Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD] Arabic + RTL reading/writing for the SGS2

OP madmack

22nd March 2012, 12:09 AM   |  #761  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenosteam

is there a new patch for arabic rtl for ics ?

No because there isn't a need for one. Ice Cream Sandwich comes with Arabic support (RTL) built-in already, so there's no need to even create a patch or mod for it.
22nd March 2012, 02:37 PM   |  #762  
madmack's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 4,462
 
3,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_gunners

i'm using custom 4.0.3 rom, while it can read arabic words/language with not problem.

but somehow it cannot write or even doing copy paste not showing the word properly it's disjointed.

any chance of creating mod for 4.0.3 ?

I won't be working on that as this bug doesn't bother me personally.
23rd March 2012, 04:26 PM   |  #763  
MAJED.y's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
272 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Dear Madmack, are you happy with the Native RTL in ICS?

for an Example in Twitter App, English/Arabic/numbers in one line make the reading difficult!.

Other thing, Is there a way to change the default FONT correctly?!
as If i change it manually, the letters in Browser/Facebook/Gmail appear unconnected!!!.
Last edited by MAJED.y; 23rd March 2012 at 04:29 PM.
23rd March 2012, 09:12 PM   |  #764  
madmack's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 4,462
 
3,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAJED.y

Dear Madmack, are you happy with the Native RTL in ICS?

for an Example in Twitter App, English/Arabic/numbers in one line make the reading difficult!.

Other thing, Is there a way to change the default FONT correctly?!
as If i change it manually, the letters in Browser/Facebook/Gmail appear unconnected!!!.

In all honesty, I am happy with it as it does what I want. Granted, most of my communication happens in English given that I'm in Boston but I really don't have the will or necessity to dig through Google's new RTL implementation and fix it.

Understand that my fix came initially where we had no connected letters at all in Eclair, Froyo and GB. That's why this work came to realization in the first point Now, if I was working in Google's Android RTL dev team, I'd fix it but that's not the case. Who knows, maybe someone who has the will will look at the AOSP source code and find a solution someday, but that someone certainly isn't going to be me.

I'm not sure about the font issue. I haven't looked at that personally.
24th March 2012, 11:03 AM   |  #765  
the_gunners's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Depok
Thanks Meter: 13
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAJED.y

Dear Madmack, are you happy with the Native RTL in ICS?

for an Example in Twitter App, English/Arabic/numbers in one line make the reading difficult!.

Other thing, Is there a way to change the default FONT correctly?!
as If i change it manually, the letters in Browser/Facebook/Gmail appear unconnected!!!.

seems the native support for ICS not "so native"

problem also happens with my ics phone
29th March 2012, 03:23 AM   |  #766  
the_gunners's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Depok
Thanks Meter: 13
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamsuail

why not try ICS roms for SGS2? i really love the new browser and it has native Arabic support.

* BTW, Android 4 (ICS) will be officially available via kies tomorrow.

have you try copy some arabic word, and pasteing somewhere (eg. sms, twitter status update)

in my phone i can read arabic perfectly, but when copy-paste it will look disjointed... not readable
30th March 2012, 01:11 PM   |  #767  
M_J_Nazari's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Bushehr
Thanks Meter: 2,552
 
1,531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Hi Madmack

I'm on finializing the rom for galaxy s middle eastern users, based on official2.3.4 JV7 release.

I have one problem , can't fix it.



As you see, the sentence is stick to the left, while it must stick to the right side.

how can i fix it,
remember , its an official Samsung's release.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rtl.jpg
Views:	683
Size:	112.3 KB
ID:	973015  
30th March 2012, 02:13 PM   |  #768  
madmack's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 4,462
 
3,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_J_Nazari

Hi Madmack

I'm on finializing the rom for galaxy s middle eastern users, based on official2.3.4 JV7 release.

I have one problem , can't fix it.



As you see, the sentence is stick to the left, while it must stick to the right side.

how can i fix it,
remember , its an official Samsung's release.

JV7 has RTL support from sammy? if so, i can't help you. these are closed source binaries that i don't enjoy decompiling or fiddling with. use any other rom and my patch instead
The Following User Says Thank You to madmack For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th March 2012, 02:15 PM   |  #769  
M_J_Nazari's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Bushehr
Thanks Meter: 2,552
 
1,531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by madmack

JV7 has RTL support from sammy? if so, i can't help you. these are closed source binaries that i don't enjoy decompiling or fiddling with. use any other rom and my patch instead

yes it has, its an Africa firmware, that includes arabic shaping.
31st March 2012, 10:35 AM   |  #770  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
268 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_gunners

have you try copy some arabic word, and pasteing somewhere (eg. sms, twitter status update)

in my phone i can read arabic perfectly, but when copy-paste it will look disjointed... not readable

I have that problem when trying different browsers, but it works fine one the default browser (internet)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes