FORUMS

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

Phone freezing when making calls

918 posts
Thanks Meter: 10
 
By itm, Senior Member on 3rd June 2012, 10:19 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
My wife has an S2 with stock ROM. It's unlocked, on a T-Mobile UK SIM. The phone is about 6 months old. There is a problem with the phone screen going blank and not responding to any button or screen presses when dialling a call. After 10-20 secs, sometimes longer, the phone starts responding again.
The problem has been around for a few months, but has got alot more frequent in the last few weeks.
The phone is running XWKI4, Kernel 2.6.35.7.
Does anyone know what might be causing this, and whether there is a fix?
 
 
4th June 2012, 03:54 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Karachi
Thanks Meter: 368
 
More
Save your data, do a full wipe, flash again using Odin.
4th June 2012, 04:22 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
You did UV?
This issue might be from how you UV. If you set the value to low, ur phone will not have enough power to run the tasks. So set value high on Set voltage tab might solve ur problem.
4th June 2012, 10:50 AM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Just to confirm - this phone is completely out-of-the-box. It's not rooted, ROM'd, underclocked/overclocked or anything. I want it to stay that way as it's my wife's phone. I was just wondering if anyone else had these problems with a vanilla S2, and whether it may need to go back for a warranty repair?
4th June 2012, 11:17 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Karachi
Thanks Meter: 368
 
More
Answer stays....
But you can try wiping using dial code first.
Save any pictures and videos on internal storage.
4th June 2012, 11:20 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Re-flash what using ODIN? I didn't flash this phone in the first place. I don't want to put a custom ROM on this phone.
4th June 2012, 09:00 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Karachi
Thanks Meter: 368
 
More
Who says custom ROM?

I try again, problem is you people ask but never do what told later...

Save you're picture/video
Using dialer dial *2767*3855#
It will wipe you're phone / factory reset.

If this don't help learn how to use Odin, get a stock ROM and flash using Odin.
Last edited by atifsh; 4th June 2012 at 09:04 PM.
4th June 2012, 09:03 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by atifsh

Who says custom ROM?

Then which ROM should I flash? Also, if the ROM and kernel are the same as when it was purchased then why would re-flashing a ROM help?
4th June 2012, 09:06 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Karachi
Thanks Meter: 368
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by itm

Then which ROM should I flash? Also, if the ROM and kernel are the same as when it was purchased then why would re-flashing a ROM help?

Read post above
4th June 2012, 09:10 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by atifsh

Read post above

So far you've suggested "flash again using Odin" and "try wiping using dial code first". It would really help if you could suggest something specific, and maybe leave out the cryptic comments?
4th June 2012, 09:28 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Karachi
Thanks Meter: 368
 
More
How specific you want?

I even write the code which will do wiping for you.

And than I said if that fails learn how to use Odin to flash stock ROM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes