5,597,198 Members 43,541 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOWTO] Disable ALL camera sound AND possible fix for battery drain

Tip us?
 
kohiiou
Old
(Last edited by kohiiou; 18th May 2011 at 04:57 AM.) Reason: code correction; 2011-05-18: additional details
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 58
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default [HOWTO] Disable ALL camera sound AND possible fix for battery drain

HOWTO: Disable Camera Sound (completely silent)

Without deleting anything.

Edit: As pointed out by nickbarbs, after you have completed one of the below methods, the Camera sound is controlled via "System Sounds". If you turn up, down, or off the "System Sounds", the Camera sound would be changed respectively.

This means that you can now control the camera sound at will via volume control functions.

METHOD 1
1. Create a file called "local.prop" in /data/ if it doesn't exist. Example: "/data/local.prop"
2. Open the file "/data/local.prop"
3. add the line to the file:

Code:
ro.camera.sound.forced=0
4. Reboot and all sound in the camera app is completely silent.
5. To recover the sound, you can either delete the local.prop file or change the code to:

Code:
ro.camera.sound.forced=1
METHOD 2: ADB
1. unrar the attached file "local.prop.rar"
2. copy the "local.prop" file to your ADB folder
3. ADB push local.prop /data/local.prop
4. Reboot phone.
5. To restore sound, just delete local.prop and reboot

-----

POSSIBLE BATTERY DRAIN FIX

In addition, for those who are having huge battery drains from Android OS, I also had it. On original KDD firmware, no problem at all, but after updating to KE2 with KIES, I had it all afternoon. I did a hard reset, and the battery drain seemed to go away, but I can neither guarantee or give a 100% confirmation (considering the fact that the Android OS battery usage is based on %, so if I constantly use the phone, Display goes up to 54% and Android OS drops to 10%)

Did a hard reboot by the following method:
WARNING: Will delete apps and all data; phone will boot like new phone.
1. Make sure phone is root first if you want root, and both SU and BUSYBOX installed
2. Shut down phone
3. Hold on the "UP" and "HOME" key, and press the "POWER" button for 2-3 seconds to turn on the phone (make sure to release the "POWER" key after the phone turns on, but continue holding "UP" and "HOME")
4. Select "wipe data/factory reset" and then "wipe cache partition" to remove both.
5. "Reboot system"
6. Once phone has rebooted, Root stays if properly installed, and phone starts off like new.
7. I have been using the phone since for 7 hours now, and seems better.
Attached Files
File Type: rar local.prop.rar - [Click for QR Code] (100 Bytes, 22319 views)
The Following 33 Users Say Thank You to kohiiou For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Gilg@mesh
Old
#2  
Gilg@mesh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 257
Posts: 1,624
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Stockholm
still have sound when focusing when taking pictures.

www.garaget.org/Gilgamesh

Why don't we cut you up into little pieces and feed you to your pooches? Hmm? And then we'll see how loyal a hungry dog REALLY is
 
pulser_g2
Old
#3  
pulser_g2's Avatar
Developer Admin / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 10594
Posts: 19,214
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilg@mesh View Post
still have sound when focusing when taking pictures.
It needs to be disabled within Camera.apk

I'll look at that just now then.


Having trouble getting an answer? | What is XDA about? | How to ask for help?

if [ $PM.incoming.type = $type.question.ROM.how_to_use ] || [ $PM.incoming.type = $type.question.ROM.silly_question ]; then mv $PM.incoming /.trash; PM.response($responsetype.ignore); $PM.sender.ignore_in_future=true; init.sequence($boy_who_cried_wolf); fi;

BTC: 1K2fpDsRHkirWmk3PKiqtzhVHKUJCWPWnN
PGP: 0x260F4FDEF258E3C4
 
kohiiou
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 58
Join Date: Nov 2010
Sorry; I live in Hong Kong and posted it at 2am in the morning and made a typo. It should be:

ro.camera.sound.forced=0

Will correct original post now.
The Following User Says Thank You to kohiiou For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SirGadden
Old
#5  
SirGadden's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 106
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Stockholm
Quote:
Originally Posted by kohiiou View Post
Sorry; I live in Hong Kong and posted it at 2am in the morning and made a typo. It should be:

ro.camera.sound.forced=0

Will correct original post now.
Still not working...
HTC Desire > Samsung Galaxy S2 > HTC One X > Samsung Galaxy S3 > Samsung Galaxy S4

Asus TF300T > Google Nexus 7 (2013)
 
kohiiou
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 58
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfreddan View Post
Still not working...
Did you reboot your phone? The changes doesn't persist till after a hard reboot.

Make sure it's also in:
/data/local.prop

And not

/data/data/local.prop

Double check to make sure you have it in the right place too and for example NOT in /sdcard/data/local.prop.
 
nickbarbs
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 201
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London
YES!! works great for me! not only that - but it follows the setting of you phone therefore

- Phone silenced = NO Camera sound at all (focus OR snap)

-Phone sound on = Camera sound with Focus AND snap

Thanks a lot dude. finally.

cheers
nick
 
nickbarbs
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 201
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London
by the way i extracted your .Rar file to my phone's SD card from my windows machine. Then i copied the file with Root Explorer to /data

= Profit
 
Summered
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 150
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickbarbs View Post
YES!! works great for me! not only that - but it follows the setting of you phone therefore

- Phone silenced = NO Camera sound at all (focus OR snap)

-Phone sound on = Camera sound with Focus AND snap

Thanks a lot dude. finally.

cheers
nick
Confirmed - it's now related to the system volume.
The Following User Says Thank You to Summered For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jarsiv
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 101
Join Date: Aug 2010
Is possible to create tweak which enable digital zoom while recording 1080p video? Yeah, I know it is digital zoom but sometimes it would be usefull. Now zoom is possible only with 720p or less.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes