Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Super Sluggish: 4.4.2 or Root?

OP TNAR

10th August 2014, 07:48 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Long story made short, I upgraded to 4.3 after switching over to AT&T and fell quickly in love with the selective privacy app. However, my battery would only last about fifteen seconds (exaggeration) so I upgraded again to 4.4.2 without performing due diligence. As you all well know, Google took away the privacy app. So I took the next logical step and rooted my phone (TowelRoot rocks!) and added xPrivacy.

My problem now is an extremely sluggish phone. Would this be due to the upgrade (4.4.2) or the root process? Would it make more sense to downgrade or flash a custom ROM?
10th August 2014, 08:15 PM   |  #2  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,497
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Root should have no effect on performance at all. Its more likely that there is some data from a previous build causing a process to hang.
I would factory reset and start over clean. Only restore essential data.

You can also use Better Battery Stats. Find it here on xda. Great app for solving battery problems.
11th August 2014, 04:26 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

Root should have no effect on performance at all. Its more likely that there is some data from a previous build causing a process to hang.
I would factory reset and start over clean. Only restore essential data.

You can also use Better Battery Stats. Find it here on xda. Great app for solving battery problems.

I think I can't see the forest for all the trees. Is a factory reset done through the phone itself? (i.e. Settings->Accounts->Backup and reset->Factory data reset) Or are you referring to finding the proper ROM and flashing through Odin?
11th August 2014, 04:32 PM   |  #4  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,010
 
3,156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TNAR

I think I can't see the forest for all the trees. Is a factory reset done through the phone itself? (i.e. Settings->Accounts->Backup and reset->Factory data reset) Or are you referring to finding the proper ROM and flashing through Odin?

You can do a wipe of the cache and data via recovery. Factory reset via the phone should work too.
The Following User Says Thank You to audit13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th August 2014, 06:04 PM   |  #5  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,497
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Factory resetting from Settings actually just reboots recovery and performs it from there. So doing it either way will net the same result. And yes, thats the factory reset I was referring to.

Note, if stock recovery is on the device, factory reset formats the data partition, so ALL apps and data are wiped. If custom recovery is installed, it instead will selectively delete everything but your Internal SD Card, preserving any data you have stored there. Either way, always have a current backup.
The Following User Says Thank You to DocHoliday77 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes