FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (May 17 – 23)

Another week, another recap. The Sunday tradition marches on this week with a fresh … more

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Help Flashing Back To Stock

4th September 2014, 02:01 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I recently upgraded to the S5 and wanted to turn my phone back in to Sprint for a credit. When I went to flash it back to stock using Odin the USB connected then randomly disconnected during the flash. Now it won't boot into anything but emergency mode and wont stay connected in Odin long enough to flash. I made sure the drivers installed and the pc could see the phone when plugged in. I am using a cord that is only a couple of weeks old. At this point are there any options to put it back to stock or am I out of luck? I never used Kies either. Thanks in advance for the help.
 
 
4th September 2014, 02:17 AM |#2  
6th_Hokage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Osos
Thanks Meter: 1,051
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunflowerstarr

I recently upgraded to the S5 and wanted to turn my phone back in to Sprint for a credit. When I went to flash it back to stock using Odin the USB connected then randomly disconnected during the flash. Now it won't boot into anything but emergency mode and wont stay connected in Odin long enough to flash. I made sure the drivers installed and the pc could see the phone when plugged in. I am using a cord that is only a couple of weeks old. At this point are there any options to put it back to stock or am I out of luck? I never used Kies either. Thanks in advance for the help.

so you want to put an S5 back to stock or a S3?
4th September 2014, 02:19 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6th_Hokage

so you want to put an S5 back to stock or a S3?

My S3 so I can get a credit for it.
4th September 2014, 02:27 AM |#4  
6th_Hokage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Osos
Thanks Meter: 1,051
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunflowerstarr

My S3 so I can get a credit for it.

i would say try a different PC or USB Cable or a Different port on the PC your currently on....you can try a emergency restore in Kies or you can try to flash on Heimdall
Last edited by 6th_Hokage; 4th September 2014 at 02:30 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to 6th_Hokage For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th September 2014, 02:29 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6th_Hokage

i would say try a different PC or USB Cable or a Different port on the PC your currently on

I've tried about three different cables, all three USB ports and the only other laptop is a Windows 8 machine I can't get to detect the phone at this point. So it is sounding like my suspicions are confirmed on a successful flash. Thank you for the advice, love the signature btw!
4th September 2014, 02:37 AM |#6  
6th_Hokage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Osos
Thanks Meter: 1,051
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunflowerstarr

I've tried about three different cables, all three USB ports and the only other laptop is a Windows 8 machine I can't get to detect the phone at this point. So it is sounding like my suspicions are confirmed on a successful flash. Thank you for the advice, love the signature btw!

oh check what i added on the other post and and my laptop is a windows 8.1 machine just sometimes even if the drivers installed i have to check in the Device Manager and Manually make the correct driver work for my phone
The Following User Says Thank You to 6th_Hokage For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes