Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,560 Members 52,953 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Problem with menu button

Tip us?
 
ar.anmolrawat
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 74
Join Date: Sep 2013
Exclamation [Q] Problem with menu button

I am on resurrection rom 5.0.5 (kitkat 4.2.2)
Everything was working fine but suddenly the menu button has gone all crazy. Whenever I hit the menu button, it sends me to the screen displaying get google now. I tried reflashing rom and reflashing gapps. but no use. Can anyone help me sort out this problem?
 
Paul_Kolanjian
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 71
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Zahlah
Quote:
Originally Posted by ar.anmolrawat View Post
I am on resurrection rom 5.0.5 (kitkat 4.2.2)
Everything was working fine but suddenly the menu button has gone all crazy. Whenever I hit the menu button, it sends me to the screen displaying get google now. I tried reflashing rom and reflashing gapps. but no use. Can anyone help me sort out this problem?
Try using CyanogenMod 11, SlimKat, OmniRom, Cyanfox, BeeanStalk, or any other KitKat based ROM just to make sure whether Resurrection Remix was causing the weird problem. If using a new ROM didn't solve your issue and you feel that the menu button is damaged, simply use a rom which supports a Navigation Bar to replace your hardware Navigation buttons. Good luck pal
 
flasherruts
Old
#3  
flasherruts's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 263
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Mumbai
are you sure ypu are not long pressing the button ? check you settings under buttons if you have by mistake set any custom actions for your buttons .. all the best and happy flashing
WHY BE A KING ?! WHEN YOU CAN BE A GOD !
 
keithross39
Old
(Last edited by keithross39; 25th March 2014 at 07:11 PM.)
#4  
keithross39's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,202
Posts: 1,992
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oxford
Forget about software tweaks that replace the physical buttons, These virtual buttons are only ever going to be any use as a backup for physical buttons...and then ONLY if you have a fully functional phone......
Get the button replaced......
If you end up in a bootloop, you'll need to access recovery or download to sort it out......a "virtual" button ain't gonna help at that point............

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2
 
robneymcplum
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 372
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithross39 View Post
Forget about software tweaks that replace the physical buttons, These virtual buttons are only ever going to be any use as a backup for physical buttons...and then ONLY if you have a fully functional phone......
Get the button replaced......
If you end up in a bootloop, you'll need to access recovery or download to sort it out......a "virtual" button ain't gonna help at that point............

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2
Are we talking about the touchscreen menu button or the physical home button?
 
keithross39
Old
#6  
keithross39's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,202
Posts: 1,992
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oxford
Quote:
Originally Posted by robneymcplum View Post
Are we talking about the touchscreen menu button or the physical home button?
Looks like this time I read it wrong.....
I think he's on about the capacitive touch button on the bottom left of the phone......NOT needed for recovery or download modes......

Sent from my Markox powered KitKatted S2
 
ar.anmolrawat
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 74
Join Date: Sep 2013
Hey. Thank you guys. I sorted out that problem. I did not recieve notification so sorry for late reply. I don't know how but the function was changed for short press of capacitive button. Its all good now.

Once again. Thank you

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more

Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more