Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,261 Members 37,766 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

LTE Problems

Tip us?
 
Starholdest
Old
#1  
Starholdest's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 365
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Default LTE Problems

Hey guys

I installed a nightly of CM11 a while ago and it broke my LTE. The consensus is that you need to install a stock-based ROM, then flash back to CM11 to get LTE working again.

I have flashed an MK5 modem, but am unsure of my bootloader compatibility with the current TouchWiz ROM's out there.

I am on the MF1 bootloader (Canadian phone). Do I need to upgrade/downgrade my bootloader to install any of these TW ROM's? Or can I just flash between TW and CM11 to my heart's consent?

The ROM's say you must be running a 4.3 modem and bootloader...but I can't find any info on whether or not MF1 is a 4.3 bootloader or not?

Thanks,
Elliott
 
Starholdest
Old
#2  
Starholdest's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 365
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Bump
 
letigre87
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2011
I haven't tried cm11 yet but using c-rom I had these problems. under settings-mobile networks-preferred network type, check to see the right network is selected. If you don't have these options then my apologies.
 
BWolf56
Old
#4  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,698
Posts: 3,863
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outaouais

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starholdest View Post
Hey guys

I installed a nightly of CM11 a while ago and it broke my LTE. The consensus is that you need to install a stock-based ROM, then flash back to CM11 to get LTE working again.

I have flashed an MK5 modem, but am unsure of my bootloader compatibility with the current TouchWiz ROM's out there.

I am on the MF1 bootloader (Canadian phone). Do I need to upgrade/downgrade my bootloader to install any of these TW ROM's? Or can I just flash between TW and CM11 to my heart's consent?

The ROM's say you must be running a 4.3 modem and bootloader...but I can't find any info on whether or not MF1 is a 4.3 bootloader or not?

Thanks,
Elliott
MF1 is 4.1.2. The latest Canadian bootloader is MK5 (Which you can't downgrade from).
Sent by falcon messenger while riding a laser equipped T-rex on a rocket
>>Get Dropbox right here<<
>>Rogers LTE tethering mod<<
LG G3 D852
ROM: Stock debloated
Kernel: 3.4.0
Launcher: Nova

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelendel
Jig ~ You should never need one but.. Use the condom theory.
 
Starholdest
Old
#5  
Starholdest's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 365
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56 View Post
MF1 is 4.1.2. The latest Canadian bootloader is MK5 (Which you can't downgrade from).
Oh geez okay. So what should I do?

Sent from my S3
 
BWolf56
Old
#6  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,698
Posts: 3,863
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outaouais

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starholdest View Post
Oh geez okay. So what should I do?

Sent from my S3
Well usually you need the same modem as your bootloaders. Some of them are really picky so having the MK5 might be why your LTE isn't working.

You can grab the stock ROM in the general stickies and flash it with Odin though (make sure to backup) if flashing a 4.1.2 modem doesn't fix it.
Sent by falcon messenger while riding a laser equipped T-rex on a rocket
>>Get Dropbox right here<<
>>Rogers LTE tethering mod<<
LG G3 D852
ROM: Stock debloated
Kernel: 3.4.0
Launcher: Nova

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelendel
Jig ~ You should never need one but.. Use the condom theory.
 
Starholdest
Old
#7  
Starholdest's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 365
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56 View Post
Well usually you need the same modem as your bootloaders. Some of them are really picky so having the MK5 might be why your LTE isn't working.

You can grab the stock ROM in the general stickies and flash it with Odin though (make sure to backup) if flashing a 4.1.2 modem doesn't fix it.
Okay. What I'm most concerned about is flashing a 4.3 TW ROM with the bootloader that I have. Is having a bootloader from 4.1.2 a bad thing? Or can I install all ROM's with MF1?

Sent from my S3
 
BWolf56
Old
#8  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,698
Posts: 3,863
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outaouais

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starholdest View Post
Okay. What I'm most concerned about is flashing a 4.3 TW ROM with the bootloader that I have. Is having a bootloader from 4.1.2 a bad thing? Or can I install all ROM's with MF1?

Sent from my S3
Only the downgrade is dangerous, you can upgrade without any problem. That being said, you could just flash the stock 4.1.2.
Sent by falcon messenger while riding a laser equipped T-rex on a rocket
>>Get Dropbox right here<<
>>Rogers LTE tethering mod<<
LG G3 D852
ROM: Stock debloated
Kernel: 3.4.0
Launcher: Nova

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelendel
Jig ~ You should never need one but.. Use the condom theory.
 
Starholdest
Old
#9  
Starholdest's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 365
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
And if I flash a stock based ROM will it upgrade my bootloader to one I won't be able to downgrade from?

Any suggestions for ROM's?

Sent from my S3
 
BWolf56
Old
#10  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,698
Posts: 3,863
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outaouais

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starholdest View Post
And if I flash a stock based ROM will it upgrade my bootloader to one I won't be able to downgrade from?

Any suggestions for ROM's?

Sent from my S3
It depends which one you decide to flash. You can flash stock 4.1.2 just like you could flash 4.3 (which you can't downgrade from).
Sent by falcon messenger while riding a laser equipped T-rex on a rocket
>>Get Dropbox right here<<
>>Rogers LTE tethering mod<<
LG G3 D852
ROM: Stock debloated
Kernel: 3.4.0
Launcher: Nova

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelendel
Jig ~ You should never need one but.. Use the condom theory.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more

Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more

Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more