TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more
Post Reply

Storage always "Calculating"

OP zkibz

21st December 2013, 01:29 PM   |  #1  
zkibz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Hi,

This problem happened to me long time ago and I can't remember when this starts. When I go to Settings - > Storage -> All shows Calculating and nothing happened. It doesn't show the exact memory used.

Anyone can help me on this? I can't find solution
21st December 2013, 03:18 PM   |  #2  
immortalneo's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Malappuram, Kerala
Thanks Meter: 1,640
 
4,430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Tried rebooting, waiting for 10 mins and then checking again?

"To err is human, to forgive is divine."
Sent from my SGS II
21st December 2013, 07:13 PM   |  #3  
bhavstech's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 260
 
857 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
wipe cache from recovery if still there then clean install the rom if u dont wanna loose data use titanium backup or maybe it may b a bug in the rom u r using
22nd December 2013, 10:59 AM   |  #4  
zkibz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Does not work. Still the same. Install new ROM. Fresh install but still the same.
22nd December 2013, 02:32 PM   |  #5  
immortalneo's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Malappuram, Kerala
Thanks Meter: 1,640
 
4,430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zkibz

Does not work. Still the same. Install new ROM. Fresh install but still the same.

Possibly a bug then. Try another app to check storage for now. Also contact the devs of the ROM (or check its thread) to see if others have the same bug.
22nd December 2013, 02:38 PM   |  #6  
zkibz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by immortalneo

Possibly a bug then. Try another app to check storage for now. Also contact the devs of the ROM (or check its thread) to see if others have the same bug.

This is the reply from the dev of my ROM

Quote:

Mediascanner is started... it then reads all your storage to figure out what is apps, media, data, pictures etc etc...

If you have a large number of files or you have a "corrupt" media file somewhere (most likely a "bad" meta data tag)... mediascanner is likely freaking out and getting stuck...

Check the wakelocks/processes with BetterBatteryStats to confirm that it is mediascanner... if so. you'll need to try to isolate the "bad" media files and remove them or fix the meta data (most likely id3 tags in mp3s, but could be bad EXIF data in pictures)

Can you recommend app on how to fix this?
The Following User Says Thank You to zkibz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd December 2013, 03:07 PM   |  #7  
immortalneo's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Malappuram, Kerala
Thanks Meter: 1,640
 
4,430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zkibz

This is the reply from the dev of my ROM



Can you recommend app on how to fix this?

Check using your computer.
10th January 2014, 03:03 PM   |  #8  
zkibz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Do we have app that can fix this issue?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes