Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,151 Members 36,884 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Wifi not turning on. SGH i747m [Bell Canada]

Tip us?
 
singhz905
Old
#1  
singhz905's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default [Q] Wifi not turning on. SGH i747m [Bell Canada]

Hello,

My wifi was working fine until I was on Stock rom. Today I formatted my phone and installed SlimKat rom. MY wifi greyed out and its stuck on saying "wifi turning on". Then I cleared the cache and installed Task650's rom and It's still not working and still stuck on "wifi turning on".
 
BWolf56
Old
#2  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,698
Posts: 3,863
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outaouais

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by singhz905 View Post
Hello,

My wifi was working fine until I was on Stock rom. Today I formatted my phone and installed SlimKat rom. MY wifi greyed out and its stuck on saying "wifi turning on". Then I cleared the cache and installed Task650's rom and It's still not working and still stuck on "wifi turning on".
What kernel are you using?

Also, are you doing a clean flash?
Sent by falcon messenger while riding a laser equipped T-rex on a rocket
>>Get Dropbox right here<<
>>Rogers LTE tethering mod<<
LG G3 D852
ROM: Stock debloated
Kernel: 3.4.0
Launcher: Nova

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelendel
Jig ~ You should never need one but.. Use the condom theory.
 
singhz905
Old
#3  
singhz905's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56 View Post
What kernel are you using?

Also, are you doing a clean flash?
Thanks for replying. I'm clearing the cache and formatting the phone through twrp recovery before installing any rom. I even tried clearing the cache after installing the rom.


I'm also uploading the screenshot of the rom and Problem I'm facing.
 
singhz905
Old
(Last edited by singhz905; 21st August 2014 at 04:05 PM.)
#4  
singhz905's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56 View Post
What kernel are you using?

Also, are you doing a clean flash?
Thanks for replying. I'm clearing the cache and formatting the phone through twrp recovery before installing any rom. I even tried clearing the cache after installing the rom.


I'm also uploading the screenshot of the rom and Problem I'm facing.

Oh yes. I even tried Ktoonsez Kernel aswell. It still didn't work.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014_08_21_20_12_25.png
Views:	19
Size:	106.2 KB
ID:	2906408   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014_08_21_20_13_02.png
Views:	11
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	2906409  
 
BWolf56
Old
#5  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,698
Posts: 3,863
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outaouais

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by singhz905 View Post
Thanks for replying. I'm clearing the cache and formatting the phone through twrp recovery before installing any rom. I even tried clearing the cache after installing the rom.


I'm also uploading the screenshot of the rom and Problem I'm facing.

Oh yes. I even tried Ktoonsez Kernel aswell. It still didn't work.
KT's kernel has outdated wifi modules and won't work with the newer ROMs. Do a clean flash of Task's ROM and you should be good to go. He uses CM's kernel in his package. Can always flash BMS if you prefer the extra options.
Sent by falcon messenger while riding a laser equipped T-rex on a rocket
>>Get Dropbox right here<<
>>Rogers LTE tethering mod<<
LG G3 D852
ROM: Stock debloated
Kernel: 3.4.0
Launcher: Nova

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelendel
Jig ~ You should never need one but.. Use the condom theory.
 
singhz905
Old
#6  
singhz905's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56 View Post
KT's kernel has outdated wifi modules and won't work with the newer ROMs. Do a clean flash of Task's ROM and you should be good to go. He uses CM's kernel in his package. Can always flash BMS if you prefer the extra options.

I tried everything. Nothing seems to be working. I'm downloading [ROM] TMS3KK 2.3.1 NE4 | TW4.4.2 | (582 mb) [8-19-14] right now. Will let you know whether it works with stock based rom or not.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Enable Heads Up Notifications For The Sprint Galaxy S3

Heads up notifications, in case you didn’t already know, are an experimental … more

Android One Goes Live in India!

Android One is a Google initiative set to bring an AOSP-like experience tosome emergingmarkets like India, … more

XDA and LeaseWeb: Win Free Server Trial and Moto 360

As you might recall from a previousBehind the Scenesarticle we wrote, XDA’s … more