Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,583 Members 38,426 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Cannot do anything with Galaxy S3

Tip us?
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#31  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6,058
Posts: 8,692
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
You could try flashing the stock rom from enewman17.
Or using cwm built in file manager, delete the knox apk's.
Otherwise the only other thing i could think to recommend would be to start over with a fresh firmware flash, which im pretty sure you want to avoid!
The Following User Says Thank You to DocHoliday77 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mrnapolean1
Old
#32  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 95
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77 View Post
You could try flashing the stock rom from enewman17.
Or using cwm built in file manager, delete the knox apk's.
Otherwise the only other thing i could think to recommend would be to start over with a fresh firmware flash, which im pretty sure you want to avoid!
Where are knox apks kept at?

I want to avoid from having to flash a rom. If I flash anything, I am putting CM11 on this....
This blue text is my signature for now until a replacement can be found.......
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#33  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6,058
Posts: 8,692
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
/system/app and /system/priv-app
There are knox removal scripts around too. If on 4.4.2 they may not work, but you can look at the script for an idea of what exactly needs to be removed.
The Following User Says Thank You to DocHoliday77 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mrnapolean1
Old
#34  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 95
Join Date: Feb 2012
Scratch my previous reply.

I now have full root on this phone.

I ended up copying the Superuser.apk from This .zip file and putting it on the root portion of my sdcard.

Then I used "My Files" in my app drawer to browse for the superuser.apk i placed on earlier and installed it. Do the all option.
After that has completed, I got the message that SuperSU detected Knox and removed it successfully.

Now Titanium backup works great now and no longer hangs on Asking for root rights.

Root Checker Pro:
Congratulations! You have root access!

Super User Application Status:
SuperSU application - version 2.02 - is installed!

System File Properties for Root Access:
Standard Location
Check Command: ls -l /system/bin/su:
Result: /system/bin/su: No such file or directory
Analysis: File /system/bin/su does not exist.

Standard Location
Check Command: ls -l /system/xbin/su:
Result: -rwxr-xr-x root root 125424 1970-01-01 09:01 su
Analysis: Setuid attribute is NOT present BUT root user ownership is present. Root access is NOT correctly configured for this file!

Alternative Location
Check Command: ls -l /sbin/su:
Result: /sbin/su: Permission denied
Analysis: File system permissions restricted and denied access.

Alternative Location
Check Command: ls -l /system/xbin/sudo:
Result: /system/xbin/sudo: No such file or directory
Analysis: File /system/xbin/sudo does not exist.

Root User ID and Group ID Status:
Root user id:
uid=0(root)

Root group id:
gid=0(root)

System Environment PATH: /sbin /vendor/bin /system/sbin /system/bin /system/xbin

ADB Shell Default User:
ADB shell setting for standard access, stored in default.prop, is configured as: shell (non root) user - ro.secure=1
This blue text is my signature for now until a replacement can be found.......
 
mrnapolean1
Old
#35  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 95
Join Date: Feb 2012
Huge thanks for everyone who helped me with this.
This blue text is my signature for now until a replacement can be found.......
 
mrnapolean1
Old
#36  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 95
Join Date: Feb 2012
One little annoyance I have is every time I restart the phone or turn it off I have to repeat the SuperSU install or I just get the error: Unfortunately, SuperSU has stopped.
This blue text is my signature for now until a replacement can be found.......
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#37  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6,058
Posts: 8,692
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Try copying it to /system/app and setting permissions.

The Following User Says Thank You to DocHoliday77 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes