FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

[HOWTO] GT-I9100 Free SIM Unlock via nv_data.bin by Odia

662 posts
Thanks Meter: 773
 
By Odia, Guest on 5th May 2011, 05:33 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
6th May 2011, 12:11 AM |#11  
risq's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Basingstoke
Thanks Meter: 84
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pulser_g2

OK. So it seems to be checking this file is "valid" somehow then...

is the file size identical? That's a usual standard check for validation.
 
 
6th May 2011, 06:44 AM |#12  
pulser_g2's Avatar
Developer Admin / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 11,359
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by risq


is the file size identical? That's a usual standard check for validation.

Should be. We are switching a bit from 0 to 1 - not adding anything
6th May 2011, 10:44 AM |#13  
Senior Member
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 74
 
More
You can have my nv_data.bin if you want... my handset used to be locked to O2 but has been unlocked.
(and I've manually changed the ProductCode by editing nv_data.bin as well, not that that should make a difference)

Let me know, and I'll PM it to you
6th May 2011, 12:20 PM |#14  
pulser_g2's Avatar
Developer Admin / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 11,359
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuclark

You can have my nv_data.bin if you want... my handset used to be locked to O2 but has been unlocked.
(and I've manually changed the ProductCode by editing nv_data.bin as well, not that that should make a difference)

Let me know, and I'll PM it to you

Yeah it's worth a shot. Do you have your original file as well? This suggests you managed to edit it fine, and it still worked...

We have tried switching the flag for locked to 0x00, from 0x01, but it didn't work. Would be interesting to see the file though after using a code, to see if the flag is now at 0x00

Really what we might need is a BEFORE and AFTER from an unlock.

ie. anyone getting a code, could you get a dump of this file BEFORE the unlock, then enter the code, and then RE-dump to another file. Call them before and after perhaps? Then we can see what actually happened after the unlock - perhaps a checksum gets re-calculated, or a second "backup" bit was flipped that we missed?

My email, for anyone wanting to send their file (it's only 2 MB so goes fine as an attachment) is (the lines stop OCR gathering it for spam =D)

6th May 2011, 01:48 PM |#15  
Senior Member
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 74
 
More
Email on its way
6th May 2011, 02:34 PM |#16  
Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 158
 
More
Something tells me it wont be as easy as on the previous Galaxy S. Remember, the Exynos sports an in die crypto engine.
6th May 2011, 05:02 PM |#17  
pulser_g2's Avatar
Developer Admin / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 11,359
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuclark

Email on its way

Will look at yours shortly
6th May 2011, 05:09 PM |#18  
pulser_g2's Avatar
Developer Admin / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 11,359
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathieulh

Something tells me it wont be as easy as on the previous Galaxy S. Remember, the Exynos sports an in die crypto engine.

Per http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3&postcount=13 it is evidently possible to edit nv_data.bin and have the phone still work...
7th May 2011, 03:25 PM |#19  
dh2311's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 278
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuclark

Email on its way

any chance of emailing me the nv_data aswell?
7th May 2011, 05:47 PM |#20  
Senior Member
Flag Vienna
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathieulh

Something tells me it wont be as easy as on the previous Galaxy S. Remember, the Exynos sports an in die crypto engine.

Hey Math,

there are I9103-devices with tegra2-chipsets out there. Not sure how different the firmware would be for those but I guess samsung had to find a way to make the one mechanism work for both sgs2-devices...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
galaxy s2, rom
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes