5,600,919 Members 42,716 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] s2 vs s3 gaming

Tip us?
 
i9100g user
Old
(Last edited by i9100g user; 9th December 2013 at 12:02 PM.)
#11  
i9100g user's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 1,732
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by amdultra View Post
it's faster because it's overclocked. You better read anandtech galaxy s2 international review about mali gpu architecture, all the answer for your question is in there.
You can overclock s2 like s3 to 440mhz ,but it won't yield same results due to thermal/power constraints (45nm vs 32nm)
Also mali400(in s3) can be over clocked to 700mhz stably which shows that there is a lot of headroom left in s3.

Everything aside,my point is S3 scores more than S2 in on screen Gfxbench which does prove that S3 does better than S2 in reality.
(This is what OP asked)
 

Device: Galaxy S3 3G ,GT-I9300
CPU:Exynos 4412 Prime (Binned AS4) ,200-1000Mhz,UV,ZZMOVE battery governor
GPU:Mali 400MP4,54-350Mhz,UV
ROM:Temasek CM11 ,Art runtime.
Kernel: Devil kernel 2
 
amdultra
Old
(Last edited by amdultra; 10th December 2013 at 03:50 AM.)
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 156
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ian619420 View Post
if you overclock s2 gpu would it be on par with s3 gaming performence? or is quad core s3 better than dual core s2 when it comes to high end games. cause i seen asphalt 8 lag on s3 while it didnt on s2
Quote:
Originally Posted by i9100g user View Post
You can overclock s2 like s3 to 440mhz ,but it won't yield same results due to thermal/power constraints (45nm vs 32nm)
Also mali400(in s3) can be over clocked to 700mhz stably which shows that there is a lot of headroom left in s3.

Everything aside,my point is S3 scores more than S2 in on screen Gfxbench which does prove that S3 does better than S2 in reality.
(This is what OP asked)
 

Device: Galaxy S3 3G ,GT-I9300
CPU:Exynos 4412 Prime (Binned AS4) ,200-1000Mhz,UV,ZZMOVE battery governor
GPU:Mali 400MP4,54-350Mhz,UV
ROM:Temasek CM11 ,Art runtime.
Kernel: Devil kernel 2
it may be better in benchmark, but the fill rate still not enough for the 720p screen,especially in real life case.

maybe you can overclock the gpu to 533mhz, play asphalt 8 in max setting and share the fps perfomance

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=im_w-EZifjU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LorZHr9MErk
 
i9100g user
Old
(Last edited by i9100g user; 10th December 2013 at 02:22 PM.)
#13  
i9100g user's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 1,732
Join Date: Dec 2011
Looking at the date it was posted (that video) that s3 must have been running old 4.1 firmware.
performance has increased by ~30% in GPU benchmarks and
maybe even more in real gaming from 4.2 onwards (which have the latest Mali drivers).
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2124093

I am done with gaming right now but from my experience ,with latest Mali drivers asphalt 8 was smooth(Maxed out) except for one stage which was I think was the Tokyo race where fps averaged about 20fps (S2 lagged in that stage too).
And rip tide GP2 was smooth throughout with no lag and fps averaged around 52 (used fps meter from play store )
Gaming was a pain before 4.2 ,but right now it isn't for the most part(CPU throttling down to 800mhz )
No other game in my memory lagged usually I keep CPU at 1300mhz and with some undervolting (to decrease throttling )
and GPU at 350mhz (that's right Riptide GP2 was smooth at the frequency) but for asphalt 8 440-533mhz and maybe 700mhz when I come across a game which really lags.(Again 700mhz is stable ,no crashes or instability only battery drains pretty fast.)
Actually fillrate has been the strong part for Mali 400 gpu.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

TasGear: A Tasker Extension for the Samsung Galaxy Gear

With wearable technology taking center stage this year, one can only expect more … more

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more