FORUMS

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Making Your Own Xposed Modules Is Easier Than You Think

Close to the heart of XDA is the Xposed Framework by Rovo89. Most of … more

[READ THIS] Got a Boot Loop? Don't post a New Thread!

19,400 posts
Thanks Meter: 11,363
 
By pulser_g2, Developer Admin / Senior Recognized Developer on 3rd June 2011, 09:53 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
OK so it seems a lot of people are having issues with boot loops when they are messing around with things. First thing. Your phone is NOT bricked or broken.

It's just unable to start due to something missing or broken. Don't panic, there's no issue. I did this the day I got my phone, and there was nobody to "help" as such, so I just fixed it myself.

These are the steps to fix a boot loop. If you do this correctly, it WILL fix it. But you must do it EXACTLY to the letter.

So here we go...

1) Turn off your phone. Unplug it from your computer etc

2) Hold down home, power, and volume UP. This will enter recovery mode. If you are using CF-Root, you'll get CWM recovery. If not, you get stock recovery. It doesn't matter which appears.

3) Choose to wipe user data from the menu.

4) Turn off the phone by long-pressing the power button.

5) Prepare ODIN on your PC by using task manager to kill any KIES processes, then open ODIN.

6) Put your phone into download mode (home + power + volume down)

7) Plug your phone into the computer using the factory USB cable. The leftmost box should go yellow and an ID number will appear.

8) Flash a stock ROM from those available in ODIN format, and the phone will boot correctly.

Alternatively, it is possible to flash VillainROM 1.1 if you are not comfortable in wiping via recovery, or if you cannot do so for any reason (corrupted kernel etc), as it wipes all users data when installing. Simply ignore steps 2 to 4, and flash VillainROM 1.1 via ODIN instead of the stock ROM.

Any questions about boot loops? Ask them here rather than making new threads.

Adding a nice little video from user "dullah"

Last edited by pulser_g2; 2nd September 2011 at 01:55 PM.
The Following 113 Users Say Thank You to pulser_g2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
3rd June 2011, 09:59 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Most Easterly Point of England
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Great instructions, I wish I had these 2 nights ago.
Thanks
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to greigster For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd June 2011, 01:09 PM |#3  
darkstar09's Avatar
Member
Flag Timaru
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by greigster

Great instructions, I wish I had these 2 nights ago.
Thanks

Yea me too
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to darkstar09 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th June 2011, 02:52 PM |#4  
Member
Flag Naples
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Thumbs up TNX !
You're a great, I risked a heart attack!
The Following User Says Thank You to axt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th June 2011, 04:06 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
noted with thx, I wish i had the correct instruction 3 days ago.
one more question, do we have to do one more step to flash the stock kernel after we flash the stock rom?
The Following User Says Thank You to urmybaby For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th June 2011, 07:10 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
I plug the phone into the pc, but my drivers dont seem to be working it fails to be recognised. I tried with another Galaxy S II, and this phone does appear on the pc. Im thinking its because my phone isnt in download mode?

Any ideas?
5th June 2011, 01:35 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Newcastle
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Legend, thank god for this topic
The Following User Says Thank You to mitchell.tamsett2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th June 2011, 02:46 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Filed under "Need to have handy!"
The Following User Says Thank You to knitterb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th June 2011, 03:17 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,492
 
More
You can also try just 1 2 3 & 4 and see if phone boots .
Its done just that for me as i try to clear a bootloop from a wipe to stock .


jje
5th June 2011, 05:16 PM |#10  
(.)'s Avatar
Senior Member
Galaxy>Earth
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
Wink
I had it myself and i was pretty happy that i uses the backup function from recoverymode cwm.

I would really really recommend that u use this BEFORE doing any critical changes to your phone.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to (.) For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th June 2011, 03:26 PM |#11  
jody2k's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Veurne / Ghent (Belgium)
Thanks Meter: 269
 
More
I have a Boot loop after doing a full reset, It was installed with lightning rom

Now Odin doesnt recognize my phone, thats bacause i'm on other computer now (havnt installed the drivers jet)... i tried installing kies 2.0, didnt help... any suggestions?

Edit: is there no manually way to install you phone on you computer with manual drivers or something.... it's bacause odin still doesnt recognize my phone

EDIT2: I fixed my problem, for everyone that had same issue: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=961956 => these drivers work
Last edited by jody2k; 6th June 2011 at 03:57 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes