5,594,877 Members 37,922 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] WiFi Not Working

Tip us?
 
lkhz
Old
(Last edited by lkhz; 7th November 2011 at 02:14 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 211
Join Date: Nov 2009
Unhappy [Q] WiFi Not Working

I have bought (little used) S2 yesterday and Installed Custom ROM. It was XWKE2 (France).

Then I try to turn on Wifi and Scan Networks. But its not working (Couldn't check with original firmware)

How can i fix this ?

Tried re-flashing stock XWKE2, clearing delvik. Noting worked :/

Can this be hardware issue ? :eek:

What should i do ? :'(

Smiler Issues -
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1169338
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1316507

EDIT :
Other issue i have identified is, Key lights keep on even after power off :/


Model : GT-i9100
Baseband :
Kernel :
ROM :
 
extract1
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 91
Join Date: Oct 2011
Turn off Wifi on your phone and turn off the Router for a few minutes. Turn it back on and turn Wifi back on your phone. If that doesn't work go to advanced wifi options on your phone by going to the wifi settings and press the menu button(left of Home Button) and pick Advanced, set the Regulatory domain to a low channel and Wifi policy to Never and see if that helps.

If it still doesn't work set a static IP to 192.168.0.9 and Gateway to your Routers gateway that can be found out clicking on start,run,typing cmd to pull up the command prompt and than typing ipconfig. Set Subnetmask to 255.255.255.0

If it still doesn't work maybe you may need to Replace the Router ?
The Following User Says Thank You to extract1 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lkhz
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 211
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by extract1 View Post
Turn off Wifi on your phone and turn off the Router for a few minutes. Turn it back on and turn Wifi back on your phone. If that doesn't work go to advanced wifi options on your phone by going to the wifi settings and press the menu button(left of Home Button) and pick Advanced, set the Regulatory domain to a low channel and Wifi policy to Never and see if that helps.

If it still doesn't work set a static IP to 192.168.0.9 and Gateway to your Routers gateway that can be found out clicking on start,run,typing cmd to pull up the command prompt and than typing ipconfig. Set Subnetmask to 255.255.255.0

If it still doesn't work maybe you may need to Replace the Router ?
Nooo .. Router works fine But Mobile don't scan them. After several scans it wifi settings get stuck :/


Model : GT-i9100
Baseband :
Kernel :
ROM :
 
anfearg
Old
#4  
anfearg's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 71
Join Date: Aug 2010
It could also be a problem with the kernel. You could just try flashing a new one from a zip file.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
Sign up for Dropbox with this link and we both get an extra 2.25GB of storage free!!!

http://db.tt/pqNZw9b


Don't forget to hit THANKS if someone helped you!


 
lkhz
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 211
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by anfearg View Post
It could also be a problem with the kernel. You could just try flashing a new one from a zip file.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
Yea, I did try flashing different stock kernels. But no use

Here is About Screen. WiFi MAC is missing :/



Model : GT-i9100
Baseband :
Kernel :
ROM :
 
extract1
Old
(Last edited by extract1; 7th November 2011 at 10:06 AM.)
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 91
Join Date: Oct 2011
So your phone can't even see your Router at all? or can it see it but it doesn't connect? if it can't see it at all than it is most definitely broken. Try setting the router to a low channel.
 
lkhz
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 211
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by extract1 View Post
So your phone can't even see your Router at all? or can it see it but it doesn't connect? if it can't see it at all than it is most definitely broken. Try setting the router to a low channel.
Can't see. Just scan few seconds and get WiFi off :/


Model : GT-i9100
Baseband :
Kernel :
ROM :
 
anfearg
Old
#8  
anfearg's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 71
Join Date: Aug 2010
Your IMEI is also missing. It could be that you corrupted your efs file.

Do you have a backup of this???

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
Sign up for Dropbox with this link and we both get an extra 2.25GB of storage free!!!

http://db.tt/pqNZw9b


Don't forget to hit THANKS if someone helped you!


 
extract1
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 91
Join Date: Oct 2011
Return the phone it's broken, Wifi not being detected at all and the key lights still on when the phone is off is a big problem.
 
lkhz
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 211
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by anfearg View Post
Your IMEI is also missing. It could be that you corrupted your efs file.

Do you have a backup of this???

Sent from my GT-I9100 using xda premium
Hehe .. I have erased IMEI when uploading I don't think its Software Issue. Tried Flashing Different ROMs several times :/


Model : GT-i9100
Baseband :
Kernel :
ROM :

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes