save any pictures and videos on internal storage.
4th June 2012, 11:20 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
857 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Re-flash what using ODIN? I didn't flash this phone in the first place. I don't want to put a custom ROM on this phone.
4th June 2012, 09:00 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Karachi
Thanks Meter: 350
 
2,281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Who says custom ROM?

I try again, problem is you people ask but never do what told later...

Save you're picture/video
Using dialer dial *2767*3855#
It will wipe you're phone / factory reset.

If this don't help learn how to use Odin, get a stock ROM and flash using Odin.
Last edited by atifsh; 4th June 2012 at 09:04 PM.
4th June 2012, 09:03 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
857 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by atifsh

Who says custom ROM?

Then which ROM should I flash? Also, if the ROM and kernel are the same as when it was purchased then why would re-flashing a ROM help?
4th June 2012, 09:06 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Karachi
Thanks Meter: 350
 
2,281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by itm

Then which ROM should I flash? Also, if the ROM and kernel are the same as when it was purchased then why would re-flashing a ROM help?

Read post above
4th June 2012, 09:10 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
857 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by atifsh

Read post above

So far you've suggested "flash again using Odin" and "try wiping using dial code first". It would really help if you could suggest something specific, and maybe leave out the cryptic comments?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes