Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,368 Members 51,793 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[REF] Galaxy S 2 Shipped Modem Collection

Tip us?
 
nightranger73
Old
(Last edited by nightranger73; 20th June 2011 at 05:47 PM.)
#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 261
Posts: 970
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Reggio Emilia
@pulser_g2

Isn't enough the zip crc32 check? I've always flashed modem via cwm on sgs and I've tried a lot with no problem. On a corrupted file it won't flash
BTW its not too complicated but sometime frustrating when you can't get a PC and you realize the modem just flashed is not working

Sent from my Galaxy SII

If you find this post usefull please press the "Thanks" button
Phones:
Galaxy S I9000 CM10
Galaxy SII I9100 CM10.1 ICS
HTC One X CM10.1
Galaxy Note II N7100 CM10.1


Tablets:
Galaxy Tab P7500 CM10.1
ASUS TF300TG CM10.1
 
bentez2003
Old
#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 312
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pulser_g2 View Post
You are right RE the phone part. You're not meant to just go flashing these because they are here, but a matching radio to your ROM is always a good idea
Pulser I've been flashing modems using PDA, are you saying Iwe should use phone? Could I brick my phone using PDA?
 
Intratech
Old
#23  
Intratech's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4505
Posts: 4,992
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bentez2003 View Post
Pulser I've been flashing modems using PDA, are you saying Iwe should use phone? Could I brick my phone using PDA?
Put the modem .tar package in the phone section of Odin.
Need official GT-I9100 firmwares? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1075278
Need official GT-I9300 firmwares? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1671969

I don't want to help and provide tech support by PM. Please post on the forum so everyone can learn from each other


[/CENTER]
The Following User Says Thank You to Intratech For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Intratech
Old
#24  
Intratech's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4505
Posts: 4,992
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by pulser_g2 View Post
They are. I was just recording that those stock ROMs were shipped with that modem

If you check the link now, you'll see it's the same file for each
Yeah, makes sense after looking at the link.
Need official GT-I9100 firmwares? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1075278
Need official GT-I9300 firmwares? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1671969

I don't want to help and provide tech support by PM. Please post on the forum so everyone can learn from each other


[/CENTER]
 
xinfinityoO
Old
(Last edited by xinfinityoO; 20th June 2011 at 09:33 PM.)
#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 411
Posts: 1,641
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wellington
-----------edited-----------
ROM: RomMIX_byRush v5.5
Kernel: DreamKernel 2.7.2




______________________________
Please click on the "Thanks" button if I have helped you in any way.
The Following User Says Thank You to xinfinityoO For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pulser_g2
Old
#26  
pulser_g2's Avatar
Developer Admin / Senior Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 10690
Posts: 19,244
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightranger73
@pulser_g2

Isn't enough the zip crc32 check? I've always flashed modem via cwm on sgs and I've tried a lot with no problem. On a corrupted file it won't flash
BTW its not too complicated but sometime frustrating when you can't get a PC and you realize the modem just flashed is not working

Sent from my Galaxy SII

If you find this post usefull please press the "Thanks" button
The guy we helped on irc had a sgs style soft brick after flashing it.

So whatever recovery stuff and checksums failed... As such I suggest odin flashing modem, as it means you can recover a soft brick quickly and without having to harass people for help...


Having trouble getting an answer? | What is XDA about? | How to ask for help?

if [ $PM.incoming.type = $type.question.ROM.how_to_use ] || [ $PM.incoming.type = $type.question.ROM.silly_question ]; then mv $PM.incoming /.trash; PM.response($responsetype.ignore); $PM.sender.ignore_in_future=true; init.sequence($boy_who_cried_wolf); fi;

BTC: 1K2fpDsRHkirWmk3PKiqtzhVHKUJCWPWnN
PGP: 0x260F4FDEF258E3C4
 
pulser_g2
Old
#27  
pulser_g2's Avatar
Developer Admin / Senior Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 10690
Posts: 19,244
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightranger73
@pulser_g2

Isn't enough the zip crc32 check? I've always flashed modem via cwm on sgs and I've tried a lot with no problem. On a corrupted file it won't flash
BTW its not too complicated but sometime frustrating when you can't get a PC and you realize the modem just flashed is not working

Sent from my Galaxy SII

If you find this post usefull please press the "Thanks" button
If cwm is validating sigs by default, I may look at it. But I am not too happy at the ability to disable signature verification... Signing a zip takes seconds for me to do on a 200 MB rom, so if someone can't do it, they shouldn't be trusted to release, if I'm brutally honest.

Either way if cwm looks safe enough, I'll consider it, but I have reservations in modem flashing without odin being handy...


Having trouble getting an answer? | What is XDA about? | How to ask for help?

if [ $PM.incoming.type = $type.question.ROM.how_to_use ] || [ $PM.incoming.type = $type.question.ROM.silly_question ]; then mv $PM.incoming /.trash; PM.response($responsetype.ignore); $PM.sender.ignore_in_future=true; init.sequence($boy_who_cried_wolf); fi;

BTC: 1K2fpDsRHkirWmk3PKiqtzhVHKUJCWPWnN
PGP: 0x260F4FDEF258E3C4
 
xinfinityoO
Old
#28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 411
Posts: 1,641
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wellington
Default Best Modem for me - KF2 {WIFI} - Proof

I have tested a few modem and i have the results of the KE4 and KF2.

KF2 being just a little bit better. I have blurred out the Access Point Names.

I have done this test over and over again from the same location and spot and have got around the same results.

The lower the number the better

Images attached
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20110621-103908.jpeg
Views:	3697
Size:	87.0 KB
ID:	631401   Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20110621-103920.jpeg
Views:	3384
Size:	87.5 KB
ID:	631402  
ROM: RomMIX_byRush v5.5
Kernel: DreamKernel 2.7.2




______________________________
Please click on the "Thanks" button if I have helped you in any way.
 
dk_iceman
Old
#29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 338
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Denmark - Sundby Mors
to flash a modem is that just flash in ODIN and place modem file in PHONE ? no re-partition or anything else ?
 
kshting
Old
#30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 314
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dk_iceman View Post
to flash a modem is that just flash in ODIN and place modem file in PHONE ? no re-partition or anything else ?
Yes, just put the .tar.md5 under PHONE in Odin. No repartition.

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes