Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[TOOL] DirectoryBind - move data to external_sd (GameLoft, Shadowgun etc.) ROOT req.

OP slig

12th September 2012, 04:26 PM   |  #681  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyderekz

did you insert this into a file or did you run it in the terminal? Also does it stick with reboot? I want to try this on my Evo LTE and see if it is that easy!

Actually I didnt type it by hand, but I used Root Explorer to create the link.
(You can long-press a folder on the external sd-card in Root Explorer and tap "Link folder" or something like that. I dont know the exact command in english. Then you can browse to your internal sd-card or data partition and insert the link there.)
It's basically the same as if you use Terminal Emulator and "ln -s".

For me it works, even though the external card is FAT and the data partition is EXT...

And yes, it does stick with a reboot.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenou

Install the latest version.. o

Did you even read what I wrote?
12th September 2012, 06:18 PM   |  #682  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Unhappy
I'm using a root Nexus7 with a usb cable otg, 16gb sandisk mini usb drive and the app StickMount. My problem is when i create the new entry in Directory Bind i put in target "/sdcard/Android/data/..."(the game folder) and in data this path "/sdcard/usbStorage/sda1/...". The app StickMount creates this path to identify the 16gb pendrive, then i click ADD in DirectoyBind with the checkmark(Transferfiles from target to data), then displays a new window that tell "Data directory not exist, create now?" i choose Create, but becomes a loop with the same message, if i choose cancel tells me "a Data Directory do not exist!", please help and sorry if i misspelled a word.
12th September 2012, 06:58 PM   |  #683  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,853
 
25,059 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat84

You got me wrong there, I am not using DirectoryBind. My question was more general.

I actually did make a symlink using ln -s /external-sdcard-folder /data-partition-folder and it does work.

Even though that xda article about DirectoryBind says it should be impossible to make a symlink between ext and fat partitions.

Must be magical. It shouldn't work. Sure its fat? Not exfat?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
12th September 2012, 08:18 PM   |  #684  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

Must be magical. It shouldn't work. Sure its fat? Not exfat?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

http://pastebin.com/4SnQ4yyi

Thats my symlink...

I just checked again on my Windows PC, it is FAT32.

I must say Im kind of a newbie in this stuff. But this definitely works just as I expected it to, and I dont see why it should be impossible... or did I misunderstand something?
Last edited by tomcat84; 12th September 2012 at 08:21 PM.
12th September 2012, 08:29 PM   |  #685  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Question
I have a pretty general question if someone is willing to answer:
Anyway, I have a nexus 7 that I put in tablet mode. Directory bind works great except ever since I put it in tablet mode the button to go into the app settings or to create a new link doesn't exist (the button used to be at the bottom of the screen but now my status bar resides there... ).

Anyone know of a work around?
12th September 2012, 08:48 PM   |  #686  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 13,853
 
25,059 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat84

http://pastebin.com/4SnQ4yyi

Thats my symlink...

I just checked again on my Windows PC, it is FAT32.

I must say Im kind of a newbie in this stuff. But this definitely works just as I expected it to, and I dont see why it should be impossible... or did I misunderstand something?

yep, this certainly shows its working:

Code:
cache -> /mnt/extSdCard/GoogleMusicCache/cache
That is odd as it shouldnt be possible. Root explorer even tells me its not possible.

I assume if you brows to teh extsdcard location, the cache is there?

Anyway, sorry everyone for OT
12th September 2012, 09:05 PM   |  #687  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
343 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootSU

yep, this certainly shows its working:

Code:
cache -> /mnt/extSdCard/GoogleMusicCache/cache
That is odd as it shouldnt be possible. Root explorer even tells me its not possible.

I assume if you brows to teh extsdcard location, the cache is there?

Anyway, sorry everyone for OT

Yes its all there.

Play Music even shows the correct amount of space on the external sd-card, its a 32 gig card:

http://imgur.com/OQnqh
12th September 2012, 09:07 PM   |  #688  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomcat84

Yes its all there.

Play Music even shows the correct amount of space on the external sd-card, its a 32 gig card:

http://imgur.com/OQnqh

Crazy! How did u set that up? With directory bind?
12th September 2012, 10:03 PM   |  #689  
kmetek's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
shouldn't source be /sdcard/ and mount target /sdcard/external_sd/ ???
13th September 2012, 04:42 AM   |  #690  
JoeyMorte's Avatar
Member
Flag Villahermosa
Thanks Meter: 5
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Looks like a great app thanks mate

Enviado desde mi GT-I9100 usando Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
move data to external sd, move data to sdcard
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes