Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,424 Members 36,432 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

IMEI of the Software VS IMEI on the back of the phone

Tip us?
 
choiyt317
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto/Hamilton
Unhappy IMEI of the Software VS IMEI on the back of the phone

Hi,
I've bought a samsung galaxy S3 Red version on kijiji (Canada) and realized that the IMEI of the software is different from the IMEI on the back of the phone.
I've checked the IMEI blacklist to see if any of those IMEI is blacklisted, but seems like both are fine.

I've tried using EFS Pro method without a luck.
I also tried doing NVreader-Writer to change it manually with no luck.

I was wondering if one of you guys can give me some help regards to this.

Let me know guys.

Thanks alot in advance!
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#2  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5,967
Posts: 8,626
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Personally, i dont think you should be doing anything to the IMEI at this point. Obviously someone changed something along the way. Since both IMEI's appear to be good, theres a good chance someone replaced the motherboard at some point. If this is the case, write the IMEI down! TWICE! Keep it safe where you will not lose it.

If it was a motherboard replacement, DO NOT try to change or otherwise mess with the IMEI! Replacing it with anything but what belongs to that board is asking for problems.

If the mobo is original and the IMEI was changed for some reason, it might be a good idea to change back....maybe! But this doesnt make any sense if the original is still good. If you do somehow verify it was changed, i would wait before doing anything. Someone could wait another month or two and report it lost or stolen. It happens all the time! And then the IMEI would get blacklisted.

I think you should contact the seller and find out what is really going on. But regardless of the answers you may or may not get, do not change anything yet.

If its working fine right now, just leave it as it is. Messing with the NV Data is not to be taken lightly. Its not simple stuff like flashing roms. Make a mistake and it could cause irreparable harm to the device.

---------- Post added at 03:50 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:47 AM ----------

Oh, and there are several blacklists out there. Just because it isnt on one, doesnt mean it cant be on another. Check on swappa, but definately call the carrier the device originally came from. Ask if it is able to be activated on any network including theirs.
The Following User Says Thank You to DocHoliday77 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
choiyt317
Old
(Last edited by choiyt317; 31st August 2014 at 05:04 PM.) Reason: typo (*)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto/Hamilton
Hey, Thank you for your reply!

I just wanted to add in some story.


I've bought this about 1.5 months ago, and IMEI of the phone is fine(*) according to swappa, imei.info, and protectyourdata.ca.
Also, The software IMEI of the phone (according to imei.info) belongs to a samsung WAVE II and the original IMEI on the back of the phone belongs to the samsung galaxy s3.

I've contacted the seller when I first got it, this guy was fishy as ever and sounded like he was making sh1t up.



P.S swappa IMEI check came clean and my carrier does not support the IMEI.
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#4  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5,967
Posts: 8,626
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
What do you mean they dont support the imei? If its an I747, youd have to ask ATT about it.

The thing that bugs me is why would they have changed the imei in the first place if the original was still good? Makes me very suspicious tbh. I wouldnt try changing it for a while, if ever. As i said before, they could be planning to wait a few weeks and then report it lost or stolen.
 
choiyt317
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto/Hamilton
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77 View Post
What do you mean they dont support the imei? If its an I747, youd have to ask ATT about it.

The thing that bugs me is why would they have changed the imei in the first place if the original was still good? Makes me very suspicious tbh. I wouldnt try changing it for a while, if ever. As i said before, they could be planning to wait a few weeks and then report it lost or stolen.

No idea as why the seller would do so, but IMEI of the phone, Samsung galaxy wave II does not work with the Virginmobile Canada that I'm currently using. Should I get it fixed by a people who changes IMEI of the phone?
Just to be on the sure side, how do i check if the phone (sgs3 i747M) is carrier unlocked?

Thanks DocHoliday!
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#6  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5,967
Posts: 8,626
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
If its locked it will ask for an unlock code when you put a different carriers SIM in. I don't know how the different imei would affect this though because any unlock codes would be created using the imei.
I can try to help you change it back to the original if you like. But I make no guarantees. If it ends up being blacklisted you'll be out of luck. Changing from the original imei is called cloning and 99% of the time is highly illegal. It is the reason it is so hard to find out how to do and why we are not allowed to discuss it in public forums. Its also one reason why I will be unable to help you change it back. Also, The software and the device will reject the change unless done with special equipment I'm told.
So if you decide you still want to go through with that, you can PM me. Itll at least save you a lot of money for this part. Please include the details and a link to this thread so I don't have to come back and search for it again though. I fix tons of lost imei problems and it can get confusing without having the background included in the PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DocHoliday77 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more

Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more