Post Reply

Front Camera Lag/Stretch in 3rd Party Apps

OP tulient

15th August 2014, 05:44 PM   |  #11  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
The following procedure fixed the front facing camera 3rd party apps for me, but in turn now the camera app itself is broken. Still trying to figure this out.

Flash philz_touch_6.48.4-d2lte.tar.md5 with Odin 3.09
Flash ROM Slim-d2lte-4.4.4.build.7.2.1-WEEKLY-6080
Flash GAPPS pa_gapps-stock-4.4.4-20140629-signed
Ensure root (apps) is enabled on ROM (slimkat defaults to disabled)
1. Enable Developer Options - Click Settings / About Phone / Build number 5 times
2. Enable root (Apps only) - Developer Options / Debugging / Root Access
Install root browser (jrummy)
Install facebook messenger
Verify camera does NOT display correctly in facebook messenger
Using root browser, delete system/lib/hw/camera.MSM8960.so (Give root browser permission to superuser when prompted)
Using root browser, rename system/lib/hw/camera.vendor.MSM8960.so to system/lib/hw/camera.MSM8960.so
Verify camera still does NOT display correctly in facebook messenger
Reboot (Reboot necessary? Camera saved in memory?)
Verify camera does display correctly in facebook messenger
Last edited by tulient; 15th August 2014 at 06:51 PM. Reason: rom
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tulient For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th August 2014, 07:07 PM   |  #12  
Higgs_Boson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 242
 
465 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tulient

The following procedure fixed the front facing camera 3rd party apps for me, but in turn now the camera app itself is broken. Still trying to figure this out.

Flash philz_touch_6.48.4-d2lte.tar.md5 with Odin 3.09
Flash ROM Slim-d2lte-4.4.4.build.7.2.1-WEEKLY-6080
Flash GAPPS pa_gapps-stock-4.4.4-20140629-signed
Ensure root (apps) is enabled on ROM (slimkat defaults to disabled)
1. Enable Developer Options - Click Settings / About Phone / Build number 5 times
2. Enable root (Apps only) - Developer Options / Debugging / Root Access
Install root browser (jrummy)
Install facebook messenger
Verify camera does NOT display correctly in facebook messenger
Using root browser, delete system/lib/hw/camera.MSM8960.so (Give root browser permission to superuser when prompted)
Using root browser, rename system/lib/hw/camera.vendor.MSM8960.so to system/lib/hw/camera.MSM8960.so
Verify camera still does NOT display correctly in facebook messenger
Reboot (Reboot necessary? Camera saved in memory?)
Verify camera does display correctly in facebook messenger

All you did there was delete and rename a camera library, which are stored in the kernel, and that I perceive to be the reason the camera broke.

Are you savvy on ADB?

I think at this point the best thing for your to do would be to:

Flash ROM Slim-d2lte-4.4.4.build.7.2.1-WEEKLY-6080
Flash GAPPS pa_gapps-stock-4.4.4-20140629-signed

Get everything back up to a freshly flashed ROM with GAPPs, then:

1. Enable Developer Options
2. In Developer Options, enable USB debugging
3. Connect phone to USB port on PC
4. Launch ADB
5. Input command: adb devices (to ensure the device has been detected by adb)
6. Input command: adb logcat
7. Launch and switch to front camera in 3rd-party app
8. Disconnect USB cable
9. Copy and paste text from ADB terminal into a Notepad document. Save document (e.g. logcat.txt).
10. Upload Notepad document as attachment (.txt file) to this thread on XDA.
The Following User Says Thank You to Higgs_Boson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th August 2014, 07:41 PM   |  #13  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Yes, well by deleting the one camera library and replacing it with the camera.vendor, everything works exactly as it should in the 3rd party application. Its just when using the stock camera app where it doesnt work now - essentially making the opposite situation I started with. FYI with the fix the stock camera looks fine and can take a picture but usually closes and forces a reboot right away.

Here is the logcat for opening messenger, opening the camera option and snapping a (stretched) picture.
Attached Files
File Type: txt logcat.txt - [Click for QR Code] (458.4 KB, 6 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to tulient For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th August 2014, 02:06 AM   |  #14  
decimalman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,983
 
1,074 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
It seems I've been summoned.

I didn't see a whole lot in the logcat (or rather, the camera spews so much debug info that nothing stood out). So far, I'm able to reproduce the stretched preview thing but not the lag. I think the lag probably depends on the app, so I'll try a few more.

I think I know what's causing the stretching, but I won't know for sure until I get a ROM built.

EDIT: My changes didn't help any.
Last edited by decimalman; 16th August 2014 at 05:26 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to decimalman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th August 2014, 02:13 AM   |  #15  
Higgs_Boson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 242
 
465 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by decimalman

It seems I've been summoned.

I didn't see a whole lot in the logcat (or rather, the camera spews so much debug info that nothing stood out). So far, I'm able to reproduce the stretched preview thing but not the lag. I think the lag probably depends on the app, so I'll try a few more.

I think I know what's causing the stretching, but I won't know for sure until I get a ROM built.

Sir, your presence here is most appreciated. Thank you.
16th August 2014, 06:03 AM   |  #16  
Higgs_Boson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 242
 
465 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by decimalman

It seems I've been summoned.

I didn't see a whole lot in the logcat (or rather, the camera spews so much debug info that nothing stood out). So far, I'm able to reproduce the stretched preview thing but not the lag. I think the lag probably depends on the app, so I'll try a few more.

I think I know what's causing the stretching, but I won't know for sure until I get a ROM built.

EDIT: My changes didn't help any.

Thank you tremendously for trying!

Any idea why it would only be affecting his phone in other apps?
24th August 2014, 04:58 AM   |  #17  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Guessing there's no solution to this until someone in the CM main trunk figures it out.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes