Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,436 Members 45,080 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOWTO] Greatly improve AT&T data speeds (if you are experiencing poor ones)

Tip us?
 
Droidcarp
Old
#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 108
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London
I think these changes need to be carrier specific.

link below from the X10 forum has many specific carrier settings in post 2:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ht=enhancement

S
 
uskr
Old
#22  
uskr's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 111
Join Date: Feb 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
As of right now I am thinking the results a spotty. Some people had their speeds improved, some didn't. I wonder if it has anything to do with the upgrades AT&T is doing on their network right now.

I will leave mine as it is, I doesn't matter the time of the day, if I remove those fixes, the speed drops drastically. And immediately goes back up with them applied.
Current Phone: Samsung Galaxy S2
Stock Rom - Rooted
Fully deodexed - UK-only apps removed


Notify My Android

Want your Growl/Snarl notifications delivered to your Android device, or add notification support on your applications? Check out the link above.
 
cmd512
Old
#23  
cmd512's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 690
Posts: 3,103
Join Date: Aug 2009
Meh, probably time to label this tweak as ineffective...
Current Device: Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-i9500
ROM:
Uncharted Rom V4 [I9500XXUGNG3] Kernel: Perseus alpha19.1
Other Devices: Google Nexus 7 Samsung Galaxy S III GT-i9300
AWD Dyno Pull CQuartz+Victoria Concours Wax


 
mchimney
Old
#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 452
Join Date: Aug 2010
Just tried this.
I have 2 Bars at my house, there seems to be almost no difference in data speed, it might have even made it slightly worse. I went from an average of 300kbps down to 100 and less. Upload is hanging anywhere from 15kbps - 50.
 
otester
Old
#25  
otester's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 516
Join Date: Jan 2010
Some of you seem to be missing the point here, this merely makes sure your device is performing at it's best, actual speed is largely determined by the mast.

Most ROMs have these settings by default, by removing them you are unoptimising.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA Premium App
Nokia 3410 (Prepaid-O2)
NEC e313 (Prepaid-Three)
Sony K750i (Prepaid-Orange)
Sony W810i (Prepaid-Orange)
Nokia N96 (Contract-O2)
HTC HD2 (SIM Free-Three)
Samsung Galaxy S II (Contract-Vodafone)
Samsung Galaxy S III (SIM Free-Three)
Samsung Galaxy S IV (Contract-CPW/Three)
 
mchimney
Old
#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 452
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by otester View Post
Some of you seem to be missing the point here, this merely makes sure your device is performing at it's best, actual speed is largely determined by the mast.

Most ROMs have these settings by default, by removing them you are unoptimising.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA Premium App
I didn't remove anything. I added those lines. I just went out into the backyard with another SGS2 in hand. Mine was getting 1mbps download 1 up on 4 bars, the ohter SGS2 was getting 4.5down 1 up. I even deleted the changes i made and i'm still getting less
 
otester
Old
#27  
otester's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 516
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mchimney View Post
I didn't remove anything. I added those lines. I just went out into the backyard with another SGS2 in hand. Mine was getting 1mbps download 1 up on 4 bars, the ohter SGS2 was getting 4.5down 1 up. I even deleted the changes i made and i'm still getting less
1. Did you reboot your phone after adding the lines?

2. Both phones on same carrier?
Nokia 3410 (Prepaid-O2)
NEC e313 (Prepaid-Three)
Sony K750i (Prepaid-Orange)
Sony W810i (Prepaid-Orange)
Nokia N96 (Contract-O2)
HTC HD2 (SIM Free-Three)
Samsung Galaxy S II (Contract-Vodafone)
Samsung Galaxy S III (SIM Free-Three)
Samsung Galaxy S IV (Contract-CPW/Three)
 
mchimney
Old
#28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 452
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by otester View Post
1. Did you reboot your phone after adding the lines?

2. Both phones on same carrier?
Yea i rebooted. Both phones are on AT&T. However, one phone is on an iphone data plan (the faster speed phone).
 
bdpyo
Old
#29  
bdpyo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 110
Posts: 1,821
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Philadelphia
subscribed
 
uskr
Old
#30  
uskr's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 111
Join Date: Feb 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
I will add "for those having problem" on the thread label.

You guys are missing the point, this is not to increase your speed if you are already at 6mbps download 2mbps upload. This is fix, not a magic.

For some people the fix did work. For me it's pretty clear when I add the fix to when I remove it. Anytime, anywhere I tested, if I remove, I go to really low (as in 1mbps download) speeds. If I add them, I get better speed.

I am currently using a "4g sim card" (I am not sure if it has anything different from a regular card) with a 4g unlimited data plan (grand-fathered) on ATT. I am currently on VA, close to DC area.
Current Phone: Samsung Galaxy S2
Stock Rom - Rooted
Fully deodexed - UK-only apps removed


Notify My Android

Want your Growl/Snarl notifications delivered to your Android device, or add notification support on your applications? Check out the link above.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes