Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] WiFi Not Working

OP lkhz

7th November 2011, 02:23 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
215 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
I have bought (little used) S2 yesterday and Installed Custom ROM. It was XWKE2 (France).

Then I try to turn on Wifi and Scan Networks. But its not working (Couldn't check with original firmware)

How can i fix this ?

Tried re-flashing stock XWKE2, clearing delvik. Noting worked :/

Can this be hardware issue ? :eek:

What should i do ? :'(

Smiler Issues -
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1169338
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1316507

EDIT :
Other issue i have identified is, Key lights keep on even after power off :/
Last edited by lkhz; 7th November 2011 at 03:14 AM.
7th November 2011, 04:54 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Turn off Wifi on your phone and turn off the Router for a few minutes. Turn it back on and turn Wifi back on your phone. If that doesn't work go to advanced wifi options on your phone by going to the wifi settings and press the menu button(left of Home Button) and pick Advanced, set the Regulatory domain to a low channel and Wifi policy to Never and see if that helps.

If it still doesn't work set a static IP to 192.168.0.9 and Gateway to your Routers gateway that can be found out clicking on start,run,typing cmd to pull up the command prompt and than typing ipconfig. Set Subnetmask to 255.255.255.0

If it still doesn't work maybe you may need to Replace the Router ?
The Following User Says Thank You to extract1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th November 2011, 08:40 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
215 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by extract1

Turn off Wifi on your phone and turn off the Router for a few minutes. Turn it back on and turn Wifi back on your phone. If that doesn't work go to advanced wifi options on your phone by going to the wifi settings and press the menu button(left of Home Button) and pick Advanced, set the Regulatory domain to a low channel and Wifi policy to Never and see if that helps.

If it still doesn't work set a static IP to 192.168.0.9 and Gateway to your Routers gateway that can be found out clicking on start,run,typing cmd to pull up the command prompt and than typing ipconfig. Set Subnetmask to 255.255.255.0

If it still doesn't work maybe you may need to Replace the Router ?

Nooo .. Router works fine But Mobile don't scan them. After several scans it wifi settings get stuck :/
7th November 2011, 10:14 AM   |  #4  
anfearg's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
It could also be a problem with the kernel. You could just try flashing a new one from a zip file.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
7th November 2011, 11:00 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
215 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anfearg

It could also be a problem with the kernel. You could just try flashing a new one from a zip file.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium

Yea, I did try flashing different stock kernels. But no use

Here is About Screen. WiFi MAC is missing :/

7th November 2011, 11:04 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
So your phone can't even see your Router at all? or can it see it but it doesn't connect? if it can't see it at all than it is most definitely broken. Try setting the router to a low channel.
Last edited by extract1; 7th November 2011 at 11:06 AM.
7th November 2011, 11:31 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
215 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by extract1

So your phone can't even see your Router at all? or can it see it but it doesn't connect? if it can't see it at all than it is most definitely broken. Try setting the router to a low channel.

Can't see. Just scan few seconds and get WiFi off :/
7th November 2011, 11:38 AM   |  #8  
anfearg's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Your IMEI is also missing. It could be that you corrupted your efs file.

Do you have a backup of this???

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
7th November 2011, 11:40 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Return the phone it's broken, Wifi not being detected at all and the key lights still on when the phone is off is a big problem.
7th November 2011, 11:45 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
215 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by anfearg

Your IMEI is also missing. It could be that you corrupted your efs file.

Do you have a backup of this???

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium

Hehe .. I have erased IMEI when uploading I don't think its Software Issue. Tried Flashing Different ROMs several times :/

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes