Post Reply

Q HSPDA plus crap speed

11th September 2011, 12:25 PM   |  #1  
mancuk29's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 114
 
1,329 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
IM now getting h+ in manchester, I thought this was suppose to improve speed , I'm getting same speeds as on h ... ANY idea why, I'm on 3UK on a UN branded handset


Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
11th September 2011, 05:17 PM   |  #2  
mancuk29's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 114
 
1,329 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Anyone ? What speed should I get on h+ ?

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
11th September 2011, 05:28 PM   |  #3  
freemini's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stavanger
Thanks Meter: 150
 
959 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
I got 750kb/s download on 3 bar H+. I'm gonna test on the area I got most with my iPhone 4. Most I got on 3G was 500kb/s 5 bars.
11th September 2011, 05:34 PM   |  #4  
mancuk29's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 114
 
1,329 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
IM glad in not only one thanks according to internet should be 21mb download I dont even get that on my broadband

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
11th September 2011, 06:54 PM   |  #5  
cr0wnest's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 79
 
720 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
There is actually not much of a difference in speed, not most of the time at least.. Don't let the + in HSPA+ fool you. I too don't see any difference in speed between + and no + :P and i'm from Singapore.

Sent from my non-Apple device via XDA App
11th September 2011, 07:34 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 3
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
the H+ doesnt have to indicate a higher speed, higher speeds are possible with that yes, however it just shows that the network in that area has been upgraded.. speeds are much more dependent on how many many users are currently using that cell tower etc, and for sure you're ISP capped the speeds well well under the advertised 21Mbps that is "possible" on the technology...
11th September 2011, 08:52 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Bratislava
Thanks Meter: 135
 
236 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Well I have experience with both H+ and H and I can say that with my operator H is much much faster and I usually get H+ outside of the city in villages etc...
I live in the capital city of my country so I am pretty sure they would use + in the city if it was faster instead of the countryside.

With H I usually get from 10 to 14mbps
With H+ 300-900 kbps max

But, of course I'm not an expert, so it may be just my ISP being crazy, or testing h+ on small scale, but why would it be slower ? questions questions questions !
Last edited by xeq544; 11th September 2011 at 08:58 PM.
11th September 2011, 10:02 PM   |  #8  
mancuk29's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 114
 
1,329 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
thanks i got all excited when i saw the plus today

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
11th September 2011, 10:03 PM   |  #9  
mancuk29's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Manchester
Thanks Meter: 114
 
1,329 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xeq544

Well I have experience with both H+ and H and I can say that with my operator H is much much faster and I usually get H+ outside of the city in villages etc...
I live in the capital city of my country so I am pretty sure they would use + in the city if it was faster instead of the countryside.

With H I usually get from 10 to 14mbps
With H+ 300-900 kbps max

But, of course I'm not an expert, so it may be just my ISP being crazy, or testing h+ on small scale, but why would it be slower ? questions questions questions !

where are u to get upto 14mb ? i only get 10 on my proper broadband

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
12th September 2011, 08:52 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I think there are two parts to the answer:-

1) Your phone's setup. There are various posts/threads here about possible "tweaks" such as disabling fast dormancy, editing system files etc.

2) Your service provider's upload/download data rate capping. Personally I find it scandalous that most providers have a hidden data rate cap on their users. They are upfront about the total data limits, but tend to hide the hidden rate cap somewhere behind their "Acceptable Use" policies.

Therefore even if you tweak your settings, you may well be further limited by your provider. I suggest you search this forum and the www for information on this practice and how you might be able to have data rate caps lifted or altered.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes