FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

cannot safely connect to server [emails]

113 posts
Thanks Meter: 30
 
By adithebratt, Senior Member on 26th October 2011, 06:54 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
hi guys can anyone help suddenly i cannot mail anyone from my yahoo account i get error cannot safely connect to server(not trusted server certificate)
i tried to remove the account and set it up again but now its not even setting it up and giving the error(java.security.cert.certpathvalidatorExceptio n:trust anchor for certification path not found)

my gmail is working fine
Last edited by adithebratt; 26th October 2011 at 06:56 AM.
 
 
26th October 2011, 09:27 AM |#2  
It_ler's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 16,124
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adithebratt

hi guys can anyone help suddenly i cannot mail anyone from my yahoo account i get error cannot safely connect to server(not trusted server certificate)
i tried to remove the account and set it up again but now its not even setting it up and giving the error(java.security.cert.certpathvalidatorExceptio n:trust anchor for certification path not found)

my gmail is working fine

What are the exact settings for your yahoo account?
I do not mean your email and password ... that should be on your side only.
I mean server, port, protocol, etc.
Did you configured it as premium (IMAP) or POP3 or Microsoft Exchange Active Synch?
Which security type have you selected (no, SSL, TLS, ...)?

You can specify all this settings in manual config.

I think that Yahoo only supports POP3 (pop.mail.yahoo.com) for incoming and SMTP (smtp.mail.yahoo.com) for outgoing mails.
But I am not sure as I do not have a Yahoo mail account.

If your Yahoo mail synchronization worked before, you have enabled SMTP already at Yahoo for your account.
But what happened that this does not work any more?
Have you changed a special setting, another account, firmware, installed or un-installed an app?

Sometimes it is helpful to wipe the cache in recovery mode (Volume UP + Home + Power).

Good luck !
26th October 2011, 02:06 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag mumbai
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Yes i updated my firmware frm 2.3.3 to 2.3.5 last week and actualy never used my yahoo after that so do know when it started today i tried to mail but it gave error sending failed not a secure conection so i deleted the acount and tried to setup up again now its just not seting up giving me error i mentioned before i tried all settings imap pop3 ticked accept all ssl certificate n saw bt no use it says unable to connect


P.s :gmail is working fine
26th October 2011, 02:52 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Flag mumbai
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
I installed k-9 app and it easily setup my yahoo acount and i can mail through it too dont know what went wrong with the default application(social hub)
stil i would like to know what went wrong if anyone could help
26th October 2011, 04:03 PM |#5  
fred_up's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
I know this may sound stupid, but can you get into the Yahoo account via the web (on the phone or PC)? At least this will confirm you have the correct username/email address and password.

What server settings did you put in?
26th October 2011, 05:52 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag mumbai
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Brother i said i can access now via k9 but still not via the default social hub and yes i can acces through pc and mobile browser too
i tried all the possible settings in the social hub like pop3; imap ;ssl certificate on; accept all ssl certificate but no use so currently i m using k9


i think it has to do something with the certificate validation as the error says so but i dont know the solution to it

p.s : phone not rooted
Last edited by adithebratt; 26th October 2011 at 06:11 PM.
26th October 2011, 07:43 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Had the same error today. Read somewhere to change the Yahoo account's outgoing settings on the phone to SSL with accept all certificates, but that didn't help. So I changed security type to None, and all mail starting flowing out of the outbox again. Guess next time I get the error I'll change back to SSL...
27th October 2011, 05:29 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag mumbai
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
I cant change the outgoing settings of server unless i login and i cant setup only the yahoo account so i dnt get option of manuly editing outgoing server
15th December 2011, 11:37 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Flag Rochester
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Exclamation
This is an SSL problem, android does not always include all chained root certificates.

You will still get an error like this:

Cannot safely connect to server.
(java.security.InvalidAlforithmParameterException: trusteAnchors.isEmpty())
Certificate chain[0]:
Subject: CN=(SSL common name here), OU=Domain Control Validated - RapidSSL(R), OU=See
etc...

This needs to be fixed in the build.

I get this problem running latest android 2.3.7, CM7 with SavagedZen Kernel

Would love a fix so I can use SSL again.
17th February 2012, 12:46 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Juststarted receiving this error message TODAY. No changes or updates to anything on my phone...anybody know how to fix this.
17th February 2012, 01:50 AM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I also starting getting this today (Cox email). Changing the SSL option to "SSL (Accept all certificates)" fixed it for me.
The Following User Says Thank You to mmustain For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes