Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,128 Members 40,602 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Just Some quick help

Tip us?
 
scoeas1982
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default [Q] Just Some quick help

Hello,

I have been experiencing problems with the z3x box on s3 models. Basically it gets no service after unlock. I have fixed that problem by downloading the nv items. WHile reading a firum i came across the qpst nv back up. I started doing that and it works wonderful. Seems all my problems are fixed. I am confused about one thing

iMy Question is

Is backing up the nv items through qpst and also doind a efs back up the samething? Or should i be backing up both? I hope that this is an easy question thanks a million for whoever answers.

Scott
 
Viper67857
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 92
Join Date: Dec 2013
I'd go with both as all the nv stuff isn't on the efs partition on the i747. I think that's what doc said anyway... Either way you can never have too many backups :thumbup:

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 running TMS3KK-2.0
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#3  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5,902
Posts: 8,569
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Doesn't hurt to backup anything. But neither are the best way anymore.

Open terminal emulator and enter this:

su
reboot nvbackup

Thats it! Creates an on-device permanent backup of your NV Data. If corruption is ever detected, it will auto restore during boot. So it prevents IMEI loss and other potential problems.
The Following User Says Thank You to DocHoliday77 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mrrocketdog
Old
#4  
mrrocketdog's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 351
Join Date: Oct 2013
didnt know that one. thank you huckleberry.:thumbup:

err on the side of kindness

---------- Post added at 03:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:37 PM ----------

doing this and i get message: "nv backup not found".(?)
did i goof it up?
(double double checked typing cause terminal emulator is scary for me!!)

err on the side of kindness
 
DocHoliday77
Old
#5  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 5,902
Posts: 8,569
Join Date: May 2011
Location: HuntsVegas!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Are you running a stock build? I doubt this would work on cm/aosp and some custom roms.
The Following User Says Thank You to DocHoliday77 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mrrocketdog
Old
(Last edited by mrrocketdog; 12th August 2014 at 08:04 PM.)
#6  
mrrocketdog's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 351
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quantum ROM based off Carbon which is based off CM.
guess that's why.

err on the side of kindness
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more

aLogcat Returns Thanks to XDA Love

The developers of Android, that is Google, gave users several great debugging tools that can be used in … more

And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more