FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

PLEASE help! The phone doesn't turn on neither charges!

111 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By guyman20, Senior Member on 2nd February 2014, 04:58 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,
I wasn't doing anything special with the phone, but it was acting weird - didn't allow me to make calls, hang them up in the middle, and restarted the phone, until it didn't turn on again.
It's now completely black, connecting to charger doesn't do anything either.
I tried different batteries, didn't help.

update:
After putting the battery in and trying to turn it on, even though nothing is visible - the phone gets warmer after few minutes.
I'm pretty sure it's not the screen because I would've hear the opening sound and feel the vibration..

Please help!
Thank you
Last edited by guyman20; 2nd February 2014 at 05:33 PM.
 
 
2nd February 2014, 05:47 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,221
 
More
Nobody here can help you with a hardware issue, you should know that having been here for as long as you have. Service centre or local mobile repair shop for diagnosis.
2nd February 2014, 06:23 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I already saw posts here with the same problem and some suggestions to solutions from other users.
Thought somebody here might try to give an idea so I'll know better when I go to the repair center.
2nd February 2014, 06:37 PM |#4  
bhavstech's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 357
 
More
Does it boot in recovery (home+ volume up+power) then wipe data factory reset if it boots in download mode(home+vol down+power) the download stock tar and flash it via odin otherwise hardware issue

Sent from my C6502 using xda app-developers app
3rd February 2014, 04:50 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,221
 
More
^^^^
'until it didn't turn on again. It's now completely black, connecting to charger doesn't do anything either'

Why won't people read OP/threads before sprouting nonsense on here.

OP - There's been one poster on here who seems to think this issue might be solvable by replacing the 'power IC' (whatever that is) on the motherboard, but the normal fix (if you want it fixed guaranteed) is to replace the motherboard. Reason being, if there's more than one component dead on the motherboard, you're going to pay twice - once for the individual component replacement which doesn't fix the problem, and again to replace the motherboard which will fix the problem.

Better to do it right first time.
The Following User Says Thank You to MistahBungle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th February 2014, 09:14 AM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Went to the service center
I gave it to the service center, they said it's a serious short circuit and they're probably going to have to "JTAG it".

I asked them if there is any way to save my information before they do that, they said no.
My question is to you - do you agree? Or can you think of a way to backup the phone before that?
Isn't there a way to read the memory using an external device and back it up?

I need a quick reply.

Thank you
7th February 2014, 09:23 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,221
 
More
Nope, if you don't have it backed up, no chance. Although, there's a very slim chance a company that specialises in recovery of data from dead hard drives might be able to. Expect this to be very expensive if it is at all possible.

Also, there's a fair chance a JTAG won't work as well, it's quite possible only a motherboard replacement will fix it. But you might be lucky.
7th February 2014, 09:27 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thank you for your quick reply
13th February 2014, 09:40 AM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Another update
Hi,
There's another update - they now say they need to replace "power component".
Google search didn't find anything called "power component".
They also said that replacing that component will cause the data to be lose.
What do you think?
Thanks
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes