Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,000 Members 47,759 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] problems google voice to text

Tip us?
 
mikeinstlouis
Old
#1  
mikeinstlouis's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 162
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
Default [Q] problems google voice to text

Hey all
I have been having issues with my google voice to text that seems to have started recently.

The first issues is that when I use the google voice to text feature, it gets the whole sentence except for the last word or two..and I have to wait a good 10-15 seconds for that to pop up ...it is awful! Sometimes if I say the word twice it will pop right up, but not working very well now. With and without punctuation.

Also, when I send a text message, it repeats the whole thing! I will text a paragraph, hit send, and the whole paragraph will repopulate the text box a second time! I have to delete the whole message and it is a pain.

I am using stock galaxy s3 rom and swiftkey.

Any suggestions or can you direct me to the correct forum?

Thanks guys.
 
6th_Hokage
Old
#2  
6th_Hokage's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 471
Posts: 972
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Osos
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeinstlouis View Post
Hey all
I have been having issues with my google voice to text that seems to have started recently.

The first issues is that when I use the google voice to text feature, it gets the whole sentence except for the last word or two..and I have to wait a good 10-15 seconds for that to pop up ...it is awful! Sometimes if I say the word twice it will pop right up, but not working very well now. With and without punctuation.

Also, when I send a text message, it repeats the whole thing! I will text a paragraph, hit send, and the whole paragraph will repopulate the text box a second time! I have to delete the whole message and it is a pain.

I am using stock galaxy s3 rom and swiftkey.

Any suggestions or can you direct me to the correct forum?

Thanks guys.
go into recovery and wipe system cache and check if that works
YouTube Channel

my work:

Custom Splash Screen Sprint/Boost/Virgin Mobile s3 Touchwiz Roms and some AOSP Roms


sorta my work :P Viper4Andriod S3 APP and Settings

and helping with Flappy Bird's Family

current phone:
Samsung Galaxy S3,Wicked X v7.2 ND8 with NDC Modem

Past phones: latest to oldest
Galaxy Infuse 4G
Galaxy S 4G 3rd time
myTouch 3G slide
Galaxy S 4G 2nd time
T-mobile myTouch
Galaxy S 4G
Sensation 4G
Moto Backflip
 
Higgs_Boson
Old
(Last edited by Higgs_Boson; 18th August 2014 at 05:46 AM.)
#3  
Higgs_Boson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 464
Join Date: Jul 2012
I don't have a fix, but you're not alone with this issue. I don't have the repopulation issue, but it definitely hangs for a few seconds at the end of a sentence when I use the voice input.

I just tried clearing the data for the Google Search app, got it set back up, but no dice. I'll try clearing the cache in recovery.

---------- Post added at 01:01 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:44 AM ----------

Tried clearing the data in the Google Keyboard app, as well. That didn't help, so tried clearing the cache in recovery. That may have helped it by mere milliseconds, but it still hangs at the last word; especially with punctuation.
Your "THANKS" are not necessary, but I would appreciate them when due.
 
6th_Hokage
Old
#4  
6th_Hokage's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 471
Posts: 972
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Los Osos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Higgs_Boson View Post
I don't have a fix, but you're not alone with this issue. I don't have the repopulation issue, but it definitely hangs for a few seconds at the end of a sentence when I use the voice input.

I just tried clearing the data for the Google Search app, got it set back up, but no dice. I'll try clearing the cache in recovery.

---------- Post added at 01:01 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:44 AM ----------

Tried clearing the data in the Google Keyboard app, as well. That didn't help, so tried clearing the cache in recovery. That may have helped it by mere milliseconds, but it still hangs at the last word; especially with punctuation.
i forgot to say try clearing Dalvik Cache as well if your on a custom recovery...idk if you can on the stock recovery tho
YouTube Channel

my work:

Custom Splash Screen Sprint/Boost/Virgin Mobile s3 Touchwiz Roms and some AOSP Roms


sorta my work :P Viper4Andriod S3 APP and Settings

and helping with Flappy Bird's Family

current phone:
Samsung Galaxy S3,Wicked X v7.2 ND8 with NDC Modem

Past phones: latest to oldest
Galaxy Infuse 4G
Galaxy S 4G 3rd time
myTouch 3G slide
Galaxy S 4G 2nd time
T-mobile myTouch
Galaxy S 4G
Sensation 4G
Moto Backflip
 
Higgs_Boson
Old
(Last edited by Higgs_Boson; 18th August 2014 at 07:04 AM.)
#5  
Higgs_Boson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 464
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6th_Hokage View Post
i forgot to say try clearing Dalvik Cache as well if your on a custom recovery...idk if you can on the stock recovery tho
No dice. No improvements whatsoever. It could be code related, perhaps they'll work it out in a future build. Although, I'm not sure if it's in the Android source, or the Google Search app.

Or, I could be altogether wrong.
Your "THANKS" are not necessary, but I would appreciate them when due.
 
mikeinstlouis
Old
#6  
mikeinstlouis's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 162
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
I have CWM recovery, but I am told that that does not help.

Mike
 
Higgs_Boson
Old
#7  
Higgs_Boson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 464
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeinstlouis View Post
I have CWM recovery, but I am told that that does not help.

Mike
I'm using PhilZ, which I would recommend over CWM any day, but clearing cache and dalvik did not help regardless.
Your "THANKS" are not necessary, but I would appreciate them when due.
 
BigMcGuire
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 151
Posts: 456
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apple Valley

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeinstlouis View Post
Hey all
I have been having issues with my google voice to text that seems to have started recently.

The first issues is that when I use the google voice to text feature, it gets the whole sentence except for the last word or two..and I have to wait a good 10-15 seconds for that to pop up ...it is awful! Sometimes if I say the word twice it will pop right up, but not working very well now. With and without punctuation.

Also, when I send a text message, it repeats the whole thing! I will text a paragraph, hit send, and the whole paragraph will repopulate the text box a second time! I have to delete the whole message and it is a pain.

I am using stock galaxy s3 rom and swiftkey.

Any suggestions or can you direct me to the correct forum?

Thanks guys.
Did you ever find a solution to this? I have a relative with a Note 3 that has the same problem. The last word takes several seconds to appear and sometimes never appears. (But doesn't have the duplication issue).
 
Higgs_Boson
Old
#9  
Higgs_Boson's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 464
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigMcGuire View Post
Did you ever find a solution to this? I have a relative with a Note 3 that has the same problem. The last word takes several seconds to appear and sometimes never appears. (But doesn't have the duplication issue).
I don't know as though there is anything that can be done on our end. If it's a multi-user, multi-device issue like this, it's likely code-related with Google's voice-to-text engine.
Your "THANKS" are not necessary, but I would appreciate them when due.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Higgs_Boson For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
simpsonr
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 179
Join Date: Oct 2010
I'm having the same totally annoying issue on an LG G2. I'll dictate a sentence into Hangouts or whatever and every single time, the last word is missing. If I repeat the word, it shows up twice. Lame.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more

Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more

Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more