FORUMS

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

The Ultimate Showcase of dBrand Skins

In the search for ways to protect, accessorize, and personalize; a user has many options. One … more

Huawei’s Rapid Rise to Third Place in the Smartphone Race

Huawei has quickly grown to become one of the world’s biggest … more

[Q] Network unlock request unsuccessful (SGH-I747M - Running SlimKat 4.4.4)

17 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By brando9, Junior Member on 29th July 2014, 04:33 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
26th February 2015, 06:41 PM |#11  
mrrocketdog's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 470
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoonus

Just confirmed bootloader and baseband are I747UCDMG2.
I will update here how everthing goes.
PS: I DON'T want to go to I747UCUEMJB bootloader after unlock. That will mean, I will not be able to downgrade in future. AFAIK, I747UCUEMJB bootloader is also locked.

correct in that you will not be able to downgrade (serious risk of bricking your device).
bootloader is not locked on the S3 AFAIK. (bricked my s3 on mj2 trying to 'unlock' an already unlocked bootloader.).

"all i can really do , is stay out of my own way and let the will of heaven be done"
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mrrocketdog For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
27th February 2015, 04:52 AM |#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 240
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrrocketdog

correct in that you will not be able to downgrade (serious risk of bricking your device).
bootloader is not locked on the S3 AFAIK. (bricked my s3 on mj2 trying to 'unlock' an already unlocked bootloader.).

"all i can really do , is stay out of my own way and let the will of heaven be done"

I agree that the bootloader is unlocked.
I think at times people are calling the newer bootloaders locked because they are unable to downgrade them. Whereas we are calling them unlocked because we can still root them and flash custom/unsigned ROMs.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dawgdoc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2015, 02:33 PM |#13  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 2,077
 
More
ATT has been locking the bootloader on other phones such as the Note 3, HTC One XL, and the Moto G so I'm not surprised that owners think their bootloader is locked.
The Following User Says Thank You to audit13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2015, 02:51 PM |#14  
Senior Member
Flag Morrisville
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

ATT has been locking the bootloader on other phones such as the Note 3, HTC One XL, and the Moto G so I'm not surprised that owners think their bootloader is locked.

True. I have an ATT S5 and is really annoyed with locked bootloader.
30th March 2015, 04:19 PM |#15  
Senior Member
Flag Morrisville
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Thumbs up flash to stock successful
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoonus

Just confirmed bootloader and baseband are I747UCDMG2.
I will update here how everthing goes.
PS: I DON'T want to go to I747UCUEMJB bootloader after unlock. That will mean, I will not be able to downgrade in future. AFAIK, I747UCUEMJB bootloader is also locked.

Thanks all for the assurance and support.

I was able to ODIN to stock ROM and SIM unlock the phone.

Background: My ATT S3 i747 was running CM11 Android 4.4.4. Baseband and Bootloader was I747UCDMG2.

Steps:
1. Flashed rooted stock ROM (root66_ATT_I747UCDLK3.7z) using odin from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1739426
Followed the steps in OP.
After flash ODIN showed PASS and phone rebooted. It was stuck in Samsung logo. I booted into recovery. Performed a wipe cache and factory restore.
Phone rebooted successfully after that.
2. Inserted non-ATT SIM and it asked for the unlock code. I had obtained the code from ATT before. Used the code and phone was unlocked.
The same code did not work while I was running CM11.


NOTE: When running stock ROM you can follow steps in below threads if direct unlock did not work for you.
1. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=152
2. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...5#post38767845 This works only with stock 4.1.1 image (LK3 modem).
See http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=323

NOTE: If you need TWRP recovery, see http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1739426 and search for "Odin Flashable TWRP Recovery" in OP.
You can download ODIN flashable TWRP from there.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes