Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[REF] Galaxy S 2 Shipped Modem Collection

OP pulser_g2

20th June 2011, 06:40 PM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Flag Reggio Emilia
Thanks Meter: 262
 
972 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
@pulser_g2

Isn't enough the zip crc32 check? I've always flashed modem via cwm on sgs and I've tried a lot with no problem. On a corrupted file it won't flash
BTW its not too complicated but sometime frustrating when you can't get a PC and you realize the modem just flashed is not working

Sent from my Galaxy SII

If you find this post usefull please press the "Thanks" button
Last edited by nightranger73; 20th June 2011 at 06:47 PM.
20th June 2011, 07:37 PM   |  #22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pulser_g2

You are right RE the phone part. You're not meant to just go flashing these because they are here, but a matching radio to your ROM is always a good idea

Pulser I've been flashing modems using PDA, are you saying Iwe should use phone? Could I brick my phone using PDA?
20th June 2011, 09:38 PM   |  #23  
Intratech's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 4,506
 
4,992 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bentez2003

Pulser I've been flashing modems using PDA, are you saying Iwe should use phone? Could I brick my phone using PDA?

Put the modem .tar package in the phone section of Odin.
The Following User Says Thank You to Intratech For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th June 2011, 09:39 PM   |  #24  
Intratech's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 4,506
 
4,992 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pulser_g2

They are. I was just recording that those stock ROMs were shipped with that modem

If you check the link now, you'll see it's the same file for each

Yeah, makes sense after looking at the link.
20th June 2011, 10:23 PM   |  #25  
xinfinityoO's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wellington
Thanks Meter: 466
 
1,784 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
-----------edited-----------
Last edited by xinfinityoO; 20th June 2011 at 10:33 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to xinfinityoO For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th June 2011, 11:50 PM   |  #26  
pulser_g2's Avatar
OP Developer Admin / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 11,222
 
19,373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightranger73

@pulser_g2

Isn't enough the zip crc32 check? I've always flashed modem via cwm on sgs and I've tried a lot with no problem. On a corrupted file it won't flash
BTW its not too complicated but sometime frustrating when you can't get a PC and you realize the modem just flashed is not working

Sent from my Galaxy SII

If you find this post usefull please press the "Thanks" button

The guy we helped on irc had a sgs style soft brick after flashing it.

So whatever recovery stuff and checksums failed... As such I suggest odin flashing modem, as it means you can recover a soft brick quickly and without having to harass people for help...
20th June 2011, 11:54 PM   |  #27  
pulser_g2's Avatar
OP Developer Admin / Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 11,222
 
19,373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightranger73

@pulser_g2

Isn't enough the zip crc32 check? I've always flashed modem via cwm on sgs and I've tried a lot with no problem. On a corrupted file it won't flash
BTW its not too complicated but sometime frustrating when you can't get a PC and you realize the modem just flashed is not working

Sent from my Galaxy SII

If you find this post usefull please press the "Thanks" button

If cwm is validating sigs by default, I may look at it. But I am not too happy at the ability to disable signature verification... Signing a zip takes seconds for me to do on a 200 MB rom, so if someone can't do it, they shouldn't be trusted to release, if I'm brutally honest.

Either way if cwm looks safe enough, I'll consider it, but I have reservations in modem flashing without odin being handy...
21st June 2011, 12:51 AM   |  #28  
xinfinityoO's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wellington
Thanks Meter: 466
 
1,784 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Best Modem for me - KF2 {WIFI} - Proof
I have tested a few modem and i have the results of the KE4 and KF2.

KF2 being just a little bit better. I have blurred out the Access Point Names.

I have done this test over and over again from the same location and spot and have got around the same results.

The lower the number the better

Images attached
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20110621-103908.jpeg
Views:	3711
Size:	87.0 KB
ID:	631401   Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20110621-103920.jpeg
Views:	3396
Size:	87.5 KB
ID:	631402  
21st June 2011, 01:59 AM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Flag Denmark - Sundby Mors
Thanks Meter: 26
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
to flash a modem is that just flash in ODIN and place modem file in PHONE ? no re-partition or anything else ?
21st June 2011, 06:31 AM   |  #30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dk_iceman

to flash a modem is that just flash in ODIN and place modem file in PHONE ? no re-partition or anything else ?

Yes, just put the .tar.md5 under PHONE in Odin. No repartition.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes