Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Samsung Galaxy S3 I747M not registered on network at low signal

OP bigmark1

11th July 2014, 07:54 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
I have a SGS3 I747M from Canada Fido and now using in Pakistan after network unlock. It does not register on GSM 2G/3G network whenever the 2G signal strength drops approximately below -70 dbm. It can neither make nor receive a 2G call

Things tried so far
tried all available modem drivers from XDA Forums
tried on stock Jelly Bean 4.3
tried on stock KitKat 4.4.2 (currently on it)
tried changing to airplane mode and back
tried change network mode to 'GSM Only'
tried signal boosters from android market

But nothing works.Only where signal is strong around -50 to -60 dbm it is able to connect to the network.

have tried it on two different operators Mobilik and Warid but result is same.

What can be done to fix it??
11th July 2014, 05:48 PM   |  #2  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Outaouais
Thanks Meter: 1,706
 
3,886 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmark1

I have a SGS3 I747M from Canada Fido and now using in Pakistan after network unlock. It does not register on GSM 2G/3G network whenever the 2G signal strength drops approximately below -70 dbm. It can neither make nor receive a 2G call

Things tried so far
tried all available modem drivers from XDA Forums
tried on stock Jelly Bean 4.3
tried on stock KitKat 4.4.2 (currently on it)
tried changing to airplane mode and back
tried change network mode to 'GSM Only'
tried signal boosters from android market

But nothing works.Only where signal is strong around -50 to -60 dbm it is able to connect to the network.

have tried it on two different operators Mobilik and Warid but result is same.

What can be done to fix it??

I'm not so sure about this but perhaps the device doesn't have the right frequencies (being a Canadian variant).

That being said, You could try different baseband and modem. I'm not sure if will work but worth a shot.
14th July 2014, 09:37 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56

I'm not so sure about this but perhaps the device doesn't have the right frequencies (being a Canadian variant).

That being said, You could try different baseband and modem. I'm not sure if will work but worth a shot.

I747m does support gsm 900/1800 which are supported in my region.

I have already tried all I747m modems available on xda forums but i guess these are all for canadian networks.

Can you suggest if i can use a modem for another s3 variant released for pakistan.

Would any custom rom/modem be able to fix this?
Problem is only when it detects weaker signal. Though other handsets connect comfortably in the same spot. If i move around a bit where signals improve, it connects and works fine
could there be a low signal threshold programmed in this device for power saving or something
14th July 2014, 11:29 AM   |  #4  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,488
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Only flash things that are for your device model. Flashing s different devices modem is a great way to hard brick.

Sorry im not sure about a solution. Just wanted to at least warn you against flashing a different modem.

Have you contacted your carrier to see if they might have any useful info for you?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes