FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

[HOWTO] Greatly improve AT&T data speeds (if you are experiencing poor ones)

113 posts
Thanks Meter: 75
 
By uskr, Senior Member on 20th May 2011, 12:42 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
20th May 2011, 07:23 PM |#21  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
I think these changes need to be carrier specific.

link below from the X10 forum has many specific carrier settings in post 2:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ht=enhancement

S
 
 
20th May 2011, 07:34 PM |#22  
uskr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
Donate to Me
More
As of right now I am thinking the results a spotty. Some people had their speeds improved, some didn't. I wonder if it has anything to do with the upgrades AT&T is doing on their network right now.

I will leave mine as it is, I doesn't matter the time of the day, if I remove those fixes, the speed drops drastically. And immediately goes back up with them applied.
20th May 2011, 09:03 PM |#23  
cmd512's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 834
 
More
Meh, probably time to label this tweak as ineffective...
20th May 2011, 09:07 PM |#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Just tried this.
I have 2 Bars at my house, there seems to be almost no difference in data speed, it might have even made it slightly worse. I went from an average of 300kbps down to 100 and less. Upload is hanging anywhere from 15kbps - 50.
20th May 2011, 09:13 PM |#25  
otester's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Some of you seem to be missing the point here, this merely makes sure your device is performing at it's best, actual speed is largely determined by the mast.

Most ROMs have these settings by default, by removing them you are unoptimising.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA Premium App
20th May 2011, 09:18 PM |#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by otester

Some of you seem to be missing the point here, this merely makes sure your device is performing at it's best, actual speed is largely determined by the mast.

Most ROMs have these settings by default, by removing them you are unoptimising.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using XDA Premium App

I didn't remove anything. I added those lines. I just went out into the backyard with another SGS2 in hand. Mine was getting 1mbps download 1 up on 4 bars, the ohter SGS2 was getting 4.5down 1 up. I even deleted the changes i made and i'm still getting less
20th May 2011, 10:02 PM |#27  
otester's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mchimney

I didn't remove anything. I added those lines. I just went out into the backyard with another SGS2 in hand. Mine was getting 1mbps download 1 up on 4 bars, the ohter SGS2 was getting 4.5down 1 up. I even deleted the changes i made and i'm still getting less

1. Did you reboot your phone after adding the lines?

2. Both phones on same carrier?
21st May 2011, 12:56 AM |#28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by otester

1. Did you reboot your phone after adding the lines?

2. Both phones on same carrier?

Yea i rebooted. Both phones are on AT&T. However, one phone is on an iphone data plan (the faster speed phone).
21st May 2011, 01:15 AM |#29  
bdpyo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 110
 
More
subscribed
21st May 2011, 04:13 AM |#30  
uskr's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
Donate to Me
More
I will add "for those having problem" on the thread label.

You guys are missing the point, this is not to increase your speed if you are already at 6mbps download 2mbps upload. This is fix, not a magic.

For some people the fix did work. For me it's pretty clear when I add the fix to when I remove it. Anytime, anywhere I tested, if I remove, I go to really low (as in 1mbps download) speeds. If I add them, I get better speed.

I am currently using a "4g sim card" (I am not sure if it has anything different from a regular card) with a 4g unlimited data plan (grand-fathered) on ATT. I am currently on VA, close to DC area.
21st May 2011, 06:32 AM |#31  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by uskr

I will add "for those having problem" on the thread label.

You guys are missing the point, this is not to increase your speed if you are already at 6mbps download 2mbps upload. This is fix, not a magic.

For some people the fix did work. For me it's pretty clear when I add the fix to when I remove it. Anytime, anywhere I tested, if I remove, I go to really low (as in 1mbps download) speeds. If I add them, I get better speed.

I am currently using a "4g sim card" (I am not sure if it has anything different from a regular card) with a 4g unlimited data plan (grand-fathered) on ATT. I am currently on VA, close to DC area.

That might be the reason I'm seeing such poor speeds with full bars on H+ with AT&T (1-1.5 down, 1-2.5 up), I'll call them up tomorrow to get them to upgrade my data to 4G (it's probably still set for the unlimited iphone plan - did they upgrade yours without an extra charge?)

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes