Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more

Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more

Pin Your Photos on Android Lollipop with Photo Pinner

In the last few weeks,we have been talking quite a bit about Android 5.0 Lollipop. This … more

Samsung Galaxy Note Edge Hands On – XDA TV

Perhaps one of the more peculiar announcements this year was the curved edge-screened … more
Post Reply

Switch circuit board(not lcd/digitizer) bw S2's?

OP hopskeens

1st May 2014, 02:46 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
I destroyed my lcd screen on a ntelos sch-r760, I tested switching my circuit board(not sure of the correct term) on a friends r760, powered up and looked exactly like mine(pin, icons, contacts, apps, texts) but I didnt try calling though, internet worked also. So, does that mean I can buy a used one even if the esn is bad, does it even matter which carrier as long as it's a r760 model? It seems the little circuit board that allows the sm card holds the brains of the phone? Thanks for any help/insight, let me know if you need more info.
Last edited by hopskeens; 1st May 2014 at 02:58 AM. Reason: grammar
1st May 2014, 06:43 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,206
 
7,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
As long as it's the same model it should be fine. Might take you a while to source a board though, very few people on here have this phone, I can't imagine spare parts would be as plentiful for, say, the I9100.
The Following User Says Thank You to MistahBungle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st May 2014, 08:07 AM   |  #3  
keithross39's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxford
Thanks Meter: 1,207
 
1,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
You could try looking on
parts4repair.com
You might get lucky......

Sent from my Markox/Gustavo_s powered KitKatted S2
Last edited by keithross39; 1st May 2014 at 08:10 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to keithross39 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st May 2014, 05:06 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
As long as that little circuit board holds the brains, I'm thinking about finding a used r760 on ebay or cl, even if it has a bad meid/esn or different carrier, as long as it holds a charge and lcd works. Then just swap the circuit boards instead of repairing mine. MistahBungle, you're saying my thought process should work? Thanks again
1st May 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3,206
 
7,088 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
'As long as it's the same model it should be fine' (don't make me post it in size 7 bold italic).
1st May 2014, 06:52 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by MistahBungle

'As long as it's the same model it should be fine' (don't make me post it in size 7 bold italic).

or...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes