Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD][GUIDE][ICS][JB] Multi Mods Guide | Updated 26/05/13

OP DSA

26th April 2012, 10:03 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5,177
 
3,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Hi guys,


To enable these mods you need:
apktool 1.5.2 or the latest APK Manager
smali/baksmali
Knowledge of decompiling/recompiling
knowledge of how to read logcats

framework-res.apk
services.jar
SecSettings.apk
SecSettingsProvider.apk


framework-res.apk

Navigate to: /res/values/bools.xml

On Screen Nav Buttons (GNexus Style):
Code:
<bool name="config_showNavigationBar">false</bool>
Change to:

Code:
<bool name="config_showNavigationBar">true</bool>
4 Way Rotation:
Code:
<bool name="config_allowAllRotations">false</bool>
Change to:

Code:
<bool name="config_allowAllRotations">true</bool>
Lock Screen Rotation:
Code:
<bool name="config_enableLockScreenRotation">false</bool>
Change to:

Code:
<bool name="config_enableLockScreenRotation">true</bool>
and

Code:
<bool name="lockscreen_isPortrait">true</bool>
change to

Code:
<bool name="lockscreen_isPortrait">false</bool>
Disable Keyboard Switch In StatusBar When Typing
Code:
<bool name="show_ongoing_ime_switcher">true</bool>
Change to:

Code:
<bool name="show_ongoing_ime_switcher">false</bool>
Unplugging From USB doesn't Turn Screen On
Code:
<bool name="config_unplugTurnsOnScreen">true</bool>
Change to:

Code:
<bool name="config_unplugTurnsOnScreen">false</bool>
To remove 'Unlock lockscreen with menu key' For AOSP Lockscreen:
Code:
<bool name="config_disableMenuKeyInLockScreen">false</bool>
Change to:

Code:
<bool name="config_disableMenuKeyInLockScreen">true</bool>
To remove Help Overlay for Touchwiz Lockscreen:
Code:
<bool name="config_isHelpOverlayEnabled">true</bool>
Change to:

Code:
<bool name="config_isHelpOverlayEnabled">false</bool>
To permanently disable Multi Windows:
Code:
<bool name="config_multiWindowControlbar">true</bool>
Change to:

Code:
<bool name="config_multiWindowControlbar">false</bool>

Brightness Values:

res/values/arrays

Change the following values (Taken from mattiadj's brightness fix thread - thanks)

Code:
    <integer-array name="config_autoBrightnessLevels">
        <item>0</item>
        <item>1</item>
        <item>20</item>
        <item>150</item>
        <item>400</item>
        <item>800</item>
        <item>1500</item>
        <item>3000</item>
        <item>6000</item>
        <item>9000</item>
        <item>15000</item>
    </integer-array>
    <integer-array name="config_autoBrightnessHysteresisLevels">
        <item>0</item>
        <item>2</item>
        <item>50</item>
        <item>110</item>
        <item>320</item>
        <item>900</item>
        <item>2000</item>
        <item>6000</item>
        <item>8000</item>
        <item>10000</item>
        <item>12000</item>
    </integer-array>
    <integer-array name="config_autoBrightnessLcdBacklightValues">
        <item>30</item>
        <item>30</item>
        <item>50</item>
        <item>60</item>
        <item>80</item>
        <item>100</item>
        <item>120</item>
        <item>150</item>
        <item>190</item>
        <item>210</item>
        <item>230</item>
        <item>255</item>
    </integer-array>
    <integer-array name="config_autoBrightnessButtonBacklightValues">
        <item>255</item>
        <item>200</item>
        <item>100</item>
        <item>0</item>
        <item>0</item>
    </integer-array>
    <integer-array name="config_autoBrightnessKeyboardBacklightValues ">
        <item>255</item>
        <item>200</item>
        <item>100</item>
        <item>0</item>
        <item>0</item>
    </integer-array>

SecSettingsProvider.apk


To enable installation of non market (3rd party) apps by default:

Navigate to: /res/values/bools.xml
Code:
<bool name="def_install_non_market_apps">false</bool>
Change to:

Code:
<bool name="def_install_non_market_apps">true</bool>
To disable the lockscreen completely:
Code:
<bool name="def_lockscreen_disabled">false</bool>
Change to:

Code:
<bool name="def_lockscreen_disabled">true</bool>
To enable Wifi from boot:
Code:
<bool name="def_wifi_on">false</bool>
Change to:

Code:
<bool name="def_wifi_on">true</bool>

SecSettings.apk

To enable Device Status Info "Normal" Instead Of "Modified":

Navigate to: smali/com/android/settings/deviceinfo/Status.smali
Search for:
Code:
.method private changeSysScopeStatus()V
Change entire method to:

Code:
.method private changeSysScopeStatus()V
    .locals 2

    const-string v0, "sysscope_status"

    invoke-virtual {p0, v0}, Lcom/android/settings/deviceinfo/Status;->findPreference(Ljava/lang/CharSequence;)Landroid/preference/Preference;

    move-result-object v0

    const v1, 0x7f090128 #sysscope_normal

    invoke-virtual {p0, v1}, Lcom/android/settings/deviceinfo/Status;->getString(I)Ljava/lang/String;

    move-result-object v1

    invoke-virtual {v0, v1}, Landroid/preference/Preference;->setSummary(Ljava/lang/CharSequence;)V

    return-void
.end method
Now navigate to /res/values/public

Search for "sysscope_normal" (Without quotes) - take the 0x7 number associated with it and paste it over the number in the above code with #sysscope_normal at the side of it (the one given isn't correct for your phone)

services.jar

To disable signature checks on system apps:

Navigate to: /smali/com/android/server/pm
Search for
Code:
.method static compareSignatures([Landroid/content/pm/Signature;[Landroid/content/pm/Signature;)I
Change entire method to:

Code:
.method static compareSignatures([Landroid/content/pm/Signature;[Landroid/content/pm/Signature;)I
    .locals 7

    const-string p0, "DSA:"

    const-string p1, "Skip signatures check"

    invoke-static {p0, p1}, Landroid/util/Log;->v(Ljava/lang/String;Ljava/lang/String;)I

    const/4 v6, 0x0

    return v6
.end method

I'll be adding more mods to this over the coming weeks
Please no more requests for ICS/Stock animations, thats not what this thread is for
Update 26/05/13
framework-res.apk:
Added mod for disabling help overlay on Touchwiz lockscreen
Added brightness fix values
Added mod to disable MultiWindow

SecSettingsProvider.apk:
- Enable Wifi from boot
- Install non market apps by default
- To disable the lockscreen completely

SecSettings.apk:
- To enable Device Status Info "Normal" Instead Of "Modified"

Services.jar:
- To disable signature checks on system apps

Update 24/01/13
Added mod for AOSP Lockscreen menu key disable
Reuploaded APK Manager folder for users (Includes apktool 1.5.1 and latest relevant aapt)
Thanks:
jovy23
Wanam
Mattiadj
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2012-04-26-20-48-27.jpg
Views:	3342
Size:	16.0 KB
ID:	1026195  
Attached Files
File Type: zip android.software.sip.voip.zip - [Click for QR Code] (659 Bytes, 316 views)
Last edited by DSA; 26th May 2013 at 03:50 PM. Reason: Adding new mods
The Following 34 Users Say Thank You to DSA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 10:40 PM   |  #2  
Siberian Tiger's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Piraeus
Thanks Meter: 5,896
 
4,283 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkside Agent

Hi, i couldn't find this posted anywhere so i thought i would share it

To enable 4 way lockscreen rotation & 4 way screen rotation you need:

Working ics apktool (google it, theres plenty on xda)
framework-res.apk from any deodexed ICS ROM (preferably with ICS lockscreen)


Setup i am using:
Apex launcher
Apex screen rotation set to auto rotate
ICS Lockscreen (Not tested on stock)

Decompile framework-res.apk

Navigate to: /res/values/bools.xml






Recompile.

When recompiling with apktool, you should get an error message just before it finishes the build. When its finished, ignore the created .apk and navigate to C:\Users\'your name'\framework-res\build\apk - take the resources.arsc from that folder, open your existing framework-res.apk with winzip/winrar etc and paste the resources.arsc over the existing one

Done, you now have 4 way lockscreen rotation & 4 way screen rotation

Nice one DSA
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Siberian Tiger For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th April 2012, 11:02 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5,177
 
3,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
no worries, always glad to share
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to DSA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th April 2012, 04:27 AM   |  #4  
GanGs_KiD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Riyadh
Thanks Meter: 267
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Nice
I will include this Mod to my script "new version" if you may

Thnak you.
27th April 2012, 08:38 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5,177
 
3,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
go for it dude, enjoy!
27th April 2012, 06:37 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5,177
 
3,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
OP updated with CRT and SIP mods

enjoy
10th May 2012, 09:02 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5,177
 
3,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
OP updated with new mods

If anyone has problems performing these mods, let me know and i will do it for you
10th May 2012, 09:32 PM   |  #8  
Brotuck's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rotterdam
Thanks Meter: 362
 
1,424 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Thanx, always nice to have the mods collected in one place.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Brotuck For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th May 2012, 06:08 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Alajuela
Thanks Meter: 33
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkside Agent

OP updated with new mods

If anyone has problems performing these mods, let me know and i will do it for you

I'll take you up on that one OP, I'm trying to do the CRT, disable the keyboard icon on notification

I decompile the apk and made the necessary changes to the xml file, but when I try to compile it again I get several errors and while I can get a general idea of what do they say I don't know how to solve them, could you help me with this?
15th May 2012, 10:33 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5,177
 
3,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Hi

Have you followed the instruction regarding recompiling? ie ignore the error...Have you copied the resource.arsc file over?

If you are still having issues, upload the framework file and i will sort it
Last edited by DSA; 15th May 2012 at 10:37 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes