FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Automatic brightness not working after installing CM11

23rd August 2014, 09:39 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi,

After I installed KitKat with Cyanogenmod 11 on my Samsung S3 Mini the Automatic Brightness function stopped working.

I read all the posts regarding light sensor on this issue (for S3 Mini) and found opinions vary between "no light sensor at all", "light sensor combined with proximity sensor", "light sensor exists but obscured by hardware", "light sensor disabled in kernel"...

My questions:

Did anyone manage to activate the light sensor on CM11? Is there some change I can do in the kernel to activate it?

I also tried to test for the light sensor with *#7353#, but all I get is a message saying "MMI complete" but it didn't work. Does that work only on the custom ROM? Is there a way to do this test on CM11 ROM?

If there is no light sensor then how did the Automatic Brightness function work on the custom ROM? (and I think I remember noticing the brightness changing automatically at different light levels, but I'm not 100% sure).

Many thanks!
 
 
23rd August 2014, 02:59 PM |#2  
soralz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Taipei
Thanks Meter: 392
 
More
SIII mini doesn't have a light sensor so obviously it's not working. That's all.
23rd August 2014, 03:05 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by soralz

SIII mini doesn't have a light sensor so obviously it's not working. That's all.

If that's true, then how come automatic brightness was working with the stock ROM?

Is it possible that the stock ROM was using the camera for it?

(I wrote before: "If there is no light sensor then how did the Automatic Brightness function work on the custom ROM? (and I think I remember noticing the brightness changing automatically at different light levels, but I'm not 100% sure)." I meant STOCK ROM not custom ROM).
24th August 2014, 04:14 AM |#4  
soralz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Taipei
Thanks Meter: 392
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by trax72

If that's true, then how come automatic brightness was working with the stock ROM?

Is it possible that the stock ROM was using the camera for it?

(I wrote before: "If there is no light sensor then how did the Automatic Brightness function work on the custom ROM? (and I think I remember noticing the brightness changing automatically at different light levels, but I'm not 100% sure)." I meant STOCK ROM not custom ROM).

Huh? Previously my SIII Mini I8190N doesn't have such automatic brightness selection on stock 4.1.2. Probably you have installed a mod and let the camera determine the lightning conditions?
24th August 2014, 08:06 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
I can confirm, as far as I know, that there is no ambient light sensor on S3 mini, so the automatic brightness on custom rom doesn't work on our device.
Install Lux app which uses the front camera to estimate incoming light to auto adjust screen brightness.
The Following User Says Thank You to ffoucault For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2014, 12:30 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffoucault

I can confirm, as far as I know, that there is no ambient light sensor on S3 mini, so the automatic brightness on custom rom doesn't work on our device.
Install Lux app which uses the front camera to estimate incoming light to auto adjust screen brightness.

I'm 100% sure I was able to select automatic brightness on the stock ROM. Maybe it didn't actually do anything, but it was possible to enable it...

Anyway, obviously changing the brightness level manually would be less battery-consuming, but assuming that I'm lazy and will keep it on relatively high settings, would I be saving battery life if I use the front camera for it, or would using it will actually consume more than I'm saving?

Cheers!
Last edited by trax72; 24th August 2014 at 01:05 PM.
24th August 2014, 01:11 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by trax72

I'm 100% sure I was able to select automatic brightness on the stock ROM. Maybe it didn't actually do anything, but it was there...

Anyway, obviously changing the brightness level manually would be less battery-consuming, but assuming that I'm lazy and will keep it on relatively high settings, would I be saving battery life if I use the front camera for it, or would using it will actually consume more than I'm saving?

Cheers!

Lux can be triggered only when you wake up the phone so it can adjust the brightness. Usually my screen don't go beyond 20-40% when i'm indoor, In my opinion you'll drain your battery way faster with your display set to a fixed high setting.
The Following User Says Thank You to ffoucault For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2014, 02:11 PM |#8  
@solution
You can easily try with Lux Auto Brightness an app witch uses the camera instead of light sensors it changes the brightness every time screen turns on
The Following User Says Thank You to MounirHero For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2014, 03:20 PM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ffoucault

Lux can be triggered only when you wake up the phone so it can adjust the brightness. Usually my screen don't go beyond 20-40% when i'm indoor, In my opinion you'll drain your battery way faster with your display set to a fixed high setting.

Alright, I'll try it out

Cheers!
24th August 2014, 03:32 PM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by soralz

Huh? Previously my SIII Mini I8190N doesn't have such automatic brightness selection on stock 4.1.2. Probably you have installed a mod and let the camera determine the lightning conditions?

Most definitely not.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes