Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,940 Members 46,665 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Phone freezing when making calls

Tip us?
 
itm
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 848
Join Date: Jan 2007
Default Phone freezing when making calls

My wife has an S2 with stock ROM. It's unlocked, on a T-Mobile UK SIM. The phone is about 6 months old. There is a problem with the phone screen going blank and not responding to any button or screen presses when dialling a call. After 10-20 secs, sometimes longer, the phone starts responding again.
The problem has been around for a few months, but has got alot more frequent in the last few weeks.
The phone is running XWKI4, Kernel 2.6.35.7.
Does anyone know what might be causing this, and whether there is a fix?
 
atifsh
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 348
Posts: 2,265
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Karachi
Save your data, do a full wipe, flash again using Odin.
 
noalkecodoc
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default You did UV?

This issue might be from how you UV. If you set the value to low, ur phone will not have enough power to run the tasks. So set value high on Set voltage tab might solve ur problem.
 
itm
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 848
Join Date: Jan 2007
Just to confirm - this phone is completely out-of-the-box. It's not rooted, ROM'd, underclocked/overclocked or anything. I want it to stay that way as it's my wife's phone. I was just wondering if anyone else had these problems with a vanilla S2, and whether it may need to go back for a warranty repair?
 
atifsh
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 348
Posts: 2,265
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Karachi
Answer stays....
But you can try wiping using dial code first.
Save any pictures and videos on internal storage.
 
itm
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 848
Join Date: Jan 2007
Re-flash what using ODIN? I didn't flash this phone in the first place. I don't want to put a custom ROM on this phone.
 
atifsh
Old
(Last edited by atifsh; 4th June 2012 at 09:04 PM.)
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 348
Posts: 2,265
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Karachi
Who says custom ROM?

I try again, problem is you people ask but never do what told later...

Save you're picture/video
Using dialer dial *2767*3855#
It will wipe you're phone / factory reset.

If this don't help learn how to use Odin, get a stock ROM and flash using Odin.
 
itm
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 848
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by atifsh View Post
Who says custom ROM?
Then which ROM should I flash? Also, if the ROM and kernel are the same as when it was purchased then why would re-flashing a ROM help?
 
atifsh
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 348
Posts: 2,265
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Karachi
Quote:
Originally Posted by itm View Post
Then which ROM should I flash? Also, if the ROM and kernel are the same as when it was purchased then why would re-flashing a ROM help?
Read post above
 
itm
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 848
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by atifsh View Post
Read post above
So far you've suggested "flash again using Odin" and "try wiping using dial code first". It would really help if you could suggest something specific, and maybe leave out the cryptic comments?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes